Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 10:41:40 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 5970 + 6950 !  (Read 1612 times)
travex
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 117


View Profile
March 21, 2011, 12:30:41 AM
 #1

Hi guys

A quick question, can I run 5970 + 6950 together on the same mainboard for mining ? I'm using Asrock extreme 4 P67 ( Sandy Bridge)

Thanks guys
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481150500
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481150500

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481150500
Reply with quote  #2

1481150500
Report to moderator
1481150500
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481150500

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481150500
Reply with quote  #2

1481150500
Report to moderator
Mahkul
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


Be silent, or be silenced.


View Profile WWW
March 21, 2011, 09:34:32 PM
 #2

Yes you can - for the miner it doesn't matter what GPUs you have on different slots.

Bitalo.com coming soon!

1MAHKULzqZb4evFFg9157LvnJhJQQbeYo7
travex
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 117


View Profile
March 22, 2011, 03:03:28 AM
 #3

Yes you can - for the miner it doesn't matter what GPUs you have on different slots.

Oh great, but how am I suppose to do that mate ? Just plug 2 cards in to the mobo and turn on my comp ? I've never done any thing like this before =D
Mahkul
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


Be silent, or be silenced.


View Profile WWW
March 22, 2011, 12:40:00 PM
 #4

There are plenty of tutorials on this forum in the mining section. What OS do you want to run it on?

Bitalo.com coming soon!

1MAHKULzqZb4evFFg9157LvnJhJQQbeYo7
GeorgeH
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 83


View Profile
March 23, 2011, 03:06:13 AM
 #5

As long as you have the proper power supply connections (you should) and a motherboard with 2+ PCI Express slots (which yours has), the hardware angle will be simple - plug both cards in, attach auxiliary power, turn on pc!

Every OS I know of should be perfectly fine with this configuration.

1DSpPtPTGXTYjkZehPsiAbjkXLkB1jsZ2x
travex
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 117


View Profile
March 23, 2011, 07:12:26 AM
 #6

As long as you have the proper power supply connections (you should) and a motherboard with 2+ PCI Express slots (which yours has), the hardware angle will be simple - plug both cards in, attach auxiliary power, turn on pc!

Every OS I know of should be perfectly fine with this configuration.

Thx mate, asking because I've never done this before, I'm crossfiring my card actually but this case is not the same haha =D

@Mahkul : I've been mining for 2 weeks, so I know how to deal with software side, just did not know how to deal with hardware side ^^ , I'm using win 7 64 bit mate.
Mahkul
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


Be silent, or be silenced.


View Profile WWW
March 23, 2011, 05:53:25 PM
 #7

As long as you have the proper power supply connections (you should) and a motherboard with 2+ PCI Express slots (which yours has), the hardware angle will be simple - plug both cards in, attach auxiliary power, turn on pc!

Every OS I know of should be perfectly fine with this configuration.

Thx mate, asking because I've never done this before, I'm crossfiring my card actually but this case is not the same haha =D

@Mahkul : I've been mining for 2 weeks, so I know how to deal with software side, just did not know how to deal with hardware side ^^ , I'm using win 7 64 bit mate.

I only asked, because I got fed up trying to get two GPUs working on Windows XP and switched to Ubuntu. I am not saying it is impossible on Windows (some people got it working), but I ran into problems myself. I have no experience with it on Windows 7, so you probably will be fine.

Bitalo.com coming soon!

1MAHKULzqZb4evFFg9157LvnJhJQQbeYo7
Beremat
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 118


View Profile
March 24, 2011, 12:27:25 AM
 #8

My experience with W7 (64-bit) has been pretty positive. Plugged in the card, loaded up Windows. It messed around a bit with drivers (Found New Hardware tray icon...) and asked me to restart. I restarted and both card were detected fine. If you want to mine on both cards, you'll need a display (or a dummy plug) connected to the second card, otherwise it won't be detected for use with OpenCL.

I'm using a Radeon HD 5870 and a HD 4850.
travex
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 117


View Profile
March 25, 2011, 09:34:08 AM
 #9

My experience with W7 (64-bit) has been pretty positive. Plugged in the card, loaded up Windows. It messed around a bit with drivers (Found New Hardware tray icon...) and asked me to restart. I restarted and both card were detected fine. If you want to mine on both cards, you'll need a display (or a dummy plug) connected to the second card, otherwise it won't be detected for use with OpenCL.

I'm using a Radeon HD 5870 and a HD 4850.

Interesting, what do you mean dummy plug ?
deadlizard
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112



View Profile
March 25, 2011, 10:13:09 AM
 #10

Interesting, what do you mean dummy plug ?
http://forums.bit-tech.net/showthread.php?t=167450

btc address:1MEyKbVbmMVzVxLdLmt4Zf1SZHFgj56aqg
gpg fingerprint:DD1AB28F8043D0837C86A4CA7D6367953C6FE9DC

travex
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 117


View Profile
March 25, 2011, 11:33:01 AM
 #11



Thx mate, have to find 3 75ohm resistor first  Cool
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!