Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 11:42:16 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Help mining GPU  (Read 5319 times)
macosten
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
March 21, 2011, 12:36:19 AM
 #1

Hello! Wink

I can't seem to wrap my head around compiling a mac GPU miner, so can somebody please:
Do it for me and post it somewhere or
post how to do it?

My graphics card is a NVIDA GeForce 9400M, in case you were going to ask.

I have a MacBook Pro, running Mac OS X, so it must be Mac-Compatible.

Thanks!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
yomi
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 40


View Profile
March 21, 2011, 09:13:31 AM
 #2

If you don't want to mess around compiling, etc... probably the easiest would be DiabloMiner:

http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1721.0

I get around 2000 khash/sec on my MacBookPro with a 9400M.

The new MacBook Airs can do a lot more than that :-/

Good luck.

17qXiw646kuukEwjArHNKCNPUh3HnXfgbw
macosten
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
March 22, 2011, 01:00:57 AM
 #3

If you don't want to mess around compiling, etc... probably the easiest would be DiabloMiner:

http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1721.0

I get around 2000 khash/sec on my MacBookPro with a 9400M.

The new MacBook Airs can do a lot more than that :-/

Good luck.
I can't find a direct binary. Can somebody please help me with that?
yomi
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 40


View Profile
March 22, 2011, 08:51:33 AM
 #4

Download the latest binary from http://adterrasperaspera.com/images/DiabloMiner.zip.

Uncompress and go to the directory in terminal.

To run the miner you will probably want to register yourself in a pool (see https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Pooled_mining) and then run something like this in terminal:

./DiabloMiner-OSX.sh -u youruserid -p yourpwd -o pool.address.com -w 32 -f 1000

Hope that helps.

17qXiw646kuukEwjArHNKCNPUh3HnXfgbw
macosten
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
March 22, 2011, 08:46:11 PM
 #5

I don't know what my useris or password is supposed to be here. I don't even have a bitcoin.conf file.

If i try running it in terminal:


[3/22/11 8:30:19 PM] ERROR: Can't connect to Bitcoin: Failed to communicate with Bitcoin: <html><head><title>Unauthorized</title></head><body><h1>401 Unauthorized</h1></body></html>
[3/22/11 8:30:19 PM] ERROR: Can't connect to Bitcoin: Failed to communicate with Bitcoin: <html><head><title>Unauthorized</title></head><body><h1>401 Unauthorized</h1></body></html>
[3/22/11 8:30:20 PM] ERROR: Can't connect to Bitcoin: Failed to communicate with Bitcoin: <html><head><title>Unauthorized</title></head><body><h1>401 Unauthorized</h1></body></html>
[3/22/11 8:30:24 PM] ERROR: Can't connect to Bitcoin: Failed to communicate with Bitcoin: <html><head><title>Unauthorized</title></head><body><h1>401 Unauthorized</h1></body></html>
[3/22/11 8:30:25 PM] ERROR: Can't connect to Bitcoin: Failed to communicate with Bitcoin: <html><head><title>Unauthorized</title></head><body><h1>401 Unauthorized</h1></body></html>
[3/22/11 8:30:25 PM] ERROR: Can't connect to Bitcoin: Failed to communicate with Bitcoin: <html><head><title>Unauthorized</title></head><body><h1>401 Unauthorized</h1></body></html>
[3/22/11 8:30:29 PM] ERROR: Can't connect to Bitcoin: Failed to communicate with Bitcoin: <html><head><title>Unauthorized</title></head><body><h1>401 Unauthorized</h1></body></html>
[3/22/11 8:30:30 PM] ERROR: Can't connect to Bitcoin: Failed to communicate with Bitcoin: <html><head><title>Unauthorized</title></head><body><h1>401 Unauthorized</h1></body></html>
[3/22/11 8:30:30 PM] ERROR: Can't connect to Bitcoin: Failed to communicate with Bitcoin: <html><head><title>Unauthorized</title></head><body><h1>401 Unauthorized</h1></body></html>
[3/22/11 8:30:35 PM] ERROR: Can't connect to Bitcoin: Failed to communicate with Bitcoin: <html><head><title>Unauthorized</title></head><body><h1>401 Unauthorized</h1></body></html>
[3/22/11 8:30:35 PM] ERROR: Can't connect to Bitcoin: Failed to communicate with Bitcoin: <html><head><title>Unauthorized</title></head><body><h1>401 Unauthorized</h1></body></html>
[3/22/11 8:30:36 PM] ERROR: Can't connect to Bitcoin: Failed to communicate with Bitcoin: <html><head><title>Unauthorized</title></head><body><h1>401 Unauthorized</h1></body></html>
[3/22/11 8:30:40 PM] ERROR: Can't connect to Bitcoin: Failed to communicate with Bitcoin: <html><head><title>Unauthorized</title></head><body><h1>401 Unauthorized</h1></body></html>
[3/22/11 8:30:40 PM] ERROR: Can't connect to Bitcoin: Failed to communicate with Bitcoin: <html><head><title>Unauthorized</title></head><body><h1>401 Unauthorized</h1></body></html>
[3/22/11 8:30:41 PM] ERROR: Can't connect to Bitcoin: Failed to communicate with Bitcoin: <html><head><title>Unauthorized</title></head><body><h1>401 Unauthorized</h1></body></html>
[3/22/11 8:30:45 PM] ERROR: Can't connect to Bitcoin: Failed to communicate with Bitcoin: <html><head><title>Unauthorized</title></head><body><h1>401 Unauthorized</h1></body></html>
[3/22/11 8:30:46 PM] ERROR: Can't connect to Bitcoin: Failed to communicate with Bitcoin: <html><head><title>Unauthorized</title></head><body><h1>401 Unauthorized</h1></body></html>
[3/22/11 8:30:46 PM] ERROR: Can't connect to Bitcoin: Failed to communicate with Bitcoin: <html><head><title>Unauthorized</title></head><body><h1>401 Unauthorized</h1></body></html>
Beremat
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 118


View Profile
March 23, 2011, 12:39:55 AM
 #6

The username is the name of the worker at whatever pool you're using, and the password is its password.
You'll also have to replace pool.address.com with whatever pool you're using's address.
GeorgeH
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 83


View Profile
March 23, 2011, 02:58:03 AM
 #7

Hi, welcome to the community! Just a quick word of warning - make sure you keep your laptop cool if you're going to mine with it! I made the mistake of failing to clean one of my computers and it subsequently died after a couple weeks of bitcoin mining. If you care about your laptop, just be sure to clean it regularly - mining bitcoins puts a huge amount of huge stress on a system; cooling is the key to keeping it safe!

1DSpPtPTGXTYjkZehPsiAbjkXLkB1jsZ2x
Darren Oh
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1



View Profile WWW
March 28, 2011, 02:17:38 AM
 #8

Does DiabloMiner miner actually work on a Mac? On my 2007 MacBook running OS X version 10.6.7, I get the following messages:

[3/27/11 10:05:16 PM] Started
[3/27/11 10:05:16 PM] Connecting to: http://bitcoinpool.com:8334/
[3/27/11 10:05:16 PM] ERROR: OpenCL platform Apple contains no devices
Patches
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16


View Profile
March 28, 2011, 02:21:56 PM
 #9

Does DiabloMiner miner actually work on a Mac? On my 2007 MacBook running OS X version 10.6.7, I get the following messages:

[3/27/11 10:05:16 PM] Started
[3/27/11 10:05:16 PM] Connecting to: http://bitcoinpool.com:8334/
[3/27/11 10:05:16 PM] ERROR: OpenCL platform Apple contains no devices


DiabloMiner works fine on my MacBook Pro with OS X (10.6.7) for about 7,000 khash/s. Likely the problem is your integrated Intel graphics in your MacBook does not support OpenCl.  
macosten
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
April 23, 2011, 05:26:41 PM
 #10

 ERROR: Can't connect to Bitcoin: Bitcoin disconnected during response
Means what?

Huh
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!