Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 06:26:02 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How to monitor bitcoin client remotely  (Read 2271 times)
kindle
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
March 21, 2011, 06:16:31 AM
 #1

Hi,

I am wondering how do you guys monitor the mining process over the internet (from work or school) of the computer mining at home?

Pool Mining gives a friendly web interface to check on the progression, however how about solo mining?

I have tried teamviewer but it didn't respond and now I am worried at work that my mining rig has hung at home.

Any suggestions? I was thinking of tweetmypc, however the latest version does not support screenshots

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481135162
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481135162

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481135162
Reply with quote  #2

1481135162
Report to moderator
1481135162
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481135162

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481135162
Reply with quote  #2

1481135162
Report to moderator
1481135162
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481135162

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481135162
Reply with quote  #2

1481135162
Report to moderator
gigabytecoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280


View Profile
March 21, 2011, 07:29:32 AM
 #2

Same way you would monitor anything else?

FreeNX, VNC, RDP?
kindle
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
March 21, 2011, 08:40:07 AM
 #3

gigabytecoin: thanks for the recommendation, how about something less techie and more windows 7 driven?

Grinder
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1269


View Profile
March 21, 2011, 08:53:11 AM
 #4

VNC isn't very "techie" and it runs fine with W7. I recommend TightVNC.
Cablesaurus
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 302



View Profile WWW
March 21, 2011, 05:05:00 PM
 #5

VNC isn't very "techie" and it runs fine with W7. I recommend TightVNC.

For some reason I had major problems with TightVNC recently when I tried it. UltraVNC works fine on the otherhand (for me, on W7 Ultimate 64b.)

PCIe Extender Cables; Dummy Plugs, Fans; PSU Cables; Cases & More
Visit www.Cablesaurus.com and our forum thread at http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=6128.0
snedie
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
March 21, 2011, 08:16:57 PM
 #6

My system is very much stable so I don't worry about crashes an the such like (Even if it does a family member will turn it back on and all the mining programs start up automatically). I generally just use the pool home page (If I'm pooling) to see how things are plodding along.

If your going solo, simply using something like remote desktop or tight vnc like suggested previously is a great way to monitor your system. You could probably pay someone to make a small program that takes screen shots of your screen and uploads them to website (If there isn't such a program already).

This is also a good idea and will be completely automated: http://forum.bodybuilding.com/showthread.php?t=2882041
gohan
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 52


View Profile
March 21, 2011, 08:17:25 PM
 #7

I am wondering how do you guys monitor the mining process over the internet (from work or school) of the computer mining at home?

ssh + screen. Minimal traffic, maximum flexibility. There are web clients, smartphone clients, etc. and surely runs on Windows. Too techie?
kindle
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
March 22, 2011, 10:04:48 AM
 #8

wow thanks for all the suggestions, the auto screenshot looks rather promising. As for the SSH + screen that too looks promising but the setting requires some testing. I will try all this but now im back to pooling which has the option of online monitoring =)

CCCMikey
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 76



View Profile
March 22, 2011, 12:59:53 PM
 #9

If all your login passwords for your PC are strong and your PC is up to date with patches, you could just use Remote Desktop built in to it and open a port on your router. It must be a good password however, as you will get 'attacked' over time.
compro01
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 485


View Profile
March 22, 2011, 05:18:28 PM
 #10

VNC isn't very "techie" and it runs fine with W7. I recommend TightVNC.

For some reason I had major problems with TightVNC recently when I tried it. UltraVNC works fine on the otherhand (for me, on W7 Ultimate 64b.)

i personally use ultravnc myself.  works nicely, though it's windows only unfortunately.  if you need cross-platform capability, you might look at tigervnc.

also recommend dyndns if you lack a static IP address, or even if you do.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!