Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 02:02:18 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Is a 5770 vga of gigabyte different from the same one from msi or powercolor ?  (Read 955 times)
lordgon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10


View Profile
October 08, 2011, 05:39:34 AM
 #1

Hi guys,

Just wonder a 5770 vga of gigabyte mining the same or different Mhash/s compare to a 5770 from msi, power color, etc.

And one more thing, what index (such as core clock, mem clock, egine clock, voltage and fan speed) do i need to underclock in order to reduce the temp and electric consume but will not affect the mining ( Mhash/s).

Thanks in advance for all of your help  Kiss
1480773738
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480773738

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480773738
Reply with quote  #2

1480773738
Report to moderator
1480773738
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480773738

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480773738
Reply with quote  #2

1480773738
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480773738
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480773738

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480773738
Reply with quote  #2

1480773738
Report to moderator
1480773738
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480773738

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480773738
Reply with quote  #2

1480773738
Report to moderator
1480773738
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480773738

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480773738
Reply with quote  #2

1480773738
Report to moderator
hongus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 185


1hongus


View Profile
October 08, 2011, 06:56:37 AM
 #2

All 5770's should have about the same Mhash/s. The tricky part is that if you overclock them, some cards overclock better than others and it's pure luck.

I'm not really sure about the underclocking, but from what I've read people like to keep the mem clock to a minimum (around the 300-600 range) and OC the core clock. Not really sure about these facts, so can somebody confirm them for me?

1HoNGusEgzyXfvQnxHrJjx4bunJRf9pK19
percymate
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
October 08, 2011, 08:28:44 AM
 #3

I have one 5770 running, and a whole lot of 5970's  Wink.

I have EVGA 5770 but I have dealt with the PowerColor brand before and all I have to say is to STEER CLEAR! PowerColor is absolute garbage. I had to return a 5970 because one core refuse to even run OpenCL.

I'm pushing about 200Mhash/s on the 5770. But I think they're mostly identical in terms of their cores.
lordgon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10


View Profile
October 08, 2011, 11:27:34 AM
 #4

So i shouldn't buy a 5770 from Power color, should I ? , i'm considering about buying 6770 gigabyte, 6770 msi, 6770 his, 5770 power color. I don't know if they have the same Mhash/s. But 5770 is the cheapest one.

Still so stuck in the underclocking. I have read a topic about it but do not remember which clock. T__T
RyNinDaCleM
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Legen -wait for it- dary


View Profile
October 08, 2011, 01:34:56 PM
 #5

All 5770's should have about the same Mhash/s. The tricky part is that if you overclock them, some cards overclock better than others and it's pure luck.

I'm not really sure about the underclocking, but from what I've read people like to keep the mem clock to a minimum (around the 300-600 range) and OC the core clock. Not really sure about these facts, so can somebody confirm them for me?

This is true!

The underclocking of the memory is about clock syncing, and a lower power consumption/lower temps! Memory bandwidth means nothing in mining!

I have one 5770 running, and a whole lot of 5970's  Wink.

I have EVGA 5770 but I have dealt with the PowerColor brand before and all I have to say is to STEER CLEAR! PowerColor is absolute garbage. I had to return a 5970 because one core refuse to even run OpenCL.

I'm pushing about 200Mhash/s on the 5770. But I think they're mostly identical in terms of their cores.

EVGA 5770? I didn't know EVGA made ANYTHING ATI

Your openCL issue was probably a driver issue, and not the card!

So i shouldn't buy a 5770 from Power color, should I ? , i'm considering about buying 6770 gigabyte, 6770 msi, 6770 his, 5770 power color. I don't know if they have the same Mhash/s. But 5770 is the cheapest one.

Still so stuck in the underclocking. I have read a topic about it but do not remember which clock. T__T

If you can find a 5770, get that over the 6770 since the 6770 is just a 5770 with a different sticker on it (re-branded 5770), and a 5770 will be a little cheaper! And, yes they will have the same Mh/s!

johnj
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
October 08, 2011, 01:40:31 PM
 #6

I got an openbox Powercooler 5770 from Newegg.  Runs great.  Can't OC as much as my other 5770, but I get around 212 mh/s out of it.

1AeW7QK59HvEJwiyMztFH1ubWPSLLKx5ym
TradeHill Referral TH-R120549
lordgon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10


View Profile
October 08, 2011, 02:16:58 PM
 #7

So i will underclock the memory clock right ?

Should i choose the power color card, coz somebody told me that that card is suck T__T
RyNinDaCleM
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Legen -wait for it- dary


View Profile
October 08, 2011, 02:50:13 PM
 #8

There is nothing wrong with Powercolor GPU's! They are a cheaper brand, but I think it's more or less because they aren't a TOP name brand! But, they still honor a warranty, and many people have had good luck with them! Me personally, I prefer XFX for their warranty! But, I would have no problem purchasing Powercolor otherwise!

lordgon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10


View Profile
October 08, 2011, 02:58:08 PM
 #9

OK i understand now, thanks for your clear explanation. One more thing, How can i calculate the electric which is used by my computer. I know there is a website allow me to calculate that. But the result is Wh or KWh. I wonder if it Wh/s, Wh/m, Wh/h, Wh/day or Wh/month.  Embarrassed
RyNinDaCleM
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Legen -wait for it- dary


View Profile
October 08, 2011, 03:54:31 PM
 #10

Buy a Kill a Watt! One of these!
If your rig pulls 1000w at the plug, that is 1kwh/hour or 24kwh/day!

lordgon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10


View Profile
October 08, 2011, 11:34:55 PM
 #11

Thank you very much, i can't expect more of it  Kiss
atticus
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9


View Profile
October 09, 2011, 05:28:58 PM
 #12

Difference between brands mainly comes down to warranty support and the cooler used for the card. I like the MSI "Twin Frozr" coolers, they keep the card cool without excessive noise.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!