Bitcoin Forum
April 19, 2024, 01:21:01 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 26.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: RaspiBlitz - Fastest and cheapest way to get your own Lightning Node  (Read 408 times)
charlie137 (OP)
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 1204
Merit: 220


(ノಠ益ಠ)ノ


View Profile WWW
July 25, 2018, 04:41:21 PM
Last edit: July 25, 2018, 06:36:20 PM by charlie137
 #1




If you want to start with lightning network - there's a great solution from rootzoll https://github.com/rootzoll/raspiblitz. currently testing new setup and will post updates in a few.

/__      ___ (  /    
\\--`-'-|`---\\ |      AXErunners
 |' _/   ` __/ / 
 '._  W    ,--'     
    |_:_._/
1713532861
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1713532861

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1713532861
Reply with quote  #2

1713532861
Report to moderator
"Bitcoin: mining our own business since 2009" -- Pieter Wuille
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1713532861
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1713532861

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1713532861
Reply with quote  #2

1713532861
Report to moderator
charlie137 (OP)
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 1204
Merit: 220


(ノಠ益ಠ)ノ


View Profile WWW
July 25, 2018, 05:08:28 PM
 #2

temp solution - an error during torrent download - edit sysctl with

Code:
sudo nano /etc/sysctl.conf
and insert following at the end of the file:

Code:
net.core.rmem_max = 4194304
net.core.wmem_max = 1048576

then
Code:
sudo nano 50downloadHDD.sh
and

and replace code with content below:

Code:
#!/bin/sh

# name of torrentfile = name of directory in torrent
torrent="raspiblitz-hdd-2018-07-16"
# size of a valid download (run on seed directory 'du -s ./[TORRENTDIRECTORY]')
torrentsize=462470200

echo ""
echo "*** Checking HDD ***"
mountOK=$(df | grep -c /mnt/hdd)
if [ ${mountOK} -eq 1 ]; then
  # HDD is mounted
  if [ -d "/mnt/hdd/bitcoin" ]; then
    # HDD has already content
    echo "It seems that HDD has already content. Try to continue with ./finishHDD.sh"
  else
    # HDD is empty - download HDD content
    echo "OK - HDD is ready."
    echo ""

    downloading=1
    retry=0
    while [ $downloading -eq 1 ]
    do
      echo "*** Downloading HDD ***"
      tmpfile=$(mktemp)
      chmod a+x $tmpfile
      echo "killall transmission-cli" > $tmpfile
      sudo transmission-cli ./assets/$torrent.torrent -D -et -w /mnt/hdd -f $tmpfile
      echo ""
      echo "*** Checking Download ***"
      echo "wait a moment"
      sleep 5
      downloadsize=$(sudo du -s /mnt/hdd/$torrent/ | awk '{print $1}' | tr -dc '0-9')
      if [ ${#downloadsize} -eq 0 ]; then
        downloadsize=0
      fi
      # add some tolerance for checking
      torrentsize="$(($torrentsize-1024000))"
      echo "download size is(${downloadsize})"
      if [ ${downloadsize} -lt ${torrentsize} ]; then
        echo ""
        echo "FAIL - download is not ${torrentsize}"
        retry=$(($retry+1))
        if [ ${retry} -gt 2 ]; then
          echo "All Retry FAILED"
          downloading=0
        else
          echo "--> RETRY(${retry}) in 10 secs"
          sleep 10
          echo ""
        fi  
      else
        echo "OK - Download is complete"
        downloading=0
      fi
    done  
    if [ ${downloadsize} -lt ${torrentsize} ]; then
      sleep 3
      dialog --title " WARNING " --yesno "The download failed or is not complete. Do you want to clean all download data before you continue?" 6 57
      response=$?
      case $response in
        0) sudo rm -rf /mnt/hdd/$torrent ; sudo rm -rf /root/.config/transmission ;;
      esac
      #
      ./00mainMenu.sh
      exit 1;
    fi
    echo ""

    echo "*** Moving Files ***"
    echo "moving files ..."
    sudo mv /mnt/hdd/$torrent /mnt/hdd/bitcoin
    echo ""

    # set SetupState
    echo "50" > /home/admin/.setup
    
    echo "*** Next Step  ***"
    echo "You can now use this HDD as a source to copy the Blockchain during the setup of another RaspiBlitz."
    sleep 4

    # continue setup
    ./60finishHDD.sh

  fi
else
  # HDD is not available yet
  echo "*** Mount HDD on /mnt/hdd first ***"
fi

fix permissions if needed:

Code:
sudo chmod +x 50downloadHDD.sh

then reboot and init the blockchain drive

/__      ___ (  /    
\\--`-'-|`---\\ |      AXErunners
 |' _/   ` __/ / 
 '._  W    ,--'     
    |_:_._/
Rath_
aka BitCryptex
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1876
Merit: 3131



View Profile
July 27, 2018, 10:38:56 PM
 #3

Raspberry Pi 3 B+ is recommended for this setup. Have you managed to set it up? I would like to know more details such as RAM and CPU usage. I don't intend to run anything else on the Raspberry Pi; however, it would be nice to be able to use it like a normal computer without any problems. I was thinking of trying this out, but I am afraid that it might be a bit overkill for me. I would be glad if you could answer my questions.
alanfox
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 28, 2018, 12:18:40 PM
 #4

With so low cost, only approximately (140-150 USD) as an added value, looks like a great solution based on RaspberryPi. The amazing aspect is,  its hardware ecosystem, providing a lightning node which also gives an opportunity to building your personal apps based on LApps. Great step taken, and seems to have very promising future ahead.
ShiftLocker
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 224
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 30, 2018, 12:25:09 PM
 #5

I am interested about it. But I am totally newbie in this purpose and failed sometimes. So I am afraid to take furthermore step. Is it will reliable for me?
charlie137 (OP)
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 1204
Merit: 220


(ノಠ益ಠ)ノ


View Profile WWW
July 30, 2018, 01:33:08 PM
Last edit: July 30, 2018, 03:41:06 PM by charlie137
Merited by xtraelv (1)
 #6

Raspberry Pi 3 B+ is recommended for this setup. Have you managed to set it up? I would like to know more details such as RAM and CPU usage. I don't intend to run anything else on the Raspberry Pi; however, it would be nice to be able to use it like a normal computer without any problems. I was thinking of trying this out, but I am afraid that it might be a bit overkill for me. I would be glad if you could answer my questions.

running b+ as well - waiting for new power adapter, first one couldn't deliver enough juice for hdd. should have more data in couple days. for standard station usage you might want to do some custom tweaking to get back wifi and local network ssh logins, this might be added later in options or ill post the guide if it works well locally.

if you want to use a regular ubuntu/other os - you could just take off the LCD display, burn standard os image and its ready to go

/__      ___ (  /    
\\--`-'-|`---\\ |      AXErunners
 |' _/   ` __/ / 
 '._  W    ,--'     
    |_:_._/
Catesknee
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 252
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 30, 2018, 01:37:53 PM
 #7

A nice post for them who wants to start the lightning network with RaspiBlitz. Hereby seeing, I found in detail info from what to till what I need in order to set up a network node of my own. A good post to have knowledge about hardware and software and how to set up, in detail information.
zArow
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 30, 2018, 04:14:54 PM
 #8

I would like to know more about RaspiBlitz. I am hopeful that it will come up with something good and will be able to fulfill our needs. Best wishes for the RaspiBlitz.
bond07
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 154
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 31, 2018, 12:06:59 AM
 #9

Looks like a very promising solution based on RaspberryPi. The best part is, it provides a hardware lightning node and also lays out the path to building your own apps based on LApps. Moreover, it is very low-cost (150 usd) setup and has an amazing hardware extension ecosystem.
charlie137 (OP)
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 1204
Merit: 220


(ノಠ益ಠ)ノ


View Profile WWW
July 31, 2018, 02:49:04 AM
 #10

Looks like a very promising solution based on RaspberryPi. The best part is, it provides a hardware lightning node and also lays out the path to building your own apps based on LApps. Moreover, it is very low-cost (150 usd) setup and has an amazing hardware extension ecosystem.

o yes, precisely! also LTC support is now available Grin (exp)

/__      ___ (  /    
\\--`-'-|`---\\ |      AXErunners
 |' _/   ` __/ / 
 '._  W    ,--'     
    |_:_._/
charlie137 (OP)
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 1204
Merit: 220


(ノಠ益ಠ)ノ


View Profile WWW
July 31, 2018, 11:35:04 PM
 #11

I am interested about it. But I am totally newbie in this purpose and failed sometimes. So I am afraid to take furthermore step. Is it will reliable for me?

the setup is simple, but its recommended to have some basic command line skills. also this could be a great way to learn linux without installing it on windows machine

/__      ___ (  /    
\\--`-'-|`---\\ |      AXErunners
 |' _/   ` __/ / 
 '._  W    ,--'     
    |_:_._/
charlie137 (OP)
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 1204
Merit: 220


(ノಠ益ಠ)ノ


View Profile WWW
August 04, 2018, 04:13:07 PM
 #12

finished my testnet setups yesterday, now catching up mainnet. follow this guide to switch from testnet https://github.com/Stadicus/guides/blob/master/raspibolt/raspibolt_50_mainnet.md#mainnet

/__      ___ (  /    
\\--`-'-|`---\\ |      AXErunners
 |' _/   ` __/ / 
 '._  W    ,--'     
    |_:_._/
Rath_
aka BitCryptex
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1876
Merit: 3131



View Profile
August 04, 2018, 11:15:14 PM
 #13

finished my testnet setups yesterday, now catching up mainnet. follow this guide to switch from testnet https://github.com/Stadicus/guides/blob/master/raspibolt/raspibolt_50_mainnet.md#mainnet

Wouldn't it be better for you to synchronize with the mainnet on your computer and then copying all the files to your Raspberry Pi? Once you manage to do it, can you post here if everything is working correctly?
charlie137 (OP)
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 1204
Merit: 220


(ノಠ益ಠ)ノ


View Profile WWW
August 05, 2018, 05:21:11 AM
 #14

finished my testnet setups yesterday, now catching up mainnet. follow this guide to switch from testnet https://github.com/Stadicus/guides/blob/master/raspibolt/raspibolt_50_mainnet.md#mainnet

Wouldn't it be better for you to synchronize with the mainnet on your computer and then copying all the files to your Raspberry Pi? Once you manage to do it, can you post here if everything is working correctly?

my nodes are working good, 0.16.2 over wifi
you could copy synced blockchain on hdd as described here https://github.com/rootzoll/raspiblitz#copy-the-blockchain

/__      ___ (  /    
\\--`-'-|`---\\ |      AXErunners
 |' _/   ` __/ / 
 '._  W    ,--'     
    |_:_._/
charlie137 (OP)
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 1204
Merit: 220


(ノಠ益ಠ)ノ


View Profile WWW
August 10, 2018, 09:18:43 PM
Last edit: August 14, 2018, 04:24:45 AM by charlie137
 #15

a lot of nice stuff and bug fixes coming very soon, along with smooth updates, etc Cool
anybody got a chance to test litecoin yet?

https://www.coindesk.com/you-can-now-get-paid-a-little-for-using-bitcoins-lightning-network/

/__      ___ (  /    
\\--`-'-|`---\\ |      AXErunners
 |' _/   ` __/ / 
 '._  W    ,--'     
    |_:_._/
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!