Bitcoin Forum
December 13, 2017, 11:10:56 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Power Supply question for 5 x r9 290  (Read 500 times)
phaddie
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308


View Profile
February 19, 2014, 02:48:24 PM
 #1

Hey guys,

  One rig I have is currently running 3 X r9 290, ASROCK h81 BTC pro, 8 gigs, and cheapo intel CPU.  It is powred by a corsair hx-850 and a OCZ gameXstream 750W.

  I am adding 2 more r9 290 in a day or so.  I was thinking about getting either the rosewill 1300 or the silverstone st-1200 to replace the 750W.  Will that give me enough power for the 5 r9 290 or should I go up to something like the lepa 1600?

  Thank you in advance

   Phad.
Modify message
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513206656
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513206656

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513206656
Reply with quote  #2

1513206656
Report to moderator
1513206656
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513206656

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513206656
Reply with quote  #2

1513206656
Report to moderator
igroock
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
February 19, 2014, 03:02:35 PM
 #2

a 1200 watt unit will not power even 4 290s. You need at least a solid 1500watt unit like Enermax MaxRevo or a Lepa 1600
phaddie
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308


View Profile
February 19, 2014, 03:03:42 PM
 #3

I understand that, but will the 850 and the 1200 together handle 5?
igroock
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
February 19, 2014, 03:09:59 PM
 #4

Yes
Starscream
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280

All hail Lord Megatron!


View Profile
February 19, 2014, 03:10:20 PM
 #5

It really depends on how you configure your cards. I could configure my cards (R9 290) to use as low as 250w and still maintain a decent KH/s (750+) though right now I'm at 300w per card.

Best thing I can tell you to do is to get something like this: http://www.thegreenhead.com/imgs/kill-a-watt-ez-1.jpg - a device that measures power consumption from wall, than you would easily know how much wattage each single card of yours consumes and will be able to calculate how much power you'll need if you want to add x amount of cards in the future.

I can't stress enough how big of an impact configuration is on the wattage consumption. I've seen people pull as high as 400w from the wall with a single R9 290 (making it a total of 2000w for 5 in your case) or as low as 250w (a total of 1250w in your case again).


 
 
           ▄████▄
         ▄████████▄
       ▄████████████▄
     ▄████████████████▄
    ████████████████████      ▄█▄                 ▄███▄                 ▄███▄                 ▄████████████████▀   ▄██████████

  ▄▄▄▀█████▀▄▄▄▄▀█████▀▄▄▄     ▀██▄             ▄██▀ ▀██▄             ▄██▀ ▀██▄             ▄██▀                   ██
▄█████▄▀▀▀▄██████▄▀▀▀▄█████▄     ▀██▄         ▄██▀     ▀██▄         ▄██▀     ▀██▄         ▄██▀        ▄█▄          ▀██████████████▄
████████████████████████████       ▀██▄     ▄██▀         ▀██▄     ▄██▀         ▀██▄     ▄██▀          ▀█▀                        ██
 ▀████████████████████████▀          ▀██▄ ▄██▀             ▀██▄ ▄██▀     ▄█▄     ▀██▄ ▄██▀                                       ██
   ▀████████████████████▀              ▀███▀                 ▀███▀       ▀█▀       ▀███▀      ▄███████████████████████████████████▀
     ▀████████████████▀
       ▀████████████▀
         ▀████████▀
           ▀████▀
║║


║║
.
.

║║
██
║║
.
.

║║
██
║║
.
║║


║║
phaddie
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308


View Profile
February 19, 2014, 03:15:00 PM
 #6

Cheers guys!!!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!