Bitcoin Forum
October 18, 2021, 12:00:55 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 22.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: MULTIPLE WALLETS - ONE MACHINE??  (Read 1295 times)
zulover
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 583
Merit: 500


View Profile
February 20, 2014, 12:59:23 AM
 #1

hi, its an old cookie but how can you have multiple wallets on one machine?

step by step guide would be nice.

thanks
1634558455
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1634558455

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1634558455
Reply with quote  #2

1634558455
Report to moderator
1634558455
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1634558455

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1634558455
Reply with quote  #2

1634558455
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1634558455
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1634558455

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1634558455
Reply with quote  #2

1634558455
Report to moderator
1634558455
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1634558455

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1634558455
Reply with quote  #2

1634558455
Report to moderator
progamerbet.com
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 20, 2014, 02:17:41 AM
 #2

Close your bitcoin application. Rename wallet.dat -> wallet.dat.old. Rerun your bitcoin application and it will generate a new wallet.
zulover
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 583
Merit: 500


View Profile
February 20, 2014, 11:10:47 PM
 #3

So will they both be running at the same time and wiil it be still on the same window or a second window for the new wallet?
Abdussamad
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2926
Merit: 1356



View Profile
February 21, 2014, 06:32:17 AM
 #4

hi, its an old cookie but how can you have multiple wallets on one machine?

step by step guide would be nice.

thanks

You can have multiple wallets in two data directories. So:

- copy your existing data directory to a new one. https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Data_directory

- delete the wallet.dat file in it

- run bitcoinqt/d with the datadir option pointing to the new directory and a different port:

bitcoin-qt -datadir=<dir>  -port=8334

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Running_Bitcoin

- It will create a new wallet for which you should set a password.

- create a shortcut for the above command.

It would be even easier if you used a client other than bitcoin-qt. Electrum, multibit, armory all support multiple wallets.
zackclark70
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 896
Merit: 1000

ADT developer


View Profile
February 21, 2014, 06:33:42 AM
 #5

hi, its an old cookie but how can you have multiple wallets on one machine?

step by step guide would be nice.

thanks

You can have multiple wallets in two data directories. So:

- copy your existing data directory to a new one. https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Data_directory

- delete the wallet.dat file in it

- run bitcoinqt/d with the datadir option pointing to the new directory and a different port:

bitcoin-qt -datadir=<dir>  -port=8334

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Running_Bitcoin

- It will create a new wallet for which you should set a password.

- create a shortcut for the above command.

b warned backup your wallet first as accidents do happen Smiley

zulover
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 583
Merit: 500


View Profile
February 21, 2014, 07:06:32 AM
 #6

hi, its an old cookie but how can you have multiple wallets on one machine?

step by step guide would be nice.

thanks

You can have multiple wallets in two data directories. So:

- copy your existing data directory to a new one. https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Data_directory

- delete the wallet.dat file in it

- run bitcoinqt/d with the datadir option pointing to the new directory and a different port:

bitcoin-qt -datadir=<dir>  -port=8334

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Running_Bitcoin

- It will create a new wallet for which you should set a password.

- create a shortcut for the above command.

b warned backup your wallet first as accidents do happen Smiley

ok .thats kindof what I was thinking along the directory lines. Yep ive been meaning to do this for a while and setup electrum, just lack of time, looks bad with me attaining senior member rank aswell.like the site abdusamad. Jazakallahukhair.

thanks zac I backup to 3 different places regularly.

progamerbet.com
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 21, 2014, 10:26:38 AM
 #7

hi, its an old cookie but how can you have multiple wallets on one machine?

step by step guide would be nice.

thanks

You can have multiple wallets in two data directories. So:

- copy your existing data directory to a new one. https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Data_directory

- delete the wallet.dat file in it

- run bitcoinqt/d with the datadir option pointing to the new directory and a different port:

bitcoin-qt -datadir=<dir>  -port=8334

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Running_Bitcoin

- It will create a new wallet for which you should set a password.

- create a shortcut for the above command.

It would be even easier if you used a client other than bitcoin-qt. Electrum, multibit, armory all support multiple wallets.
yea but now you have two huge data directories with the whole blockchain on them
roslinpl
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2030
Merit: 1190


https://cryptocoinsinfo.net


View Profile WWW
February 21, 2014, 12:04:20 PM
 #8

hi, its an old cookie but how can you have multiple wallets on one machine?

step by step guide would be nice.

thanks

You can have multiple wallets in two data directories. So:

- copy your existing data directory to a new one. https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Data_directory

- delete the wallet.dat file in it

- run bitcoinqt/d with the datadir option pointing to the new directory and a different port:

bitcoin-qt -datadir=<dir>  -port=8334

https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Running_Bitcoin

- It will create a new wallet for which you should set a password.

- create a shortcut for the above command.

It would be even easier if you used a client other than bitcoin-qt. Electrum, multibit, armory all support multiple wallets.
yea but now you have two huge data directories with the whole blockchain on them

Why just do not install another wallet different fromthe one you have?

 
..
 
..
 
..
 
..
SIGNATURES
  █████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████  
███████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████                █████      █████                ███████                ██████
████                    ███      ███                    ███                    ████
████      ████████████  ███      ███      ████████████  ███      ████████████  ████
████      ████████████  ███      ███      ████████████  ███      ████████████  ████
████      ████████████  ███      ███      ████████████  ███      ████████████  ████
████      █████████████████      ███      █████████████████      ██████████████████
████  █████████████████████      ███  █████████████████████  ██████████████████████
████  █████████████████████      ███  ████              ███  ██████████████████████
████                  █████  ███████  ████              ███                  ██████
██████                  ███  ███████  ████      ██████  █████                  ████
██████████████████████  ███  ███████  ████████████████  █████████████████████  ████
██████████████████████  ███  ███████  ████████████████  █████████████████████  ████
██████████████████      ███  ███████  ████████████      █████████████████      ████
████  ████████████      ███  ███████  ████████████      ███  ████████████      ████
████  ████████████      ███  ███████  ████████████      ███  ████████████      ████
████  ████████████      ███  ███████   ███████████      ███  ████████████      ████
████                    ███  ███████                    ███                    ████
██████                █████  █████████                ███████                ██████
███████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
   █████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████  
|
██  ██ ██████ ███████ ██
 ██████   ██   ██ █ ██ ██
 ██  ██   ██   ██   ██ ████

████████████████████████████
████████████████████████████
████████████████████████████
████░░░░░░░░░░          ████
████░░░░░░░░░░          ████
▐███▌░░░░▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄███▌
▐████░░░░██████████████████▌
▐████░░░░░░░░░         ████▌
 ████░░░░░░░░░         ████
 ████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄    ▐████
 ▐████░░░░████████    ████▌
 ▐████░░░░████████    ████▌
 ▐████░░░░▀▀▀██▀▀▀    ████▌
  ████▌░░░░░░░       ▐████
  ██████▄▄░░░░    ▄▄██████
  ███████████▄▄███████████
  ▀▀▀██████████████████▀▀▀
        ▀▀▀▀▀██▀▀▀▀▀
BANNERS
 
..
 
..
 
..
 
..
zulover
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 583
Merit: 500


View Profile
February 22, 2014, 10:15:32 AM
 #9

True you could but uniformity is good, and qt wallet should allow for something like this. IN THE OVERVIEW SCREEN YOU COULD EASILY HAVE AN OVERview for more than 1 wallet.
Sydboy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196
Merit: 100


View Profile
February 23, 2014, 03:54:02 PM
 #10

Why would you want multiple wallets at the same time ?
A store might need multiple addresses, but they can all be contained in the same wallet.
if you have coins all over the place why not just send them to the 1 wallet ?
zulover
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 583
Merit: 500


View Profile
February 23, 2014, 04:25:30 PM
 #11

Thats true whats you say. My issue is recieving different funds for different purposes on different addresses in the same wallet which can becomes a bit tricky. Yes you can isolate an address and see whats recieved and sent, but a separate wallet would be easier to separate the funds.
Abdussamad
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2926
Merit: 1356



View Profile
February 23, 2014, 04:59:46 PM
 #12

Why would you want multiple wallets at the same time ?
A store might need multiple addresses, but they can all be contained in the same wallet.
if you have coins all over the place why not just send them to the 1 wallet ?

Some reasons:

- To keep coins from different sources separate. When you spend coins the transaction inputs can be from any addresses in your wallet. Since all transactions are public and some of the addresses may be publicly associated with you people can find out how many coins you own and what transactions you make. So to avoid all that it makes sense to keep bitcoins from different sources in separate wallets.

- For security reasons you may have multiple wallets. Hot wallets on your PC or mobile and offline wallets for larger amounts.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!