Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 02:12:21 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 0 connections, 0 blocks, 0 transactions  (Read 1653 times)
blakeyrat
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
March 23, 2011, 05:12:31 PM
 #1

Hi, I just found Bitcoin today and decided to give it a try, but the client doesn't appear to be working. I'm reasonably sure that my firewall here has outgoing port 6667 blocked, so instead I added "-addnode=69.164.218.197" to the program's commandline (I got that IP from a page on the wiki), but that doesn't appear to have done anything either... I think whatever other ports it's trying to use are blocked as well.

Is there a way to get Bitcoin to run over a port I *know* for sure isn't blocked by my office firewall? Port 80 or 8080 would be ideal, I'm not sure what other ports are blocked for sure (it's really hard to test for blocked outgoing ports). I don't have any control over the office firewall, and since this isn't exactly a work-critical app, I'm not in a position to ask them for an exception.

Thanks for your help.
1481249541
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481249541

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481249541
Reply with quote  #2

1481249541
Report to moderator
1481249541
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481249541

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481249541
Reply with quote  #2

1481249541
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481249541
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481249541

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481249541
Reply with quote  #2

1481249541
Report to moderator
1481249541
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481249541

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481249541
Reply with quote  #2

1481249541
Report to moderator
1481249541
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481249541

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481249541
Reply with quote  #2

1481249541
Report to moderator
mndrix
Michael Hendricks
VIP
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 447


View Profile
March 23, 2011, 05:21:52 PM
 #2

You can run Bitcoin over Tor using the --proxy option.  Hopefully Tor can get through your firewall since it's designed to look like normal HTTPS traffic
blakeyrat
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
March 23, 2011, 05:25:39 PM
 #3

I don't want to put Tor on my work computer, for obvious reasons.

There's no way to just change the port?
Garrett Burgwardt
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350



View Profile
March 23, 2011, 05:30:42 PM
 #4

I'm fairly certain that you don't need any outgoing ports open to get connections - can you connect an irc client on your work network? That's the primary way that the client gets new connections.

Why not just run it at home?
blakeyrat
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
March 23, 2011, 05:39:56 PM
 #5

I'm fairly certain that you don't need any outgoing ports open to get connections - can you connect an irc client on your work network? That's the primary way that the client gets new connections.

Why not just run it at home?

No, IRC is port 6667. It's blocked, like I said in the first post. Since I manually pointed the client to a server using -addnode, I'm assuming whatever other port it uses is blocked as well.

And I was planning to run it at home, but I'm at work now, and I wanted to try it out. Plus I figured since my work machine has to stay on 24/7, it might as well help out generating bitcoins instead of just idling... but obviously that's not going to work.

Well, if it can't do it, please make this a feature request... I find it a little unbelievable that this feature doesn't already exist, though!
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!