Bitcoin Forum
December 16, 2017, 06:09:00 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: What does Mh/s stand for?  (Read 2048 times)
factotumjack
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile
October 16, 2011, 07:48:09 PM
 #1

Newbie question here.

I see the unit of measurement Mh/s and Gh/s tossed around a lot, esp. with pools.  I've picked up that it's measuring collective processing power (number of solutions checked per second?), but what exactly is it?

Thanks.

Recent MSc Statistics graduate from UBC Okanagan. Now offering statistical consulting and data analysis for CAD/USD or BitCoins.

Programmer of Doc Logic on X-Box Indie Games: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4IBIqmQ6CjA
1513404540
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513404540

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513404540
Reply with quote  #2

1513404540
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
JA37
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


View Profile
October 16, 2011, 07:54:00 PM
 #2

Megahash per second, and Gigahash per second.
Read more here: https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Hash

Ponzi me: http://fxnet.bitlex.org/?ref=588
Thanks to the anonymous person who doubled my BTC wealth by sending 0.02 BTC to: 1BSGbFq4G8r3uckpdeQMhP55ScCJwbvNnG
factotumjack
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile
October 16, 2011, 08:01:24 PM
 #3

That answers my question perfectly, thank you greatly.

Recent MSc Statistics graduate from UBC Okanagan. Now offering statistical consulting and data analysis for CAD/USD or BitCoins.

Programmer of Doc Logic on X-Box Indie Games: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4IBIqmQ6CjA
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!