Bitcoin Forum
January 18, 2019, 02:56:03 PM *
News: The copper membership price will increase by about 300% around Friday.
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Electrum wallet disappeared upon restart  (Read 55 times)
satoria
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 12, 2018, 08:47:12 AM
 #1

I was using a software wallet from Electrum.org, which displayed a beautiful atomic symbol on the dock at the bottom of my Mac screen.  When clicking on the symbol icon, it would display the window showing balances, history, etc.  Then upon restarting the computer, it disappeared!  It is not on the dock.  It is not in Launcher.  It is not in Applications.  I found the electrum folder in Finder, but that only consists of a lot of documentation - - no app, no wallet.  Where is it?  How to restore it?  And how to prevent it from disappearing again?
1547823363
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1547823363

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1547823363
Reply with quote  #2

1547823363
Report to moderator
1547823363
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1547823363

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1547823363
Reply with quote  #2

1547823363
Report to moderator
1547823363
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1547823363

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1547823363
Reply with quote  #2

1547823363
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1547823363
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1547823363

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1547823363
Reply with quote  #2

1547823363
Report to moderator
1547823363
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1547823363

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1547823363
Reply with quote  #2

1547823363
Report to moderator
inPRIVACYweBELIEVE
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 90
Merit: 27

Call me iPwB


View Profile WWW
August 12, 2018, 08:56:44 AM
 #2

Do you have backup of your seed or private key? If yes then you have nothing to be worried at all.

All you need is to reinstall the Electrum and restore the wallet. This tutorial which I created last week might help. Please visit : Idea Courses [Video Tutorial 1.1.1 - Getting Started with Bitcoin Wallet]

I may need to add another tutorial showing how to restore a wallet using private key of an address.
joniboini
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448
Merit: 775


MESG - The new economy of app development


View Profile WWW
August 12, 2018, 12:00:03 PM
 #3

Are you really sure that's the only thing that you do/happens before your Electrum got 'uninstalled'? I'm not a Mac user but I doubt just clicking and opening your apps will make it disappear the next time you start your computer. Any logs or something like that?

Oh, one more thing, how did you install it? Are you following the steps described in https://electrum.org/#download?

MESG
░░░░░░▄▄▄██████████▄▄▄
░░░░▄██████▄███████████▄
░░▄████▄█████▄████▄██████▄
██████████▄███████████████
▐████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄████▌
█████░███░█░▄▄█░▄▄█▀░▄▄█████
█▄███░░▀░░█░▄▄█░░░█░█▀▀██▄██
█████░█░█░█░▀▀█▀▀░█▄░▀░█████
▐████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀████▌
██████████████████████████
░░▀███▄████████▄█████████▀
░░░░▀██████▄███████▄███▀
░░░░░░▀▀▀██████████▀▀▀
  BUILD APPLICATIONS
        CONNECTING ANY TECHNOLOGIES   
|



   ▄███████
   ████████
   ███▀
   ███
██████████
██████████
   ███
   ███
   ███
   ███
   ███
   ███




             ▄████▄▄   
█▄          ██████████▀
███        ███████████▀
▐████▄     ██████████▌
▄▄██████▄▄▄▄█████████▌
▀████████████████████
  ▀█████████████████
  ▄▄███████████████
   ▀█████████████▀
    ▄▄█████████▀
▀▀██████████▀
    ▀▀▀▀▀




                   ▄▄████
              ▄▄████████▌
         ▄▄█████████▀███
    ▄▄██████████▀▀ ▄███▌
▄████████████▀▀  ▄█████
▀▀▀███████▀   ▄███████▌
      ██    ▄█████████
       █  ▄██████████▌
       █  ███████████
       █ ██▀ ▀██████▌
       ██▀     ▀████
                 ▀█▌
  GITHUB
  MEDIUM
  LINKEDIN
  DISCORD
|SIGN-UP ON THE
F O R U M
jossiel
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050
Merit: 522



View Profile
August 13, 2018, 05:33:54 AM
 #4

I'm not a MAC user as well  but mind prefer moving the thread on Electrum if my suggestion isn't enough.

Like what they said, if you backed up your seeds you can re-download the app and re-install it again with the use of the seed you kept.

This is how you'll do it https://support.exodus.io/article/159-import-your-bitcoin-wallet-into-electrum

.BitDice.               ▄▄███▄▄
           ▄▄██▀▀ ▄ ▀▀██▄▄
      ▄▄█ ▀▀  ▄▄█████▄▄  ▀▀ █▄▄
  ▄▄██▀▀     ▀▀ █████ ▀▀     ▀▀██▄▄
██▀▀ ▄▄██▀      ▀███▀      ▀██▄▄ ▀▀██
██  ████▄▄       ███       ▄▄████  ██
██  █▀▀████▄▄  ▄█████▄  ▄▄████▀▀█  ██
██  ▀     ▀▀▀███████████▀▀▀     ▀  ██
             ███████████
██  ▄     ▄▄▄███████████▄▄▄     ▄  ██
██  █▄▄████▀▀  ▀█████▀  ▀▀████▄▄█  ██
██  ████▀▀       ███       ▀▀████  ██
██▄▄ ▀▀██▄      ▄███▄      ▄██▀▀ ▄▄██
  ▀▀██▄▄     ▄▄ █████ ▄▄     ▄▄██▀▀
      ▀▀█ ▄▄  ▀▀█████▀▀  ▄▄ █▀▀
           ▀▀██▄▄ ▀ ▄▄██▀▀
               ▀▀███▀▀
        ▄▄███████▄▄
     ▄███████████████▄
    ████▀▀       ▀▀████
   ████▀           ▀████
   ████             ████
   ████ ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄ ████
▄█████████████████████████▄
██████████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀██████████
████                   ████
████                   ████
████                   ████
████                   ████
████                   ████
████▄                 ▄████
████████▄▄▄     ▄▄▄████████
  ▀▀▀█████████████████▀▀▀
        ▀▀▀█████▀▀▀
▄▄████████████████████████████████▄▄
██████████████████████████████████████
█████                            █████
█████                            █████
█████                            █████
█████                            █████
█████                     ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
█████                   ▄█▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀█▄
█████                   ██          ██
█████                   ██          ██
█████                   ██          ██
██████████████████▀▀███ ██          ██
 ████████████████▄  ▄██ ██          ██
   ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀ ██          ██
             ██████████ ██          ██
           ▄███████████ ██████▀▀██████
          █████████████  ▀████▄▄████▀
[/]
jseverson
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 854
Merit: 650

On holiday until early January


View Profile
August 14, 2018, 03:00:02 AM
 #5

Have you tried launching it from the command line? I found this on reddit:

https://www.reddit.com/r/Electrum/comments/6r6k5v/how_to_get_electrum_working_from_command_line_on/

Quote from: /u/AntaresA
Might be a bit late to answer this, but for others' benefit - you can access it from the command line like so:

/Applications/Electrum.app/Contents/MacOS/Electrum

There's also this:

https://www.reddit.com/r/Electrum/comments/8ubp2d/electrum_on_mac_not_opening/

...where one user suggests that you may need a newer version of MacOS.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Bitcointalk.org is not available or authorized for sale. Do not believe any fake listings.
Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!