Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 03:31:07 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How do I know there is a new transaction?  (Read 582 times)
popman
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
October 18, 2011, 02:01:48 PM
 #1

I am developing a program that monitors the transaction.
The first question is that how I know there is a new transcation? I can consider the command ListTranscation. However, there is a bit issue about this command I post in another thread. In short, I can't list transaction from all account by NOT provide account.
Even if it works for me. The API says:
listtransactions    [account] [count=10] [from=0]    Returns up to [count] most recent transactions skipping the first [from] transactions for account [account]. If [account] not provided will return recent transaction from all accounts. 


 It returns up to [count] most recent transaction. How do I know how many transaction is new after I read last time? If I set count as 10, but there is 11 new transactions if I get busy, then I miss one. So I have to set count parameter an unreachable number, say 10000, and check it every second to make sure I never miss one transaction?


Or is there an alternative way to check new transaction?
1481340667
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481340667

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481340667
Reply with quote  #2

1481340667
Report to moderator
1481340667
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481340667

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481340667
Reply with quote  #2

1481340667
Report to moderator
1481340667
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481340667

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481340667
Reply with quote  #2

1481340667
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481340667
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481340667

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481340667
Reply with quote  #2

1481340667
Report to moderator
1481340667
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481340667

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481340667
Reply with quote  #2

1481340667
Report to moderator
1481340667
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481340667

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481340667
Reply with quote  #2

1481340667
Report to moderator
kokjo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050

You are WRONG!


View Profile
October 18, 2011, 02:04:24 PM
 #2

don't use accounts. use "" as account.

"The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves and wiser people so full of doubts." -Bertrand Russell
popman
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
October 19, 2011, 04:06:12 AM
 #3

You mean just use one single account?
nmat
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602


View Profile
October 20, 2011, 07:30:44 AM
 #4

I am developing a program that monitors the transaction.
The first question is that how I know there is a new transcation? I can consider the command ListTranscation. However, there is a bit issue about this command I post in another thread. In short, I can't list transaction from all account by NOT provide account.
Even if it works for me. The API says:
listtransactions    [account] [count=10] [from=0]    Returns up to [count] most recent transactions skipping the first [from] transactions for account [account]. If [account] not provided will return recent transaction from all accounts. 


 It returns up to [count] most recent transaction. How do I know how many transaction is new after I read last time? If I set count as 10, but there is 11 new transactions if I get busy, then I miss one. So I have to set count parameter an unreachable number, say 10000, and check it every second to make sure I never miss one transaction?


Or is there an alternative way to check new transaction?

In this forum section these sort of questions sometimes don't reach the right audience. If you don't get a good answer (or if you don't get out of the newbie status), you can always try to ask it at the Bitcoin Q&A
btcfan
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile WWW
October 25, 2011, 04:02:13 AM
 #5

I used ListTransaction with Count = 10 and From = 3.But I still get the first 3 transactions.  How does it work?

I think this is a very common questions. Does anyone know how to list the transactions that have not checked?

http://www.BtcFan.com

A fair, user self-managing betting web site.
Creators get 5% of losing bitcoins.
Rules are plain and simple. Winners get all.
Play with or without bitcoins.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!