Bitcoin Forum
December 18, 2017, 09:48:41 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Antminer S1 - max fan speed and temp reads 182  (Read 2222 times)
DevonMiner
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 459



View Profile
February 28, 2014, 11:27:24 AM
 #1

I did post this in another section, but no replies, so hoping someone might have seen this problem before?

Got another Ant yesterday ... but this one isn't quite as happy as the others ... It's overclocked at 375Mhz and hashes away quite happily, but two issues:

1) The fan is always on max speed.
2) Chain#1 says the temperature is 182.

Anybody got any ideas how to fix this? Maybe a temp sensor is malfunctioning and therefore running the fan at max speed?

I'm not even sure where the sensors are anyway.

This is what I'm seeing:

Chain#       ASIC#        Frequency        Fan       Temp
1                32              375              3660       182
2                32              375                0           30

I've tried running the fan from the other blade, also tried other fans, but still get the same result.

I'm sure it's not overly hot and 'cooking' in there, just a false reading.

1513590521
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513590521

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513590521
Reply with quote  #2

1513590521
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513590521
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513590521

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513590521
Reply with quote  #2

1513590521
Report to moderator
iglasses
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


View Profile
February 28, 2014, 01:45:02 PM
 #2

Yikes...I would unplug that thing IMMEDIATELY until you figure out what the story is.....at that temp it's going to grenade.

I only have a signature because I'm allowed.
alexrossi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554


sigs design service➜https://goo.gl/jhz4f8


View Profile
February 28, 2014, 01:48:51 PM
 #3

Yikes...I would unplug that thing IMMEDIATELY until you figure out what the story is.....at that temp it's going to grenade.

The temp is surely faked, and you can comfirm this by simply watching the 2nd blade temp.
Just a defective temp sensor (maybe if u are lucky an hard reset can fix the issue)

      ▀
   ▄▄▄   ▄▀
   ███ ▄▄▄▄  ██
       ████
    ▄  ▀▀▀▀
▄▄
     ██    ▀▀
██▄█▄▄▄████████
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▀▀███▀▀▀
██████████████████
████▄▀▄▀▄▀███▀▀▀▀▀
████▄▀▄▀▄▀███ ▀
████▄▀▄▀▄▀████████
▀█████████████████
]
,CoinPayments,
█████
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████
█████
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████
█████
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████
aztecminer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
February 28, 2014, 03:08:44 PM
 #4



Chain#       ASIC#        Frequency        Fan       Temp
1                32              375              3660       182
2                32              375                0           30





if that was a true temp reading then ur that blade would be fried so i think ur safe to keep on hashing ..
DevonMiner
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 459



View Profile
February 28, 2014, 03:40:08 PM
 #5


if that was a true temp reading then ur that blade would be fried so i think ur safe to keep on hashing ..
[/quote]

Oh, It's completely safe I'm sure, and I'll use the second reading ... I'm just trying to reduce the fan noise!

... BTW a hard reset didn't work.

I'll go and buy 2 quieter fans and put one at either end :-)

ineedit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
February 28, 2014, 03:56:17 PM
 #6


if that was a true temp reading then ur that blade would be fried so i think ur safe to keep on hashing ..

Oh, It's completely safe I'm sure, and I'll use the second reading ... I'm just trying to reduce the fan noise!

... BTW a hard reset didn't work.

I'll go and buy 2 quieter fans and put one at either end :-)


[/quote]

I suspect that it is a bad temp sensor. Just swap the blades around and let the temp controller on the other blade do the job.

If I have been help then please show your thanks         BTC: 127PRogAVZiV3fEmpJERh9KemK3a3Ffh6G         LTC: LXghFL8mZffpTFkm2nRTesuDrV5DJQP3Js
goggles1200
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 110


View Profile
February 28, 2014, 06:24:24 PM
 #7

Is there a way to change the fan speed?
alexrossi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554


sigs design service➜https://goo.gl/jhz4f8


View Profile
February 28, 2014, 06:25:37 PM
 #8

Is there a way to change the fan speed?

Nope, is controlled by the internal pwm

You can only cut the fouth wire to remove pwm and let the fan go always to 100%

      ▀
   ▄▄▄   ▄▀
   ███ ▄▄▄▄  ██
       ████
    ▄  ▀▀▀▀
▄▄
     ██    ▀▀
██▄█▄▄▄████████
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▀▀███▀▀▀
██████████████████
████▄▀▄▀▄▀███▀▀▀▀▀
████▄▀▄▀▄▀███ ▀
████▄▀▄▀▄▀████████
▀█████████████████
]
,CoinPayments,
█████
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████
█████
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████
█████
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████
DevonMiner
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 459



View Profile
February 28, 2014, 07:32:53 PM
 #9


Quote
Just swap the blades around and let the temp controller on the other blade do the job.

Good idea, thanks ... and just tried it.

Removed the small controller board (the one with the Ethernet port one) and swapped it over to the other side. Re-checked all connections.

ODD ... the fan comes on full speed again, CGMiner shows I'm connected to the pool, but it isn't mining. Temp differences have swapped over between the blades as they should.

When it boots up, it gives a few beeps for a few seconds (the same as when the internet connection is lost), and then made a slightly higher pitch set of bleeps after that. Never seen/heard an Ant do that before.

So ... I removed the fan and put it on the other end, just in case that would make a difference?! ... it didn't.

What I did notice though (after removing the fan) was a lot of dirt over the end of the blades ... this Ant has been used!

When it arrived yesterday, I had to re-seat one of the connectors to the ethernet board, as it had come away. Maybe it had a bump in transit, or maybe it has been well used before being shipped to me?

Anyway, reverted  everything back to as before and now it happily hashes away again sounding like a jet engine at full speed.

I'll stick with it, as a return to Bitmain from the UK to China sounds like an expensive and drawn-out option!

ineedit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
March 01, 2014, 08:08:46 AM
 #10


Quote
Just swap the blades around and let the temp controller on the other blade do the job.

Good idea, thanks ... and just tried it.

Removed the small controller board (the one with the Ethernet port one) and swapped it over to the other side. Re-checked all connections.

ODD ... the fan comes on full speed again, CGMiner shows I'm connected to the pool, but it isn't mining. Temp differences have swapped over between the blades as they should.

When it boots up, it gives a few beeps for a few seconds (the same as when the internet connection is lost), and then made a slightly higher pitch set of bleeps after that. Never seen/heard an Ant do that before.

So ... I removed the fan and put it on the other end, just in case that would make a difference?! ... it didn't.

What I did notice though (after removing the fan) was a lot of dirt over the end of the blades ... this Ant has been used!

When it arrived yesterday, I had to re-seat one of the connectors to the ethernet board, as it had come away. Maybe it had a bump in transit, or maybe it has been well used before being shipped to me?

Anyway, reverted  everything back to as before and now it happily hashes away again sounding like a jet engine at full speed.

I'll stick with it, as a return to Bitmain from the UK to China sounds like an expensive and drawn-out option!



Glad I could help you, the new fans are not what anyone would describe as quiet and have to run about 500rpm faster than the older fans to maintain the same temp.

If I have been help then please show your thanks         BTC: 127PRogAVZiV3fEmpJERh9KemK3a3Ffh6G         LTC: LXghFL8mZffpTFkm2nRTesuDrV5DJQP3Js
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!