Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2016, 08:23:29 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Can i use a crappy cpu and a high end gpu to get a moderatly cheap mining rig?  (Read 1371 times)
Rofer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
October 21, 2011, 02:57:29 AM
 #1

discuss
1481012609
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481012609

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481012609
Reply with quote  #2

1481012609
Report to moderator
1481012609
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481012609

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481012609
Reply with quote  #2

1481012609
Report to moderator
1481012609
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481012609

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481012609
Reply with quote  #2

1481012609
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481012609
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481012609

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481012609
Reply with quote  #2

1481012609
Report to moderator
1481012609
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481012609

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481012609
Reply with quote  #2

1481012609
Report to moderator
1481012609
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481012609

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481012609
Reply with quote  #2

1481012609
Report to moderator
rTech
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 305


Trust but confirm!


View Profile
October 21, 2011, 08:18:19 AM
 #2

Thats current trend, amd athlon II 250 and low end semprons are quite popular. Just check peoples pictures and specs of rig setups. Usualy they use low end cpu.
tinman951
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 149


View Profile
October 21, 2011, 07:11:19 PM
 #3

You can get a a cheap mobo and processor for less than $100 together from many places like Newegg.  Then you use a nice GPU and some form of linux (to be free and small).  Remember the bigger and more powerful the processor the more electricity it takes.  You don't need a very large hard drive at all.  My entire bitcoin section on my hard drive is about 1Gb, the wallet is only a few kilobytes.  You could use a 12Gb hard drive from an old relic of a computer.

Free micro bitcoins: http://www.bitvisitor.com/?ref=1DFw1VncjVhqdg6GWoQ6Qtc5ncR5RHXxfP
Donate BTC: 18b94MMTWd7bWaUWcq7VHmizgswP2dK6fM
Vanderbleek
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 227


View Profile WWW
October 21, 2011, 07:13:51 PM
 #4

Or even just boot from a flash drive...I know there's a specialized Linux distro for bitcoin out there somewhere.

If I helped, feel free to donate to:
BTC: 1DimPUBPnmZuWu5XrMa3xVnFgMz1iGBNdr
LTC: LLqQuvRZd4uZyenER2mE8d3ns1N1qBWQjD
MSAvenger
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29


View Profile
October 21, 2011, 07:32:19 PM
 #5

Yes, you can. I recommend Sempron 140 (the cheapest CPU) and Celeron G530 (cheap and power efficent).
Gabi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050


View Profile
October 21, 2011, 09:29:31 PM
 #6

discuss
No need to discuss.

Yes you can, no problems at all.
kiyote
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
October 22, 2011, 03:48:09 PM
 #7

Or even just boot from a flash drive...I know there's a specialized Linux distro for bitcoin out there somewhere.

Does anybody know the name/a link for this?  I wouldn't mind checking this out.
tinman951
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 149


View Profile
October 22, 2011, 05:40:55 PM
 #8

Or even just boot from a flash drive...I know there's a specialized Linux distro for bitcoin out there somewhere.

Does anybody know the name/a link for this?  I wouldn't mind checking this out.

Here is one: https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/LinuxCoin
Also http://www.linuxcoin.co.uk/index.php?page=downloads
I've never used it though.

Free micro bitcoins: http://www.bitvisitor.com/?ref=1DFw1VncjVhqdg6GWoQ6Qtc5ncR5RHXxfP
Donate BTC: 18b94MMTWd7bWaUWcq7VHmizgswP2dK6fM
abbeytim
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 333


View Profile
October 22, 2011, 07:46:21 PM
 #9

a lot of people are using sempron 140 and motherboard with 2 or more pcie slots you can use windows or linux  go here to see the cards
performance https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison
kiyote
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
October 23, 2011, 03:35:19 AM
 #10

Thanks!
Valalvax
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 439


View Profile
October 23, 2011, 03:42:54 AM
 #11

Read CPU as PSU for some reason

Was going "Wtf... he'll fry his shit"

"Wtf why is everyone saying he's right?!?!?"

"WTF!"

"Isn't Sempron a freaking processor?"

"Wouldn't a Sempron 140 be a 140 watt PSU? No way it could even handle CPU mining....."

"Oh.."
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!