Bitcoin Forum
December 16, 2017, 08:23:13 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: cgminer GPU problem  (Read 1051 times)
ownage18
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35


View Profile
February 28, 2014, 07:52:01 PM
 #1

I run a windows 7 ultimate, X64 and a Radeon X1650 Series video card. I tried mining with it with cgminer 3.7.2 but when i run .exe it says "The program cannot run beucase OpenCL.dll is not found ."

I installed the AMD APP SDK and now it gives me another error.

Error -1001:clGetPlatformsIDs failer (no openGL sdkinstalled?)
clDevicesNum returned error.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
TheIceman
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
February 28, 2014, 08:40:06 PM
 #2

That error comes from the catalyst drivers not being installed correctly. in your case it does not appear your card supports openCL.
Colin Miner
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile WWW
February 28, 2014, 10:38:01 PM
 #3

Quote
Radeon X1650

You are not missing out as that card won't mine very much at all. Its just not powerful enough.

Try a mid to high end ATI/AMD gaming GPU as a minimum.

FREE Namecoins (NMC), Devcoins (DVC) and IxCoins (iXC) while you mine Bitcoins (BTC) on the pool, in the cloud or both. Free to join, click here to Sign Up and mine your free coins.
Cheap VPS Hosting here or budget conscious Free cPanel hosting here. Buy BTC the safe and easy way at Localbitcoins.com (US and UK).
 "I'm no longer as confident as I was this morning." - xkeyscore89.  My Addie.cc.
more Free: BTC, LTC, FTC, TIPS, WDC, EAC & IFC
ownage18
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35


View Profile
February 28, 2014, 11:04:17 PM
 #4

i've dug deeper and saw that this card doesn't support opencl. it's old as time  Cheesy .

ownage18
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35


View Profile
March 01, 2014, 01:06:07 PM
 #5

For the record . Intel DH 4000 gives me avout 7kh/s on doge and my i5 3rd gen cpu gives about 10kh/s . But I noticed something weird. When I let the cpu run for about 4-5 hours on a pool it gave me 7-8 doge-s and when I let only the GPU mine on the same pool with another worker after 6-7 hours it gave me 0.6 doge-s.

Why is that big difference since the hashes are almoast the same ?

If I buy a video card for mining purposes can I attach it to a laptop through usb , or will it affect the mining ability ?
Ritual
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
March 01, 2014, 02:11:53 PM
 #6

If I buy a video card for mining purposes can I attach it to a laptop through usb , or will it affect the mining ability ?

Nope. Most (all?) new graphics cards are PCIe, and need to be installed internally in a correct slot. Your (generally?) can't upgrade a laptop in this manner.

Rit.

Newbie oriented mining site - http://cryptoexperiment.wordpress.com/ --- Free BTC - http://freebitco.in/?r=231531
ownage18
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35


View Profile
March 01, 2014, 02:18:48 PM
 #7

Thanks , i'll look into the pci express cards. So it's not worth even connecting a graphics card to a usb 3.0 ? I know the 3.0 is much slower than the pcie but just wondering.

And for the first question , why is there such a difference in productivity in cpu vs gpu when they have the same hash rate ?
Ritual
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
March 01, 2014, 02:41:27 PM
 #8

Sorry to clarify - you actually CANNOT (at least by any method I know) connect a graphics card via USB. The bus is too slow and too narrow to allow for it. It's not a case of trying it to see if it might do some mining - it's a case of being impossible.

If you are interested in investing a few quid in a mining setup, then buy a cheap motherboard, processor, ram and HDD, and 1 decent graphics card plus a decent PSU. The cost of the base bits should not be large, and you don't need to bother with niceties like a case. You can add cards onto this base rig if you feel like expanding your operation, and your laptop is still yours to use for leisure.

Check this out, and note that you don't have to go the whole hog all at once: http://www.cryptobadger.com/build-your-own-litecoin-mining-rig/

I'd also direct you to my own blog, which is linked in my sig, but please bear in mind that it has not been updated in about 3 weeks due to a busy RL. (Although that will change from Monday and it'll start getting content again Smiley )

As to your first question, it's not easy to answer without a bit more info, but I would suspect that it's a rejected share issue.

Ritual.

Newbie oriented mining site - http://cryptoexperiment.wordpress.com/ --- Free BTC - http://freebitco.in/?r=231531
ownage18
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35


View Profile
March 01, 2014, 03:28:00 PM
 #9

Thanks for the info. I'll be looking at the links you gave me .
clubminer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392


Let's get rich together


View Profile
March 01, 2014, 07:36:03 PM
 #10

mining with GPU unusable for this time.  Shocked

Ritual
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
March 01, 2014, 07:38:50 PM
 #11

mining with GPU unusable for this time.  Shocked

I have no idea what this means.

If you mean that GPU mining is unviable or unprofitable, you are incorrect sir.

If you mean the OPs particular GPU, then you are completely right, but he's been asking about upgrades Smiley

Rit.

Newbie oriented mining site - http://cryptoexperiment.wordpress.com/ --- Free BTC - http://freebitco.in/?r=231531
Flashman
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518


Hodl!


View Profile
March 01, 2014, 08:07:38 PM
 #12

For mining you need at least a HD4xxx series Radeon upwards, though the HD4xxx are pretty useless these days, and you really only want to consider HD:- 5850, 5870, 6850, 6870, 6950, 6950, 6990, 7850, 7870, 7950, 7970, 7990, and R280 upwards from newest line.

If you have seen a picture of a GPU card connected to a laptop it was likely one with an internal mini PCIe, with an adapter run out on a PCIe extender to the fullsize card, run off a separate PSU, ... yes it's "possible" to do this, but not easy.

The age of mining bitcoin, SHA256 coins, with a GPU has passed however, and they will make mere bitcents a year now on bitcoin directly, mining "scrypt" based altcoins is still viable however.

TL;DR See Spot run. Run Spot run. .... .... Freelance interweb comedian, for teh lulz >>> 1MqAAR4XkJWfDt367hVTv5SstPZ54Fwse6

Bitcoin Custodian: Keeping BTC away from weak heads since Feb '13, adopter of homeless bitcoins.
ownage18
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35


View Profile
March 01, 2014, 08:22:28 PM
 #13

I am aiming for the scrypt coins but doing as much research as I can before investing.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!