Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 08:23:25 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: GPUminer now with added files for less technical users.  (Read 1352 times)
Akarbb
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile WWW
March 26, 2011, 11:26:55 PM
 #1

I'm uploading a .zip that I made by using the poclbm GPU miner.  It includes the standard file, with all rights and credit to that files creator whose name escapes me right now.  But I included a preconfigured bitcoin.conf file as well as batch files to start the bitcoin client in server mode and to start the poclbm client for solo mining.  I added a readme file explaining how to do everything!

Feedback is appreciated Smiley

http://rapidshare.com/files/454552832/poclbmsolo.zip

Feel free to send a coin or two my way: 1MBruH4RuU4aZGb7kUHXC1EmKxerzCrwpv
Check out my my blog, The Daily Bitcoin
Follow me @thedailybitcoin on Twitter for updates
1481185405
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481185405

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481185405
Reply with quote  #2

1481185405
Report to moderator
1481185405
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481185405

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481185405
Reply with quote  #2

1481185405
Report to moderator
1481185405
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481185405

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481185405
Reply with quote  #2

1481185405
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
LMGTFY
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644



View Profile
March 26, 2011, 11:35:27 PM
 #2

I'm uploading a .zip that I made by using the poclbm GPU miner.  It includes the standard file, with all rights and credit to that files creator whose name escapes me right now.  But I included a preconfigured bitcoin.conf file as well as batch files to start the bitcoin client in server mode and to start the poclbm client for solo mining.  I added a readme file explaining how to do everything!

Feedback is appreciated Smiley

http://rapidshare.com/files/454552832/poclbmsolo.zip
I'd suggest moving the "change your default username and password" sentence from the end to just after you discuss dragging and dropping bitcoin.conf - too easy for a lazy user to miss it, otherwise... :-)

What would be really cool would be a bit of auto-magic config so that a user can run a script, enter their username and password, and bitcoin.conf etc gets updated with the username/password they entered.

Beyond that, I'm not on Windows so can't really test further but it looks sound and anything to make life easier has to be good.

This space intentionally left blank.
Akarbb
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile WWW
March 26, 2011, 11:41:37 PM
 #3

I will most likely change that.  By default though, if the file paths are correct, the batch files will work without any changes after they drag and drop the .conf file.  As for an autoscript, I'll look into it, I have a few programming buddies that might be willing to help.

Feel free to send a coin or two my way: 1MBruH4RuU4aZGb7kUHXC1EmKxerzCrwpv
Check out my my blog, The Daily Bitcoin
Follow me @thedailybitcoin on Twitter for updates
LMGTFY
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644



View Profile
March 26, 2011, 11:47:55 PM
 #4

I will most likely change that.  By default though, if the file paths are correct, the batch files will work without any changes after they drag and drop the .conf file.  As for an autoscript, I'll look into it, I have a few programming buddies that might be willing to help.
I assumed things would work, but I also think it's essential that default passwords get changed - otherwise it's too easy to harvest IP addresses and then try connecting with YOURUSERNAME and YOURPASSWORD. Easy to use is good, but easy to crack isn't :-)

This space intentionally left blank.
grue
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932



View Profile
March 26, 2011, 11:49:26 PM
 #5

I will most likely change that.  By default though, if the file paths are correct, the batch files will work without any changes after they drag and drop the .conf file.  As for an autoscript, I'll look into it, I have a few programming buddies that might be willing to help.
I assumed things would work, but I also think it's essential that default passwords get changed - otherwise it's too easy to harvest IP addresses and then try connecting with YOURUSERNAME and YOURPASSWORD. Easy to use is good, but easy to crack isn't :-)
that would require the RPC port to be forwarded, which is rare.

It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue.

Tired of annoying signature ads? Ad block for signatures
LMGTFY
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644



View Profile
March 26, 2011, 11:52:45 PM
 #6

I will most likely change that.  By default though, if the file paths are correct, the batch files will work without any changes after they drag and drop the .conf file.  As for an autoscript, I'll look into it, I have a few programming buddies that might be willing to help.
I assumed things would work, but I also think it's essential that default passwords get changed - otherwise it's too easy to harvest IP addresses and then try connecting with YOURUSERNAME and YOURPASSWORD. Easy to use is good, but easy to crack isn't :-)
that would require the RPC port to be forwarded, which is rare.
Assuming that the client was behind a properly configured router, yes. This isn't going to be an issue for all users, but ideally it wouldn't be an issue for any users.

This space intentionally left blank.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!