Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 06:18:37 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Mining with gpu + cpu - results in low Mhash/sec rate  (Read 1281 times)
pengoau
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 208


View Profile
October 26, 2011, 11:45:51 PM
 #1

G'day

I'm using guiminer and when I set it up with 2 workers, one for gpu one for cpu it results in crap work rate.

With just the gpu worker I am getting about 195Mhash/sec (ATI 5770) adding and additional CPU worker, results in the work rate dropping significantly to liek 25Mhash/sec. Why is this the case?

Thanks

1480832317
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480832317

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480832317
Reply with quote  #2

1480832317
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480832317
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480832317

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480832317
Reply with quote  #2

1480832317
Report to moderator
strictlyfocused
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 55


View Profile
October 27, 2011, 12:05:42 AM
 #2

If your CPU is pegged it cant supply the GPU with anything to process. The CPU is used to feed the GPU. Unless you get your electricity for free CPU mining is a complete and total waste.

If you're set on CPU mining look at the ufasoft CPU miner and set the number of cores to be slightly lower than your actual core count. i.e. 8 core cpu set to mine on 6 cores.
pengoau
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 208


View Profile
October 27, 2011, 01:16:06 AM
 #3

logic was to try and maximise use of the hardware in the pc to mine so using both cpu and gpu. thanks for the heads up will stick to gpu.

worldinacoin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658



View Profile WWW
October 27, 2011, 06:01:08 AM
 #4

Use GPU mining when you are working on the computer, that should not affect much.  When the computer is free, maybe assign that GPU to one core, run CPU mining on the other cores.  I have been doing that.  For eg for 6 core, I put my 3 GPU in one core, I mine with 4 core, leaving a spare core. 
racerguy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 271


View Profile
October 27, 2011, 04:53:09 PM
 #5

Mine on the cpu with idle or lowest priority, this works for me mining ltc's and btc's with my gpu.  Another thing you can do is leave 1 cpu thread free to feed your gpu.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!