Bitcoin Forum
October 16, 2018, 09:26:27 AM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Overclock Antminer S9, T9+ Bmminer - Deploy Tool and access to set freq, volt, Fan Disable  (Read 187 times)
alex1560
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39
Merit: 12


View Profile
October 02, 2018, 08:10:53 PM
Merited by frodocooper (5), offordscott (1)
 #1

Hey guys,

I have decided to make our deploy tool available, as many asked for a complied bmminer after I did the video on how to compile it from bitmain git source.

There's no dev fees, the only limitation is that you can deploy to 10 machines at the time using the tool. We plan making a full version available
for sale in case there will be more users requesting it.

Let me know what kind of features would be helpful for such a tool, I included the things I needed in our production environment and deploying to
other clients, but there might be interesting suggestions from others which I would like to hear.

Here's the tool: http://torrent-miner.com/tools/bmminer-deploy-demo.zip

The features:
1. IP list with machines to deploy to
2. No other scp / ssh needed, the miner will reboot automatically after deploy
3. It keeps settings on the bmminer.conf, including pool and username (useful when you deploy to machines in a working environment)
4. You have a bmminer.conf template where you can modify default settings like voltage and freq to be automatically set on all machines
5. Shows in console which machines were successfully deployed and which failed to connect to
6. In the interface you can disable fan check, this is helpful for those which are using alternative cooling.

I also managed to build the bmminer for Antminer T9+ and I will be releasing that soon as well.

Good luck!

Alex
1539681987
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539681987

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539681987
Reply with quote  #2

1539681987
Report to moderator
1539681987
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539681987

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539681987
Reply with quote  #2

1539681987
Report to moderator
1539681987
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539681987

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539681987
Reply with quote  #2

1539681987
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1539681987
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539681987

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539681987
Reply with quote  #2

1539681987
Report to moderator
thierry4wd
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31
Merit: 21


View Profile
October 02, 2018, 09:46:17 PM
 #2

Hi, that makes me look nice! I nevertheless "find" a problem, in the "set-miner-config" ...

Code:
cp /www/pages/cgi-bin/minerConfiguration2.cgi /www/pages/cgi-bin/minerConfiguration.cgi -f

This will just erase the new configuration page once "apply" ... a simple oversight?

As far as I'm concerned, I'm looking forward to the Bmminer for T9 + because it's actually exactly what I'm working on now, because of the decreasing voltage variant with freq, I'm limited to 12.5Ths stable in overclock (1400W at wall).
alex1560
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39
Merit: 12


View Profile
October 02, 2018, 09:52:35 PM
 #3

Hi,

It's just one minerConfiguration.cgi in the package because there are 2 files the same, but with different name. I replace both files on the miner.

For T9+, I tested and foltage setting works fine. I set it to 675 mhz and 920 mv for now to see how it holds. I think 930 or 940 is the hardware limit set on the pic as well as on the s9.

Will post an update to this thread when it's live.
thierry4wd
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31
Merit: 21


View Profile
October 02, 2018, 10:16:13 PM
 #4

What conssomation?

my T9 + test indicates

Code:
Fix freq = 643 Chain [1] voltage_pic = 28 value = 820
Fix freq = 643 Chain [2] voltage_pic = 28 value = 820
Fix freq = 643 Chain [8] voltage_pic = 28 value = 820

perfectly stable at 7.9Ths and 0.0003% hw (only 2 hashboard) and 920W
dutchlincoln
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 238
Merit: 27


View Profile
October 03, 2018, 07:59:51 AM
 #5

looking great!
is the T9 available yet? cat it oc as well to 14TH?
alex1560
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39
Merit: 12


View Profile
October 03, 2018, 01:02:30 PM
 #6

looking great!
is the T9 available yet? cat it oc as well to 14TH?

Hi, I am still running stability tests of the bmminer, I don't think running at 14 TH/s will be ok for T9+ with regular cooling, so far I run it for 2 days on 12.3 TH/s with a freq of 675 . With 675 MHz it stays at 83 Chip temp, which is resonable.

I did not do any consuming tests, as this is not usually my thing to do, the clients tune their machine by their environment, hashing rate required, wattage etc.

I will post an upgrade soon which will include T9+ firmware and a config to switch between which miner you want to deploy.
digital$
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 185
Merit: 10


View Profile
October 03, 2018, 05:11:58 PM
 #7

Hi, I am still running stability tests of the bmminer, I don't think running at 14 TH/s will be ok for T9+ with regular cooling, so far I run it for 2 days on 12.3 TH/s with a freq of 675 . With 675 MHz it stays at 83 Chip temp, which is resonable.

I did not do any consuming tests, as this is not usually my thing to do, the clients tune their machine by their environment, hashing rate required, wattage etc.

I will post an upgrade soon which will include T9+ firmware and a config to switch between which miner you want to deploy.

very nice...thanks for your contribution to mining community!
thierry4wd
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31
Merit: 21


View Profile
October 03, 2018, 08:19:45 PM
 #8

My experiance on 2 x T9 + is:

675Mhz - 810Mv (display in kernel log) and about 12.4 Ths for 1400W at maturity

Strongly your Bmminer that I can adjust the voltage! because to mount the Freq does not give good result because the card hash moin quickly ...

https://nsa39.casimages.com/img/2018/10/03/181003103711543667.jpg
alex1560
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39
Merit: 12


View Profile
October 03, 2018, 11:38:41 PM
Merited by frodocooper (2)
 #9

My experiance on 2 x T9 + is:

675Mhz - 810Mv (display in kernel log) and about 12.4 Ths for 1400W at maturity

Strongly your Bmminer that I can adjust the voltage! because to mount the Freq does not give good result because the card hash moin quickly ...

https://nsa39.casimages.com/img/2018/10/03/181003103711543667.jpg

Hi,

I finished testing today bmminer for T9+ and it runs stable for 3 days without issues, I tested with 675 Freq and 920 mv, had 12.3 TH/s. I did not had time to measure power, but is not much
I can do in the bmminer anyway, this is tweaking of voltage per frequency ratio. If you have the chance to test it, would be great to post the results here as well.

I updated the deploy tool and contains now a setting to switch between bmminer for T9 and S9.

One thing to be careful, is to make sure you deploy for the right machine, the bmminer from the S9 has a different firmware version for the pic which controls voltage on the board
and it can make the firmware of the pic rewriten and fail to boot up. It can be fixed by rewriting the PIC software from a working board, but it's easier to be careful in the first place.

In the future I might add this check for machine version in the deployment tool to autodetect the miner, that will allow deploying on mixed ip list.

Here's the download link:
http://torrent-miner.com/tools/bmminer-deploy-S9-T9+.zip

Again, no dev fees, I will update this thread in case I change my mind in this matter, for now I am still making my mind if I should ask money for bmminer or for deployment tools, some feedback would be greately
apprecciated! We need to get some cash support as well to keep adding new features, but I want to make sure that the stuff we release is helpful for others as well and that we develop in the right direction.

I saw a lot of versions on the forum changing config files, installing .sh scripts on the miner, running online 3rd party miner management interface, so I am not sure what users really want. This would be
an interesting quizz I guess.

Good luck! Smiley

Alex
offordscott
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 104
Merit: 4


View Profile
October 04, 2018, 11:12:45 AM
 #10

Alex, thanks for providing this to the BTC Talk community.
alex1560
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39
Merit: 12


View Profile
October 04, 2018, 11:48:43 AM
 #11

Alex, thanks for providing this to the BTC Talk community.

Hi, You are welcome! let me know if you find any problems while using it.
thierry4wd
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31
Merit: 21


View Profile
October 04, 2018, 02:41:30 PM
 #12

Great! so, if I understand correctly, can not change the voltage via this BMMINER for T9 + but only the ratio "voltage / freq" has been changed?

in addition, your BMMINER for T9 + thus brings the freq control, and the deactivation of the fan check?

I'm just going to take the BMMINER and the configuration page and test all that to see how it's done;)
thierry4wd
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31
Merit: 21


View Profile
October 04, 2018, 05:00:23 PM
 #13

I tested this for T9+!!! but ... i'm sorry, big problem, PIC SW error see :

Code:
Miner Type = T9+
set_reset_allhashboard = 0x0000ffff
set_reset_allhashboard = 0x00000000
set_reset_allhashboard = 0x0000ffff
set_reset_allhashboard = 0x0000ffff
chain[2] PIC jump to app
Check chain[2] PIC fw version=0x03
chain[2] PIC need restore ...
dsPIC33EP16GS202_get_pic_sw_version failed on Chain[2]!
dsPIC33EP16GS202_get_pic_sw_version failed on Chain[2]!
dsPIC33EP16GS202_get_pic_sw_version failed on Chain[2]!
After restore: chain[2] PIC fw version=0xff
chain[2] PIC need restore ...
dsPIC33EP16GS202_get_pic_sw_version failed on Chain[2]!
dsPIC33EP16GS202_get_pic_sw_version failed on Chain[2]!
dsPIC33EP16GS202_get_pic_sw_version failed on Chain[2]!
After restore: chain[2] PIC fw version=0xff
Chain[J3] will use voltage=930 [1] to open core
set_Voltage_S9_plus_plus_BM1387_54 failed on Chain[2]!

set_Voltage_S9_plus_plus_BM1387_54 failed on Chain[2]!

set_Voltage_S9_plus_plus_BM1387_54 failed on Chain[2]!

Chain[J11] will use voltage=930 [1] to open core
Chain[J12] will use voltage=930 [1] to open core
Fix freq=675 custom_voltage_value=870 custom_voltage_enabled=1 disable_fan_check=0 fixed_frequency=1
Fix freq=675 Chain[2] voltage_pic=11 value=870
 voltage_config=7792282
Fix freq=675 Chain[10] voltage_pic=11 value=870
 voltage_config=7792282
Fix freq=675 Chain[11] voltage_pic=11 value=870
 voltage_config=7792282
dsPIC33EP16GS202_enable_pic_dc_dc failed on Chain[2]!
dsPIC33EP16GS202_enable_pic_dc_dc failed on Chain[2]!
dsPIC33EP16GS202_enable_pic_dc_dc failed on Chain[2]!
set_reset_allhashboard = 0x0000ffff
set_reset_allhashboard = 0x00000000
Chain[J3] has 0 asic
Chain[J11] has 0 asic
Chain[J12] has 0 asic
miner total rate=0GH/s fixed rate=0GH/s

i restored my board with my PicKit3
alex1560
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39
Merit: 12


View Profile
October 04, 2018, 06:36:52 PM
 #14

I tested this for T9+!!! but ... i'm sorry, big problem, PIC SW error see :

[...]

i restored my board with my PicKit3

Hi,

It seems that you did not read nor the post nor the read me file. You deployed with the config left for S9.

I plan to add a check for the miner version and choose bmminer automatically, but I will implement that when I have some free time.

For now you open config.txt and for minerversion type T9+



Great! so, if I understand correctly, can not change the voltage via this BMMINER for T9 + but only the ratio "voltage / freq" has been changed?

in addition, your BMMINER for T9 + thus brings the freq control, and the deactivation of the fan check?

I'm just going to take the BMMINER and the configuration page and test all that to see how it's done;)

Hi, no, you can change voltage and freq independently, you just need to be more careful with the readme files delivered with this kind of scripts.

Good luck!
thierry4wd
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31
Merit: 21


View Profile
October 04, 2018, 06:57:11 PM
 #15

Thank you I know lol I'm not at my test shot on the minor, I'm also in hardware! Wink

on your tweak, i did not run the "bmminer-deploy.exe" but i just copy the "bmminer-t9 +" and "minerconfiguration" on my minor, i got the config page, i take 700mhz and 870mv ...

But that did not work, I took care not to use the bmminer-S9 but beautiful and well the T9 + bmminer;)
alex1560
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39
Merit: 12


View Profile
October 04, 2018, 07:04:49 PM
 #16

Thank you I know lol I'm not at my test shot on the minor, I'm also in hardware! Wink

on your tweak, i did not run the "bmminer-deploy.exe" but i just copy the "bmminer-t9 +" and "minerconfiguration" on my minor, i got the config page, i take 700mhz and 870mv ...

But that did not work, I took care not to use the bmminer-S9 but beautiful and well the T9 + bmminer;)

not sure what to say, I did that tool to avoid doing this kind of support because there are some steps which must be followed when copying these files, permissions set etc.

Someone on my discord channel got it overclocked to 13.7 using same files, also had issues before using the deploy tool.

The guy on discord used 750 frequency, but temp was 100 deg, a bit to much I would say. Let me know if you manage to do it, I am sure you would find a way eventually if you don't
want to use my tool.
thierry4wd
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31
Merit: 21


View Profile
October 04, 2018, 07:09:00 PM
 #17

it's more than 3 months that my T9 + turn at about 12.5Ths without problem, I had tweak this minor since long time: p

so I prayed the Bmminer T9 + that I copy on my minor, I also gave him the right to know rwxr-xr-x ...

I do not see where the mistake is ... anyway it is absolutely necessary to execute your deployer? Did I miss something ?

I must recognize that the possibility of changing the tension of your bmminer greatly interests me: p
alex1560
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39
Merit: 12


View Profile
October 04, 2018, 07:17:49 PM
 #18

it's more than 3 months that my T9 + turn at about 12.5Ths without problem, I had tweak this minor since long time: p

so I prayed the Bmminer T9 + that I copy on my minor, I also gave him the right to know rwxr-xr-x ...

I do not see where the mistake is ... anyway it is absolutely necessary to execute your deployer? Did I miss something ?

I must recognize that the possibility of changing the tension of your bmminer greatly interests me: p

Do a search on youtube for my video where I show to build the bmminer and how to install it, I am not sure if I am allowed to post
youtube links on this forum, but you should be able to find it easy enough. The tool was made for mass deploy, so for 1 machine I guess is not
really needed if you know what you are doing. It's helpful to learn anyway what needs to be done. I guess you renamed bmminer_t9+ to bmminer .

Also, you can try with one board if you are unsure of your results, maybe you have a different T9+ miner, who knows.
thierry4wd
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31
Merit: 21


View Profile
October 04, 2018, 07:22:52 PM
 #19

yes;) it's already what I did:

Before i connection only hashboard for test

1 - remove original Bmminer
2 - copy Bmminer-T9 +
3 - rename to bmminer
3 - Attribution of the right attribute
4 - replace minerConfiguration.cgi
5 - delete from minerConfiguration2.cgi (if in doubt)
6 - in page configuration, modified the value and apply

and after you know more ...
alex1560
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39
Merit: 12


View Profile
October 04, 2018, 08:25:46 PM
 #20

yes;) it's already what I did:

Before i connection only hashboard for test

1 - remove original Bmminer
2 - copy Bmminer-T9 +
3 - rename to bmminer
3 - Attribution of the right attribute
4 - replace minerConfiguration.cgi
5 - delete from minerConfiguration2.cgi (if in doubt)
6 - in page configuration, modified the value and apply

and after you know more ...

In my newer version I added a set_miner_conf.cgi to setup the extra veriables I added to turn off or on voltage setting, that must be added otherwise it will not write properly the config file.

There are some files which you did not copy/set. I am not going over the entire logic of the tool, as the purpose is not to teach others to program or how to make their own tools for this.

This bmminer file is made to include new interface variables. If you want your own bmminer, stripped of the interface stuff, you can use the video to build a bmminer and set things inside bmminer
then build every time you want to change a value.

Hope it makes sense. Spend a little more time with this if you want to do it your own way then in 1-2 days can post your solution, we are crowding this topic already.
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!