Bitcoin Forum
July 23, 2017, 10:58:49 AM *
News: Due to BIP91, it would starting now be prudent to require 5 times more confirmations than usual before trusting transactions.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Going to switch the BIOS switch to 1 on my 6990  (Read 859 times)
mackminer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 340



View Profile
October 31, 2011, 02:31:05 PM
 #1

Exciting - any advice?

Should I mess around with the voltage on the 0 setting first within cgminer (linuxcoin) ?

1tpXGRKnzaM42B1A1NZhmsX3tngwkqVEf
1500807529
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1500807529

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1500807529
Reply with quote  #2

1500807529
Report to moderator
1500807529
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1500807529

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1500807529
Reply with quote  #2

1500807529
Report to moderator
1500807529
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1500807529

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1500807529
Reply with quote  #2

1500807529
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
October 31, 2011, 02:47:42 PM
 #2

You should already have a kill-a-watt and measured load of your system at the wall. 
Estimate ~20% higher load.  Make sure current PS can handle that.
Flip the switch.  It will bump voltage up 5% from 1.12 to 1.175.  "Stock" clock will be 880 instead of 830.

Fire up your miner.  I would try one card first, and then all the cards in the rig.  Make sure they are solid.  Give it a couple days before trying your other rigs.  You can adjust voltage, memory, clock with software just like any other card.

Remember power doesn't increase linearly.  You may find it more profitable to run at stock.  You will generate less revenue but after electrical (and possibly AC) costs you may come out ahead.

This is why it is important to get solid measurement w/ kill-a-watt on ACTUAL (not guestimated) loads.  You then can compare various voltage,clock settings to get your NET PROFITS which is the only thing that matters.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!