Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 11:09:37 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Going to switch the BIOS switch to 1 on my 6990  (Read 829 times)
mackminer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 335



View Profile
October 31, 2011, 02:31:05 PM
 #1

Exciting - any advice?

Should I mess around with the voltage on the 0 setting first within cgminer (linuxcoin) ?

1tpXGRKnzaM42B1A1NZhmsX3tngwkqVEf
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481368177
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481368177

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481368177
Reply with quote  #2

1481368177
Report to moderator
1481368177
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481368177

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481368177
Reply with quote  #2

1481368177
Report to moderator
1481368177
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481368177

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481368177
Reply with quote  #2

1481368177
Report to moderator
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
October 31, 2011, 02:47:42 PM
 #2

You should already have a kill-a-watt and measured load of your system at the wall. 
Estimate ~20% higher load.  Make sure current PS can handle that.
Flip the switch.  It will bump voltage up 5% from 1.12 to 1.175.  "Stock" clock will be 880 instead of 830.

Fire up your miner.  I would try one card first, and then all the cards in the rig.  Make sure they are solid.  Give it a couple days before trying your other rigs.  You can adjust voltage, memory, clock with software just like any other card.

Remember power doesn't increase linearly.  You may find it more profitable to run at stock.  You will generate less revenue but after electrical (and possibly AC) costs you may come out ahead.

This is why it is important to get solid measurement w/ kill-a-watt on ACTUAL (not guestimated) loads.  You then can compare various voltage,clock settings to get your NET PROFITS which is the only thing that matters.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!