Bitcoin Forum
January 16, 2019, 09:34:30 PM *
News: The copper membership price will increase by about 300% around Friday.
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: adjust block chain memory usage  (Read 83 times)
phillip1882
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 41
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 06, 2018, 12:24:21 PM
 #1

how can i adjust   bitcoin memory use age, i don't want more than 5 days worth of blockchain data.
1547674470
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1547674470

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1547674470
Reply with quote  #2

1547674470
Report to moderator
1547674470
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1547674470

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1547674470
Reply with quote  #2

1547674470
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1547674470
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1547674470

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1547674470
Reply with quote  #2

1547674470
Report to moderator
1547674470
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1547674470

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1547674470
Reply with quote  #2

1547674470
Report to moderator
AdolfinWolf
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924
Merit: 711


🐸📣📣📣 FORSAAAAN!


View Profile
October 06, 2018, 12:31:25 PM
Last edit: October 06, 2018, 12:47:06 PM by AdolfinWolf
Merited by Jet Cash (2)
 #2

how can i adjust   bitcoin memory use age, i don't want more than 5 days worth of blockchain data.

If i'm understanding your question correctly, what you're looking for is pruning?

There's several guides online which show you exactly how to do this.


See https://bitcoin.stackexchange.com/questions/37496/how-can-i-run-bitcoind-in-pruning-mode

Quote
-prune= Reduce storage requirements by enabling pruning (deleting) of old blocks. This allows the pruneblockchain RPC to be called to delete specific blocks, and enables automatic pruning of old blocks if a target size in MiB is provided. This mode is incompatible with -txindex and -rescan. Warning: Reverting this setting requires re-downloading the entire blockchain. (default: 0 = disable pruning blocks, 1 = allow manual pruning via RPC, 550 = automatically prune block files to stay under the specified target size in MiB)

Or alternatively follow something like https://coinguides.org/bitcoin-blockchain-pruning/

Do note that you still will have to download/verify the entire chain (140+ GB of data)

The blockchain size 5/6 days ago was roughly 184.487 MB, vs 185.128mb now. I guess you should be able to calculate rather easily how much MB you'll need to allocate to save only the last 5 days.

Code:
185.128 - 184.487  =~ 641 MB
Source; https://www.blockchain.com/charts/blocks-size

phillip1882
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 41
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 08, 2018, 06:47:04 PM
 #3

i set pruning so that no more than a gigabyte is used, but it doesn't seem to be working bitcoin is still using a large amount of data. any suggestions?

bob123
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798
Merit: 805



View Profile WWW
October 09, 2018, 07:48:11 AM
 #4

Are you concerned about your local storage or the data it needs to transmit via your network ?

Pruning limits the space core will take on your hard drive. But all blocks still have to be downloaded and verified by your node.
Core just won't keep more blocks (in Mb) than set when using prune=N.

mocacinno
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1327


https://unblur.ninja =>lightning network testsite


View Profile WWW
October 09, 2018, 07:51:27 AM
Merited by Jet Cash (2)
 #5

I don't really get your question either, like others have asked before:
  • Are you worried about running out of diskspace
  • Are you worried about the amount of data that is being transferred (does your ISP have a data limit?)
  • Are you worried about the amount of memory that's being used while running bitcoin core?

Anyways, i'd say that pointing you towards an SPV wallet would be the best course of action...

I'd like to recommand either a hardware wallet (in case you have a lot of funds invested in crypto) or electrum (https://electrum.org/#home)

An SPV wallet only downloads the block headers, the wallet only keeps the xprv and the metadata you added... I haven't run electrum in a while, but i guess the total diskpace used by the binary, the wallet and the headers is <100Mb (confirmation needed).

Also, the amount of data transfered is small, and the memory footprint is a lot smaller than bitcoin core.

The downside is that you won't be verifying the blocks yourself, and you need to be connected to a thirth party electrum server...

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Bitcointalk.org is not available or authorized for sale. Do not believe any fake listings.
Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!