Bitcoin Forum
June 26, 2019, 01:16:24 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.0 [Torrent] (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Antminer through a VPN  (Read 135 times)
KEBKR
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24
Merit: 4


View Profile
October 24, 2018, 01:01:52 AM
 #1

Hi.  The mining pool I was using has been blocked by my ISP.  I tried buying a USB to Ethernet adapter and bridges the connection with the existing connection and then connected to a VPN.  While webpages seem to be shielded the miner still won’t connect to the pool.  It’s connects fine to an alternate pool however. It’s also not the pool itself as a family member has miners in another location connecting to the same pool fine. Any suggestions would be great. I’m mining on an Antminer S9i.
1561554984
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1561554984

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1561554984
Reply with quote  #2

1561554984
Report to moderator

Mine RVN and with 0% mining fees and get paid in BTC, ETH, XMR or RVN.

www.cudominer.com Get Cudo Miner
Auto coin switching, third-party miners, overclocking and remote management (Win/Linux)
Run from a USB stick or install from an ISO image (Linux)
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1561554984
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1561554984

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1561554984
Reply with quote  #2

1561554984
Report to moderator
1561554984
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1561554984

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1561554984
Reply with quote  #2

1561554984
Report to moderator
ccgllc
Copper Member
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 92

Math doesn't care what you believe.


View Profile WWW
October 24, 2018, 01:47:34 AM
Merited by Steamtyme (1)
 #2

Switch pools.  I run on Kano.is... great group of people.  We have really been helping each other through these latest firmware updates.

Mined for a living since 2017.  Primary developer of Bitcoin Rebooted (https://www.bitcoin-rebooted.xyz)
Blokforge Affiliate:  https://blokforge.com/?ref=21
Linux admin since 0.96 kernel and Slackware distributions on (4) floppies...
BitMaxz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1194


Beware on fake trezor website from google ads.


View Profile WWW
October 24, 2018, 04:12:14 PM
Last edit: October 25, 2018, 04:22:08 PM by BitMaxz
Merited by bones261 (2)
 #3

I experienced this before but after I change my DNS to OpenDNS it solved my issue. If you can access your ISP just change your DNS to 208.67.222.222 and 208.67.220.220
or you can try the google DNS 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4.

If it doesn't work to you switching pool might solve this issue like the suggested above.

Stryfe
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 294
Merit: 57

Mopar Mining, LLC


View Profile WWW
October 25, 2018, 12:58:24 PM
 #4

I also would suggest another pool then. Kano.is is a good one!

Happily mining at https://www.kano.is
Mopar Mining, LLC - small Bitcoin and altcoin farm - working on expanding!
Offering escrow services https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=5154480
mikeywith
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448
Merit: 949


be constructive or S.T.F.U


View Profile
October 26, 2018, 01:38:45 PM
 #5

I experienced this before but after I change my DNS to OpenDNS it solved my issue. If you can access your ISP just change your DNS to 208.67.222.222 and 208.67.220.220
or you can try the google DNS 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4.

If it doesn't work to you switching pool might solve this issue like the suggested above.

changing the DNS will probably solve most blocking issues whether it is mining or something else. i assume most people will do this on a router scale, meaning that whole LAN will be using that DNS, which is pretty risky if you are accessing any type of online wallet, be it on your mobile or a pc. using a public DNS is associated with great risks, tons of coins have been stolen from people who use a public DNS.

read here > https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=3458297.msg35990380#msg35990380

so what you should do is change the dns ONLY on the miner itself from the network tab.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!