Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2016, 10:27:26 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 6950/6970 owners what settings do you use for mining?!  (Read 2469 times)
pengoau
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 208


View Profile
November 02, 2011, 12:25:30 AM
 #1

Hey

I just upgraded from a 5770 to a 6950 (unlocked to 6970 shaders), I'm getting atm an avg of 400Mhash/sec.

GPU isn't o/c that much only to 885 and stock 6970 mem speeds.  Using -f1 -w128 on the miner.

What miner, settings etc are you using and what mining rate are you getting?

Cheers

ps - not a e-penis measuring contest, just interested in seeing what settings others are using to see if I can improve. Thanks

1481020046
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481020046

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481020046
Reply with quote  #2

1481020046
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
RyNinDaCleM
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Legen -wait for it- dary


View Profile
November 02, 2011, 04:49:49 AM
 #2

XFX6950 shader only mod
CGminer 
Intensity 8

Clocks @ 935/1000/1.1v

425Mh/s

jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
November 02, 2011, 05:31:25 PM
 #3

ASUS EAH6950 DCII

GPU clock / mem clock: 935 MHz / 810 MHz
Enough fan rotation to keep it below 80° celsius (48..52% for single card, up to 65% in a mining rig).

Shadermod not possible (shaders disabled in hardware).
Voltage tweaking not possible (no software I tried was able to change that).
Powertune non functional (driver reports success but neither power draw, temps, or hash rate actually change)

Able to squeeze at least 385 MHash from each of these cards.
Gabi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050


View Profile
November 02, 2011, 06:29:51 PM
 #4

I have a not unlocked 6950

I have it at 840mhz core and memory underclocked to 300mhz.

I use guiminer, with -v -w128. It do like 320mhash/s. If i add -f0 it stay at like 325 but computer is more sluggish.

Electricbees
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322


We are bees, and we hate you.


View Profile
November 02, 2011, 08:14:19 PM
 #5

ASUS EAH6950 DCII

GPU clock / mem clock: 935 MHz / 810 MHz
Enough fan rotation to keep it below 80° celsius (48..52% for single card, up to 65% in a mining rig).

Shadermod not possible (shaders disabled in hardware).
Voltage tweaking not possible (no software I tried was able to change that).
Powertune non functional (driver reports success but neither power draw, temps, or hash rate actually change)

Able to squeeze at least 385 MHash from each of these cards.

Have you tried voltage tweaking in Asus SmartDoctor? I have this same card, and have been able to mess with voltages quite readily.

Donations are welcome!
1BEES19ds5gEnRBoU1qNFPfjRXe94trMG3
jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
November 02, 2011, 09:04:34 PM
 #6

Have you tried voltage tweaking in Asus SmartDoctor? I have this same card, and have been able to mess with voltages quite readily.

While I realize what I'm saying ain't exactly politically correct,
I'm running a serious bitcoin mining operation here, not some windows based bsod-powerhouse Smiley

Thanks anyway Electricbees, you've made a valid point.

Tried messing around with the bios using RBE but nothing good came of that, just a bit of time wasted.
Anyhow, the ASUS it not THAT bad of a 6950... a half decent choice owing to an efficient cooler.


EDIT: Bees, is it the 1GB or 2 GB version that you have? Since a large amount of ram  on a gpu is actually a downside when mining is concerned, I'm guessing the 1GB version?
Electricbees
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322


We are bees, and we hate you.


View Profile
November 02, 2011, 11:41:37 PM
 #7

Have you tried voltage tweaking in Asus SmartDoctor? I have this same card, and have been able to mess with voltages quite readily.

While I realize what I'm saying ain't exactly politically correct,
I'm running a serious bitcoin mining operation here, not some windows based bsod-powerhouse Smiley

Thanks anyway Electricbees, you've made a valid point.

Tried messing around with the bios using RBE but nothing good came of that, just a bit of time wasted.
Anyhow, the ASUS it not THAT bad of a 6950... a half decent choice owing to an efficient cooler.


EDIT: Bees, is it the 1GB or 2 GB version that you have? Since a large amount of ram  on a gpu is actually a downside when mining is concerned, I'm guessing the 1GB version?

I have the 1GB version. I assume the 2GB version performs a bit differently than mine. Funny that you mention, as my mining rigs have been nothing but pain thanks to the Win7 operating system. Pretty universal, I guess? Tongue

I've been using GUIminer for my rigs, which run windows, and have not ventured to any other programs besides poclbm. I can manage about 400MHash/s on the 6950 with the clocks revved up to 980mHz gpu, and mem down to about 780mHz with arguments giving me the best speed overall -v -w128. (I feel this card is sub-quality compared to most Asus 6950's, but that may just be me.) If you aren't using poclbm/gui, this is of no use, I'm sure. But I'm going to keep it relevant and post my two bits. Smiley

Donations are welcome!
1BEES19ds5gEnRBoU1qNFPfjRXe94trMG3
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!