Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 08:42:58 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 6950 poor performance  (Read 1039 times)
psycosis
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
November 02, 2011, 09:15:14 PM
 #1

Hello,

I have a stock 6950 and i am getting only 250mh/s from it.
I have the most uptodate ATI drivers and it will not go up, i was under the impression this should be a lot faster without any changes.

Anyone got any ideas what could be up.

Thanks
1480927378
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480927378

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480927378
Reply with quote  #2

1480927378
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480927378
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480927378

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480927378
Reply with quote  #2

1480927378
Report to moderator
1480927378
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480927378

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480927378
Reply with quote  #2

1480927378
Report to moderator
1480927378
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480927378

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480927378
Reply with quote  #2

1480927378
Report to moderator
jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
November 02, 2011, 09:20:27 PM
 #2

Miner and parameters?
Operating system?
Is it a dedicated rig or your workstation? A web browser running some flash will totally demolish your mining speed.

EDIT: You should be getting at least 310 Mhash out of this thing using any contemporary and well-tuned miner if it's a dedicated mining card.
psycosis
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
November 02, 2011, 10:11:28 PM
 #3

Using Guiminer on windows 7 x64
not using any special params and this is a workstation so i don't want to mess too much.

I noticed Saphire have handly included a switch which already unlocks the shaders. So in this mode its running 800mhz and 1536 shaders. i now get 318.
this is still with the stock settings.

If i use -v -f30 -w128 then i get 352.9mh/s
What exactly are these commands changing?
jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
November 02, 2011, 10:17:40 PM
 #4

318? I'd call it close enough for government job, would you agree? ^^
You might try OC'ing it a bit, just because it's a decent card you got there.

These paramters are used for fine-tuning the miner to your card.
The -w parameter is the work size which can range from 64 to 256. Generally, for a 6950 the optimal value is 128.
-v enables vectors. You DO want to do this.
-f is for tuning the mining aggression (basically, the load on your card); the LOWER walue here, the more aggressive the mining.


FYI, GUIminer is but a frontend - the actual miner (down below the pretty gui) is, in your case, poclbm.
Below you can see the current source code for poclbm, all possible parameters, their default values and meaning are explained there:
https://github.com/m0mchil/poclbm/blob/076f85c63d1ce21c81695eed9b60eb778a0f1ade/poclbm.py

Good luck!

PS. In your first post, you were like "i don't want to mess too much"
      After a while you added the "-v -f30 -w128" string
      Dude, by this rate tomorrow you'll be building a dedicated mining rig Smiley
psycosis
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
November 02, 2011, 10:26:08 PM
 #5

I think its close enough too.
Surprised that without unlocking those shaders the card isn't coming anywhere near the stock figures. i think this is due to the card running a lower cpu speed for some reason. It didn't seem to be running at 800Mhz properly.

Case is on its side due to space, so i will leave it at that.
RyNinDaCleM
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Legen -wait for it- dary


View Profile
November 03, 2011, 01:21:10 AM
 #6

Try running CGminer with -I 8, and leave out the -v -w128. Those are the default settings.

MyZhre
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 194



View Profile
November 03, 2011, 09:59:47 AM
 #7

I got about 390MH/S with GUIMiner/OpenCL, Win7

NXT: 13997163105778396158
portron
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 106


View Profile
November 03, 2011, 02:39:50 PM
 #8

I think its close enough too.
Surprised that without unlocking those shaders the card isn't coming anywhere near the stock figures. i think this is due to the card running a lower cpu speed for some reason. It didn't seem to be running at 800Mhz properly.

Case is on its side due to space, so i will leave it at that.

Just use the ATI CC (the official tool) and up the clock speed a little.  You won't damage your card or anything.  I have a couple 6950's each pull ~375-380.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!