Bitcoin Forum
May 22, 2022, 02:31:48 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 23.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: [Linux] Electrum-3.2.4 is ok but Electrum-3.3.x don't run [RESOLVED]  (Read 184 times)
Sandro kensan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 708
Merit: 506


I support freedom of choice


View Profile WWW
January 29, 2019, 07:01:07 PM
Last edit: February 02, 2019, 10:03:34 AM by Sandro kensan
Merited by bones261 (1)
 #1

I had an old version of Electrum: Electrum-3.1.2 and I upgrade it to the last version but don't run. The last version that is ok for my linux box is: Electrum-3.2.4. This is the error:

Code:
[@localhost Electrum-3.3.0]$ python3 run_electrum                                                                  
  File "run_electrum", line 53                                                                                          
    sys.exit(f"Error: {str(e)}. Try 'sudo python3 -m pip install <module-name>'")                                        
                                                                               ^
SyntaxError: invalid syntax

I'm not a python coder but the code at line 53 is weird, is it correct or my version of python (python3) is not compatible?

The code in 3.2.4 version is this and works fine:
Code:
sys.exit("Error: %s. Try 'sudo pip install <module-name>'"%str(e))

The option "f" before strings in a function argument is not compatible with my python.

Any help o workaround?




NON TENERE MAI I PROPRI BITCOIN DEPOSITATI SUI CONTI DEGLI EXCHANGE - BE YOUR OWN BANK
1653229908
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1653229908

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1653229908
Reply with quote  #2

1653229908
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1653229908
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1653229908

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1653229908
Reply with quote  #2

1653229908
Report to moderator
1653229908
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1653229908

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1653229908
Reply with quote  #2

1653229908
Report to moderator
1653229908
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1653229908

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1653229908
Reply with quote  #2

1653229908
Report to moderator
Abdussamad
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3066
Merit: 1424



View Profile
January 29, 2019, 09:23:30 PM
Merited by Sandro kensan (3), bones261 (2), ETFbitcoin (1)
 #2

You need python 3.6 for 3.3.x branch. If your distro has that then install it otherwise stay with 3.2.4. Note that 3.2.x branch won't receive further updates so you will have to upgrade eventually. See if there's a newer version of your distro  or wait until the electrum appimage is released:

https://github.com/spesmilo/electrum/pull/5042/files
Sandro kensan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 708
Merit: 506


I support freedom of choice


View Profile WWW
January 29, 2019, 09:35:00 PM
 #3

You need python 3.6 for 3.3.x branch. If your distro has that then install it otherwise stay with 3.2.4. Note that 3.2.x branch won't receive further updates so you will have to upgrade eventually. See if there's a newer version of your distro  or wait until the electrum appimage is released:

https://github.com/spesmilo/electrum/pull/5042/files

Tanks very much, your answer explain the incompatibility. My linux box is up to date and It is installed python 3.5.3. I stay with Electrum 3.2.4 until the new packet arrive in my distribution repository. I'll check the update from time to time. I suppose the next python version will be the 3.6.0.

NON TENERE MAI I PROPRI BITCOIN DEPOSITATI SUI CONTI DEGLI EXCHANGE - BE YOUR OWN BANK
ETFbitcoin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2240
Merit: 4356


100% Deposit Match UP TO €5000!


View Profile
January 30, 2019, 06:49:21 PM
 #4

Alternatively you can download Python from source code and build it yourself, there's few simple guides such as https://stackoverflow.com/a/8097241/8604472. But usually there's good reason your distro haven't release newer version, so i won't recommend this option.

or wait until the electrum appimage is released

CMIIW, but AFAIK Electrum never release (or stopped) AppImage of Electrum application and you must download the source code then compile it

P.S. I've checked your link, obviously. But according to https://github.com/spesmilo/electrum/issues/4054, i doubt we'll see AppImage version anytime soon.

jackg
Copper Member
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2478
Merit: 2522


https://bit.ly/387FXHi ← lightning theory


View Profile
January 30, 2019, 07:04:23 PM
 #5

There may be an issue why its not avaliable for that distro yet. @op if you upgrade you may lose a functioning version or python3 in the process, that's fine if you don't use it much though for anything other than electrum.

Sandro kensan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 708
Merit: 506


I support freedom of choice


View Profile WWW
January 30, 2019, 07:15:20 PM
 #6

There may be an issue why its not avaliable for that distro yet. @op if you upgrade you may lose a functioning version or python3 in the process, that's fine if you don't use it much though for anything other than electrum.

Python is widespread used so I cannot upgrade the package without inconvenience.
I could compile python from source and then exec ~/phyton electrum.run but I wait.

NON TENERE MAI I PROPRI BITCOIN DEPOSITATI SUI CONTI DEGLI EXCHANGE - BE YOUR OWN BANK
Artemis3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344
Merit: 1231


CLEAN code made in Rust lang in the Czech Republic


View Profile WWW
January 31, 2019, 12:07:38 PM
 #7

I had an old version of Electrum: Electrum-3.1.2 and I upgrade it to the last version but don't run. The last version that is ok for my linux box is: Electrum-3.2.4.

What is your Linux distro and version?

██████
███████
███████
████████
BRAIINS OS+|AUTOTUNING
MINING FIRMWARE
|
Increase hashrate on your Bitcoin ASICs,
improve efficiency as much as 25%, and
get 0% pool fees on Slush Pool
nc50lc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1694
Merit: 3205


Self-proclaimed Genius ㊙️


View Profile
February 02, 2019, 02:32:23 AM
 #8

What is your Linux distro and version?
Please read the replies before replying, this issue was already resolved, and it's an outdated python version:
Tanks very much, your answer explain the incompatibility. My linux box is up to date and It is installed python 3.5.3. I stay with Electrum 3.2.4 until the new packet arrive in my distribution repository. I'll check the update from time to time.

Why don't users lock their own thread (or/and edit the title) once it was resolved....  Undecided

Sandro kensan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 708
Merit: 506


I support freedom of choice


View Profile WWW
February 02, 2019, 10:06:20 AM
 #9

Why don't users lock their own thread (or/and edit the title) once it was resolved....  Undecided

Yes, sorry. I have edited the title with [RESOLVED]. I hope It is enough.
+Merit to the resolver.

NON TENERE MAI I PROPRI BITCOIN DEPOSITATI SUI CONTI DEGLI EXCHANGE - BE YOUR OWN BANK
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!