Bitcoin Forum
May 22, 2019, 06:08:03 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.0 [Torrent] (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: [Linux] Electrum-3.2.4 is ok but Electrum-3.3.x don't run [RESOLVED]  (Read 125 times)
Sandro kensan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 659
Merit: 501


I support freedom of choice


View Profile WWW
January 29, 2019, 07:01:07 PM
Last edit: February 02, 2019, 10:03:34 AM by Sandro kensan
Merited by bones261 (1)
 #1

I had an old version of Electrum: Electrum-3.1.2 and I upgrade it to the last version but don't run. The last version that is ok for my linux box is: Electrum-3.2.4. This is the error:

Code:
[@localhost Electrum-3.3.0]$ python3 run_electrum                                                                  
  File "run_electrum", line 53                                                                                          
    sys.exit(f"Error: {str(e)}. Try 'sudo python3 -m pip install <module-name>'")                                        
                                                                               ^
SyntaxError: invalid syntax

I'm not a python coder but the code at line 53 is weird, is it correct or my version of python (python3) is not compatible?

The code in 3.2.4 version is this and works fine:
Code:
sys.exit("Error: %s. Try 'sudo pip install <module-name>'"%str(e))

The option "f" before strings in a function argument is not compatible with my python.

Any help o workaround?




NON TENERE MAI I PROPRI BITCOIN DEPOSITATI SUI CONTI DEGLI EXCHANGE - BE YOUR OWN BANK
1558505283
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1558505283

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1558505283
Reply with quote  #2

1558505283
Report to moderator
The Man Behind
Pokémon
&
Yu-Gi-Oh
brands
Collect!
Trade!
Play!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1558505283
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1558505283

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1558505283
Reply with quote  #2

1558505283
Report to moderator
1558505283
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1558505283

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1558505283
Reply with quote  #2

1558505283
Report to moderator
Abdussamad
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2100
Merit: 1147



View Profile WWW
January 29, 2019, 09:23:30 PM
Merited by Sandro kensan (3), bones261 (2), ETFbitcoin (1)
 #2

You need python 3.6 for 3.3.x branch. If your distro has that then install it otherwise stay with 3.2.4. Note that 3.2.x branch won't receive further updates so you will have to upgrade eventually. See if there's a newer version of your distro  or wait until the electrum appimage is released:

https://github.com/spesmilo/electrum/pull/5042/files

Sandro kensan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 659
Merit: 501


I support freedom of choice


View Profile WWW
January 29, 2019, 09:35:00 PM
 #3

You need python 3.6 for 3.3.x branch. If your distro has that then install it otherwise stay with 3.2.4. Note that 3.2.x branch won't receive further updates so you will have to upgrade eventually. See if there's a newer version of your distro  or wait until the electrum appimage is released:

https://github.com/spesmilo/electrum/pull/5042/files

Tanks very much, your answer explain the incompatibility. My linux box is up to date and It is installed python 3.5.3. I stay with Electrum 3.2.4 until the new packet arrive in my distribution repository. I'll check the update from time to time. I suppose the next python version will be the 3.6.0.

NON TENERE MAI I PROPRI BITCOIN DEPOSITATI SUI CONTI DEGLI EXCHANGE - BE YOUR OWN BANK
ETFbitcoin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1638
Merit: 1766

Use SegWit and enjoy lower fees.


View Profile WWW
January 30, 2019, 06:49:21 PM
 #4

Alternatively you can download Python from source code and build it yourself, there's few simple guides such as https://stackoverflow.com/a/8097241/8604472. But usually there's good reason your distro haven't release newer version, so i won't recommend this option.

or wait until the electrum appimage is released

CMIIW, but AFAIK Electrum never release (or stopped) AppImage of Electrum application and you must download the source code then compile it

P.S. I've checked your link, obviously. But according to https://github.com/spesmilo/electrum/issues/4054, i doubt we'll see AppImage version anytime soon.

jackg
Copper Member
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372
Merit: 1244


https://bit.ly/2FR9nyn - free python tutorials


View Profile
January 30, 2019, 07:04:23 PM
 #5

There may be an issue why its not avaliable for that distro yet. @op if you upgrade you may lose a functioning version or python3 in the process, that's fine if you don't use it much though for anything other than electrum.

Sandro kensan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 659
Merit: 501


I support freedom of choice


View Profile WWW
January 30, 2019, 07:15:20 PM
 #6

There may be an issue why its not avaliable for that distro yet. @op if you upgrade you may lose a functioning version or python3 in the process, that's fine if you don't use it much though for anything other than electrum.

Python is widespread used so I cannot upgrade the package without inconvenience.
I could compile python from source and then exec ~/phyton electrum.run but I wait.

NON TENERE MAI I PROPRI BITCOIN DEPOSITATI SUI CONTI DEGLI EXCHANGE - BE YOUR OWN BANK
Artemis3
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294
Merit: 467


★777Coin.com★ Fun BTC Casino!


View Profile WWW
January 31, 2019, 12:07:38 PM
 #7

I had an old version of Electrum: Electrum-3.1.2 and I upgrade it to the last version but don't run. The last version that is ok for my linux box is: Electrum-3.2.4.

What is your Linux distro and version?

nc50lc
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602
Merit: 394


Self-proclaimed Genius ㊙️


View Profile WWW
February 02, 2019, 02:32:23 AM
 #8

What is your Linux distro and version?
Please read the replies before replying, this issue was already resolved, and it's an outdated python version:
Tanks very much, your answer explain the incompatibility. My linux box is up to date and It is installed python 3.5.3. I stay with Electrum 3.2.4 until the new packet arrive in my distribution repository. I'll check the update from time to time.

Why don't users lock their own thread (or/and edit the title) once it was resolved....  Undecided

███████████
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
███████████
#1
███████████
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
███████████
BTC 
  ●
   BTC
  BTC   
.
    ▄▄▄▀▀▀▀
 ▄██▀
███        ▄▄▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▄▄▄
▀███▄▄▄▄▀▀▀                 ▀▀▄▄
  ▀▀▀██████████████████████████▀
   ▄█▄     ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
    ▀▀██▄▄█▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▀▀
      ▄  ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
      ▀██▄  ▄▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▄
        ▀█▀██████████████▀▀
         ▀█▄▄ ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
            █▀▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▀
             ▀▀▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
.
     BTC
  BTC   
  ●
  BTC   
███████████
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
███████████
███████████
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
███████████
Sandro kensan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 659
Merit: 501


I support freedom of choice


View Profile WWW
February 02, 2019, 10:06:20 AM
 #9

Why don't users lock their own thread (or/and edit the title) once it was resolved....  Undecided

Yes, sorry. I have edited the title with [RESOLVED]. I hope It is enough.
+Merit to the resolver.

NON TENERE MAI I PROPRI BITCOIN DEPOSITATI SUI CONTI DEGLI EXCHANGE - BE YOUR OWN BANK
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!