Bitcoin Forum
September 20, 2019, 11:10:46 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: which switcher is good for miners  (Read 109 times)
amirheavy666
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 192
Merit: 100


quarkchain.io


View Profile
February 20, 2019, 08:16:14 AM
 #1

I have 10 miner and i need a switcher now. Kiss

I know that the switcher TP-Link is good but don't know for 10-15 antminer s9 i must buy switcher gigabyte or megabyte is enough?

please guide

thanks

quarkchain.io
1568977846
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1568977846

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1568977846
Reply with quote  #2

1568977846
Report to moderator
1568977846
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1568977846

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1568977846
Reply with quote  #2

1568977846
Report to moderator
1568977846
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1568977846

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1568977846
Reply with quote  #2

1568977846
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1568977846
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1568977846

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1568977846
Reply with quote  #2

1568977846
Report to moderator
1568977846
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1568977846

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1568977846
Reply with quote  #2

1568977846
Report to moderator
1568977846
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1568977846

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1568977846
Reply with quote  #2

1568977846
Report to moderator
Biffa
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002
Merit: 1061



View Profile
February 20, 2019, 09:12:13 AM
Merited by NotFuzzyWarm (1), HagssFIN (1), frodocooper (1)
 #2

100Mbit is fine for miners, you probably want a 16port switch.

If the cost is no different go for gigabits, but technically ASICs don't use that much bandwidth.

Brand wise,  any of the mid range brands like tp-link, dlink or Netgear would be fine.

Mine at pools that pay transaction fees & don't mine empty blocks :: kanopool :: ckpool ::
:: Dalcore's Crypto Mining H/W Hosting Directory & Reputation ::
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2590
Merit: 1891



View Profile
February 20, 2019, 03:09:27 PM
Last edit: February 20, 2019, 10:57:27 PM by frodocooper
Merited by frodocooper (1)
 #3

I agree with biffa 100 works you don't need 1 gigabit speed.

I would suggest getting a 24 port over a 16 port as  plenty of good ones well under a hundred bucks.
I have 4 of these

https://www.amazon.com/TRENDnet-Unmanaged-Switching-Protection-TEG-S24DG/dp/B0044GH27U/

with a ten pack of these

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01N6S9CRY/

and a pack of these

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B01MUY1TXV/

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
BitcoinRack
Copper Member
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32
Merit: 12


View Profile WWW
February 20, 2019, 04:06:20 PM
Merited by frodocooper (1)
 #4

100 works well like said above. Because miners are chatty, you just need good gear that can deal with a ton of packets per second. This is because when miners submit packets of data, they barely fill each one as they are sent out.

Search on ebay for used Cisco switches, as older model enterprise gear is perfect for mining

I HIGHLY recommend the Cisco Catalyst WS-C3560G-48PS-E Switch

Also note that as you expand your operation, you will need to be sure you have an adequate router as well
BitMaxz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554
Merit: 1244


Beware on fake ledger nano, trezor and electrum.


View Profile WWW
February 20, 2019, 08:07:06 PM
Last edit: February 20, 2019, 10:59:00 PM by frodocooper
 #5

Check these cheap 2 switchers below good for 10 to 15 miners.

Look at this one it sales today and it ends in 12 hrs before the 37% price discount gone.
https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07GR9S6FN/

And this one
https://www.amazon.com/NETGEAR-16-Port-Gigabit-Ethernet-Unmanaged/dp/B01AX8XHRQ/

minefarmbuy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 546
Merit: 145


We are not retail.


View Profile WWW
February 21, 2019, 01:29:41 AM
 #6

I though this would be about power switching.

I have never liked trend net personally. I'd look at netgear (even I eyeroll saying that) or better yet any cicso product.

Premier asic sourcing minefarmbuy.com #mineon
Twitter:@minefarmbuy -LN Tips-
Email: info@minefarmbuy.com PGP:1A1C A4D4 CE04 F57E 1C0C 5240 592A 09BF CCB4 F0C3
Artemis3
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406
Merit: 614


★777Coin.com★ Fun BTC Casino!


View Profile WWW
February 21, 2019, 07:24:01 PM
 #7

I have 10 miner and i need a switcher now. Kiss

I know that the switcher TP-Link is good but don't know for 10-15 antminer s9 i must buy switcher gigabyte or megabyte is enough?

Any simple 100mbps switch will do. TP-Link is one of the cheapest brands on Earth, and its not exactly "high quality", but it should get the job done. I wouldn't bother with neither gigabit nor "smart" switches, but gigabit wouldn't hurt, or maybe those with just a couple of gigabit ports for cascading.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!