Bitcoin Forum
April 29, 2017, 09:31:11 AM *
News: If the forum does not load normally for you, please send me a traceroute.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Adding power moles to your extenders! Easy.....  (Read 789 times)
m3sSh3aD
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322


View Profile
November 07, 2011, 11:33:23 PM
 #1

Hey,

 Had a good question so thought id share it. Save yourself loads by adding a power molex to your extenders as to not blow your motherboards with more than 4 cards in it...

[/URL][/img]

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/35/imag0084dw.jpg/

Basically its 5 wires that go to YOUR YELLOW cable on the molex. 3 from 1 side (including the red one) and 2 from the other(leaving the red one connected. Pic shows it better. Each PCI-E sucks 75W so after 4, drawing over 300W from a mainboard (unless a high quality mobo) isnt a wise idea. I blew a crappy gigabyte (which i say avoid the new ones, ive had 3 failures of AMD gigabyte boards).

By doing this you draw it from your PSU instead and skip the motherboard Wink
1493458271
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493458271

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493458271
Reply with quote  #2

1493458271
Report to moderator
1493458271
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493458271

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493458271
Reply with quote  #2

1493458271
Report to moderator
If you want to be a moderator, report many posts with accuracy. You will be noticed.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1493458271
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1493458271

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1493458271
Reply with quote  #2

1493458271
Report to moderator
Mr.Coin
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31


View Profile
November 08, 2011, 07:37:08 AM
 #2

It would be nice to get a more detail on how to do it.
m3sSh3aD
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322


View Profile
November 08, 2011, 08:56:08 AM
 #3

It would be nice to get a more detail on how to do it.

Im not the best at explaining things, never have been. Out of the 6 wires where the 2 RED/PINK wires are on your extenders at one side (X1 side obviously), you cut 5 of them, Leaving one red/pink connected to the motherboard.

Side with 3 cables cut (1-3, 1 been red/pink)

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/573/imag0085r.jpg/

Side with 2 cables cut (2-3) LEAVING RED/PINK CONNECTED

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/508/imag0087yz.jpg/

One i made earlier. Surely from them pics you can get the jist of it Smiley

http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/855/imag0086ke.jpg/



likuidxd
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448



View Profile
November 08, 2011, 04:01:29 PM
 #4

Thanks for posting! Smiley

For further reference if it wasn't clear enough for you
Side B pins 1,2,3
Side A pins 2,3
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PCI_Express#Pinout

As pin 3 on side B is 'reserved' does it have to be connected? is this the power up lane?

m3sSh3aD
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322


View Profile
November 08, 2011, 04:33:30 PM
 #5

Thanks for posting! Smiley

For further reference if it wasn't clear enough for you
Side B pins 1,2,3
Side A pins 2,3
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PCI_Express#Pinout

As pin 3 on side B is 'reserved' does it have to be connected? is this the power up lane?

Thanks for clearing that up, I just copied cablesauraus technique after ordering (a rather expensive) one off him. Cost me £20 compared to £3.60 to do myself Smiley
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!