Bitcoin Forum
November 22, 2019, 05:22:19 PM *
News: 10th anniversary art contest
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: GekkoScience Terminus R606 750GH (up to 1TH) quiet miner, now shipping  (Read 7369 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2660
Merit: 1980



View Profile
May 28, 2019, 05:00:45 PM
Last edit: May 29, 2019, 11:50:36 AM by frodocooper
 #221

You,re gonna scare the Newbie. You can use a brick PSU if you don't overclock.

this brick psu is good.

https://shop.futurebit.io/products/pre-order-futurebit-apollo-200w-power-supply-shipping-july

it will do max settings but is 59.99
since it provides 200 watts

not sure how it compares to sidehack's psu offering

found info on sidekick's brick it is amp or 96watts and 25 usd
and it only does 1 unit on lower clocks and settings.

you can make a case for either one just depends on how you setup.

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
1574443339
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1574443339

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1574443339
Reply with quote  #2

1574443339
Report to moderator
1574443339
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1574443339

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1574443339
Reply with quote  #2

1574443339
Report to moderator
The Bitcoin Forum is turning 10 years old! Join the community in sharing and exploring the notable posts made over the years.
1574443339
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1574443339

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1574443339
Reply with quote  #2

1574443339
Report to moderator
1574443339
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1574443339

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1574443339
Reply with quote  #2

1574443339
Report to moderator
1574443339
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1574443339

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1574443339
Reply with quote  #2

1574443339
Report to moderator
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2240
Merit: 1505

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
May 28, 2019, 06:26:11 PM
 #222

Also since the barrel jack is only rated for 8A, I thought it somewhat of a conflict if I sold or recommended a brick that would put up more than that. Especially with a 6-pin right there.

Regarding "lower clocks and settings", the thing's stock is 750GH and 8A should get you well in excess of 900GH. All the units I ran for statistics broke 1TH before they broke 8A; that was short runs so I can't guarantee they were stable but that doesn't sound like "lower clocks" to me.

Cool, quiet and up to 1TH pod miner, on sale now!
Currently in development - 200+GH USB stick; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2660
Merit: 1980



View Profile
May 28, 2019, 08:54:21 PM
Last edit: May 29, 2019, 11:51:21 AM by frodocooper
 #223

You are the builder.

I always state a more conservative use of a brick then its rating.
I am clocked to the max it wants to go 775 freq with volt setting 7  I get a steady 1025-1035 gh auto tune tends to drop me to freq 767.5
But my psu is an evga t2 750 watt and can easily supply 150 watts on the six pin hook up.

I would not want a guy with a brick to think he can do the settings above,
thus I say lower clocks and settings.
Rather then say lower then the max volts and freq of 775 or more.

I would think the brick can do volt setting 5 and freq 550 24/7/365

while the high end psu can do volt setting 7 and freq 767.5 tuned from freq 775  for 24/7/30  since I have been running it for 30 days.

I know miners and  some will run the brick at freq 775 and volt setting 7 and burn it out.

as I would think those clocks and settings would kill the brick off.

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
419mining
Copper Member
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 158
Merit: 64

https://www.419mining.com


View Profile WWW
May 28, 2019, 10:20:21 PM
Last edit: May 29, 2019, 11:51:44 AM by frodocooper
 #224

... as I would think those clocks and settings would kill the brick off.

The bricks are fairly rock solid. I know everyone warns against running at full power 8A, but I beat the crap outta these bricks in testing, they are not cheap Chinese junk. I run a single unit as at my desk on the brick at 750Mhz power setting 4. it hums along like it was its job! Smiley (ok it really is its job).

*** Checkout the latest in GekkoScience Tech  - Order NOW: use 'Gekkoship' coupon for free US shipping***
minefarmbuy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 616
Merit: 149


We are not retail.


View Profile WWW
May 28, 2019, 11:03:05 PM
 #225

For the added cost w/brick it's probably best to have it as an option for a couple units.

If you travel a lot would it would come in handy.

Premier asic sourcing minefarmbuy.com #mineon
Twitter:@minefarmbuy -LN Tips-
Email: info@minefarmbuy.com PGP:1A1C A4D4 CE04 F57E 1C0C 5240 592A 09BF CCB4 F0C3
419mining
Copper Member
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 158
Merit: 64

https://www.419mining.com


View Profile WWW
May 29, 2019, 12:06:09 AM
Last edit: May 29, 2019, 11:52:31 AM by frodocooper
 #226

If raw power is what your looking for, we have the HP 1200Watt GekkoScience kit, its the power supply, break out board and 6 x 6pin cables. I have it listed at ~$100 but if you buy an R606, its only $69.


*** Checkout the latest in GekkoScience Tech  - Order NOW: use 'Gekkoship' coupon for free US shipping***
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2660
Merit: 1980



View Profile
May 29, 2019, 12:17:49 AM
Last edit: May 29, 2019, 11:53:49 AM by frodocooper
 #227

I have plenty of psus

the 8 amp brick is fine and it costs only 25 dollars.

the brick I linked is far superior but it does cost 60 dollars.

both of them are kind of meant for 1 unit not 2.

I can tell that the psu you list is better in many ways can run lots of r606 vs using bricks and the price is good price.

But if you want one unit and you want it to look pretty the brick  I like has a better look. then the hp and has more power then the sidehack brick

Ie my wife would prefer it over the hp psu. If It was not hidden away.

it is what is nice about this gear.

sidekick brick is nice and has it's place
the brick I linked is nice and has its place.
the hp psu is nice and has its place.
a psu in an active build can be used -------- like my video shows.
a psu on sale from newegg can be used.
a psu sitting  on a shelf can be used.

a rasp pi can be used
a mac mini can be used
a win 7 build can be used
a win 10 build can be used
a linux build  can be used.

the idea of an all in one dock with a rasp pi and a psu would be cool.  If I built it I would want the brick I linked  or better yet this psu

https://www.corsair.com/us/en/Categories/Products/Power-Supply-Units/Power-Supply-Units-Advanced/SF-Series/p/CP-9020182-NA

as I think I could run the rasp pi and 3 r606 from this .  it is plat and very small.

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2240
Merit: 1505

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
May 29, 2019, 12:46:54 AM
Merited by frodocooper (2)
 #228

So, I finally got my hands on one of the pods with red blinkers the other day. Looked like the temp sensor had released the magic smoke somehow.
Yesterday while doing some further testing I was able to release the magic smoke on a bench unit. Admittedly that board is cursed in more ways than just that, but I did see it happen.

My guess is the temp sensor is not as 5V-tolerant as the datasheet led me to believe.

I am currently final-testing the first set of pods to get the new firmware which can tell a difference between an error condition (such as a roasted sensor, or reporting negative temperatures) and an overtemp condition. When overtemp it still blinks every second like normal, but if the sensor is bad it blinks once every five seconds. This is to let you know the sensor is bad so it can't warn you of an overtemp condition, but without getting in the way of being able to adjust voltage and is much less annoying.

The next batch of boards had already been delivered when I did this testing so I'll have to do a bit of manual work to patch in 3.3V to the temp sensor instead of its 5V line, which should save them from roasting. I have one with that fix applied that's been running off and on all day with no issues so far. Batch 3 will have the fix integrated to the PCB.

I also noticed a small error (two parts interchanged) around the USB chip which might affect stability or device detection if your USB cable is long or bus voltage is low. Shouldn't affect most people. The new firmware also addresses a small memory overlap in EEPROM which won't affect most people but shouldn't be there regardless.

I will be making the new firmware available to resellers. It requires physical access to the hardware to install, and firmware alone won't prevent the temp sensor failure - it'll just react differently to the failure. But all Batch 2 units will have both the software upgrade and the hardware fix. I think we've pretty much found and fixed all the problems now, so assuming everything tests out okay, I'm quite comfortable with Batch 2 units being sold overseas.

Once we're into Batch 2, or Batch 1 units sufficiently modified, I'll let everyone know the starting serial number after which units can go anywhere.

Cool, quiet and up to 1TH pod miner, on sale now!
Currently in development - 200+GH USB stick; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
ZimbaCardi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 121
Merit: 32


View Profile
May 29, 2019, 01:01:17 AM
Last edit: May 29, 2019, 11:55:29 AM by frodocooper
 #229

If raw power is what your looking for, we have the HP 1200Watt GekkoScience kit, its the power supply, break out board and 6 x 6pin cables. I have it listed at ~$100 but if you buy an R606, its only $69.

https://i2.wp.com/www.419mining.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/10/DSC_0416.jpg

So this PSU could run 7 R-606 on 220v? 6 on 120v all at 775 Mhz.? That be $11 per unit! Save one for me with a few R-606 for next week, seriously.
419mining
Copper Member
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 158
Merit: 64

https://www.419mining.com


View Profile WWW
May 29, 2019, 01:15:56 AM
Last edit: May 29, 2019, 11:56:45 AM by frodocooper
 #230

... the idea of an all in one dock with a rasp pi and a psu would be cool.  If I built it I would want the brick I linked  or better yet this psu

https://www.corsair.com/us/en/Categories/Products/Power-Supply-Units/Power-Supply-Units-Advanced/SF-Series/p/CP-9020182-NA

as I think I could run the rasp pi and 3 r606 from this .  it is plat and very small.

I completely agree, the all in one unit would be a perfect use case for the 200Watt you linked. Unless I can get our PSU guy to come down on the minimum quantity for 6pin 10A power bricks.

The idea being the pi should pull power from the brick, it will have a "jumper" circuit built to connect the two as one of the mount points.

like this one:


*** Checkout the latest in GekkoScience Tech  - Order NOW: use 'Gekkoship' coupon for free US shipping***
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2660
Merit: 1980



View Profile
May 29, 2019, 03:21:20 AM
Last edit: May 29, 2019, 11:57:18 AM by frodocooper
 #231

yeah this is a really nice piece of gear with a lot of flexibility.

Shame that sidehack is not given the newest chips.
This could do 2th on 100 watts if given the newest chips.
For the life of me I never understood why at least one chip builder has not given sidehack really new chips to work with.
Getting more people involved in mining would have to be more helpful than harmful.
It would also help network security by having thousands of these scattered about the world.

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2240
Merit: 1505

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
May 29, 2019, 03:33:26 AM
Merited by frodocooper (2)
 #232

The problem with new chips is you then have to make 'em work. You know I had initial data on BM1387 in February of last year but the NewPac didn't roll out until what, August?

I mean if I had any sort of team, sure it'd be easier but I'm literally the only technical personnel at the shop. I spend most of my days doing testing that others can't, or fixing machines that others can't, or actually building the tools we need to get stuff done quickly and efficiently. Came in last weekend to cut, punch, braze and grind a sheet-metal template for use punching jack holes in hub lids. Next week I'll be setting up a better hydraulic press for it, and in the meantime I'll be building a new shear tool to make cuts on R606 housings and reworking the isopropyl filtering/distilling setup so we can keep reusing that stuff in wash cycles to save money (the good stuff is $16/gallon). The only reason the R606 project got off the ground as fast as it did is because I was laid up with a broken leg and couldn't do floorwork for over a month so design was all I had left. That, and one of the CNC machines was already set up for cutting aluminum sheet because of the hub project so all I had to do was draft the case design and program in all the toolpaths, no jig-building.

I've got newer chips. I just don't have the info to make them work yet. And I have three products to manufacture right now, which means seller communication, scheduling, testing, parts procurement etc so I don't have time to reverse-engineer existing hardware to get that info just yet.

But things are getting lined out at the shop, and my crew are already pretty hands-off with NewPacs and hubs, so once the rest of hub and pod tooling is in place that'll free me up again. Should have an improved stick and maybe a better pod later in the year.

Cool, quiet and up to 1TH pod miner, on sale now!
Currently in development - 200+GH USB stick; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2660
Merit: 1980



View Profile
May 29, 2019, 04:03:31 AM
Last edit: May 29, 2019, 11:58:57 AM by frodocooper
 #233

Yeah now that I have the bigger setup in Clifton. It is a huge time suck.

My to-do list is so freaking long.

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
LightZ
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 705
Merit: 259



View Profile
May 29, 2019, 04:44:19 AM
 #234

Would anyone be interested in an addon box for the R606, a self enclosed auto updating pi box, complete with display?

I have had multiple requests for it and I'm putting together numbers for it now.

I would be interested in it

ZimbaCardi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 121
Merit: 32


View Profile
May 29, 2019, 05:40:34 AM
 #235

Me too.
glim
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 29, 2019, 09:38:01 AM
Last edit: May 29, 2019, 09:49:34 AM by glim
 #236

me three

heads up: got my r606 sent up to canada (thanks, 419 guys). really liking it so far - but was kind of surprised at how much they dinged me for the import fee. was $70, ouch.

love how quiet it is - can barely hear it at all, and if it's giving off heat i sure can't notice.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2982
Merit: 1201


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 29, 2019, 02:26:00 PM
Merited by frodocooper (1)
 #237

I just use a molex->usb cable to power the (many) RPi's I've had over the years.
i.e. use a molex connection on the psu direct to the RPi (it has 5v on it)

No trick doing anything to do it that way, you switch on the PSU = miner and RPi at the same time.
Of course I also have a simple paperclip attached to the PSUs motherboard connector since they're computer PSUs (OCZ 1250)

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
minefarmbuy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 616
Merit: 149


We are not retail.


View Profile WWW
May 29, 2019, 04:24:24 PM
 #238

Adapters are pretty cheap too if you unsure about a paper clip on your 24pin.

Premier asic sourcing minefarmbuy.com #mineon
Twitter:@minefarmbuy -LN Tips-
Email: info@minefarmbuy.com PGP:1A1C A4D4 CE04 F57E 1C0C 5240 592A 09BF CCB4 F0C3
gt_addict
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400
Merit: 526


View Profile
May 29, 2019, 05:21:13 PM
Last edit: May 30, 2019, 10:27:58 AM by frodocooper
 #239

I will be making the new firmware available to resellers. It requires physical access to the hardware to install, and firmware alone won't prevent the temp sensor failure - it'll just react differently to the failure. But all Batch 2 units will have both the software upgrade and the hardware fix. I think we've pretty much found and fixed all the problems now, so assuming everything tests out okay, I'm quite comfortable with Batch 2 units being sold overseas.

Once we're into Batch 2, or Batch 1 units sufficiently modified, I'll let everyone know the starting serial number after which units can go anywhere.

Glad to hear all the "bugs" have been squashed and the overseas shipping is imminent. Can't wait to get my hands on one!! Grin

**SUPPORT SIDEHACK** Miner Development Donations to:  1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr

Donations/Tips to:-   1GTADDicTXD1uachKKgW24DZDxDGhSMdRa

Join Bitconnect: https://bitconnect.co/?ref=gtaddict
minefarmbuy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 616
Merit: 149


We are not retail.


View Profile WWW
May 31, 2019, 08:08:23 PM
Merited by frodocooper (1)
 #240

International shipping is open for r606.

Premier asic sourcing minefarmbuy.com #mineon
Twitter:@minefarmbuy -LN Tips-
Email: info@minefarmbuy.com PGP:1A1C A4D4 CE04 F57E 1C0C 5240 592A 09BF CCB4 F0C3
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!