Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 06:35:44 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: 0 CONNECTIONS HELP  (Read 564 times)
vpcolumbia3
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
November 09, 2011, 09:46:41 PM
 #1

System: Windows 7 64-bit, bitcoin.exe 0.4.0-beta.

    About 5 months ago, I had bitcoin installed and everything was working property. I had uninstalled it since then, and just now installed fresh via the newest version on bitcoin.org.

    This time around it seems I am failing to connect. It shows 0 connections. In options I have everything checked, and the port is "9050". I changed the port number to "8333", then it fluxed between 1 and 2 connections. With either one, the block number stays the same. I have not changed anything on my router. Block explorer shows that my address has received the full balance already. Right now I have the port on "9050" in bitcoin.

   Please explain in newb terms.
1481222144
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481222144

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481222144
Reply with quote  #2

1481222144
Report to moderator
1481222144
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481222144

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481222144
Reply with quote  #2

1481222144
Report to moderator
1481222144
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481222144

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481222144
Reply with quote  #2

1481222144
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481222144
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481222144

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481222144
Reply with quote  #2

1481222144
Report to moderator
MoonShad0w384
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 38


View Profile
November 14, 2011, 12:26:57 PM
 #2

Try unchecking "Connect through socks4 proxy" and see if that helps.
paraipan
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


Firstbits: 1pirata


View Profile WWW
November 14, 2011, 01:07:11 PM
 #3

Try unchecking "Connect through socks4 proxy" and see if that helps.

yeah could be just that, similar post

BTCitcoin: An Idea Worth Saving - Q&A with bitcoins on rugatu.com - Check my rep
deepceleron
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470



View Profile WWW
November 14, 2011, 03:36:21 PM
 #4

The port setting in Bitcoin is for connecting to a proxy server. If you had a proxy server you would know about it. You do not need to mess with any options in Bitcoin, even if you are using an internet router or gateway device. Setting the options wrong in Bitcoins (when the defaults would have worked fine) will cause problems.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=51586.msg617485#msg617485


Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!