Bitcoin Forum
September 27, 2021, 04:01:21 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 22.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How to setup a server to solo mine BTC/LTC on my lan?  (Read 4570 times)
01BTC10
VIP
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 503



View Profile
February 23, 2012, 05:14:11 PM
Last edit: February 23, 2012, 05:24:21 PM by 01BTC10
 #1

I want to combine my computing power to create a private mining pool on my lan. I understand how to setup the workers but I am unsure about the server side. I will use Ubuntu or Debian for the server.

I know there is Bitcoind but I am unsure if I need the same software for the LTC server.

Anyone could point me to the right direction?

Many thanks!
There are several different types of Bitcoin clients. The most secure are full nodes like Bitcoin Core, which will follow the rules of the network no matter what miners do. Even if every miner decided to create 1000 bitcoins per block, full nodes would stick to the rules and reject those blocks.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Liberate
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70
Merit: 10


Freedom is Free


View Profile
February 23, 2012, 06:52:38 PM
 #2

Looks old but https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1458.0

Will code for coins, python c#, php(+html, jss, sql) scripts can also pen testing(not a skid) PM me https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=71889.msg813212#msg813212

BTC: 1X8Uwr6vxtuudvxgPv9SqP2c6omWUC3qn
LTC: LaZ8A9YTHbNiFuhRFdCt7KNRuU2XFPXgfA
Red Emerald
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
February 23, 2012, 07:08:27 PM
 #3

Check out p2pool.  It's really easy to get running and will be lower variance than solo mining.

01BTC10
VIP
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 503



View Profile
February 23, 2012, 07:35:51 PM
 #4

I already mine with a pool but I want to learn how it works. Here at my house we have 3X OC I7s and couple old pc...

I just downloaded Litecoin source and I'm trying to understand how to solo mine with cpuminer first...

I want to know if it's possible to run one of the older computer as a server for the others to work as a team.
01BTC10
VIP
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 503



View Profile
February 23, 2012, 07:59:48 PM
 #5

Ok now I feel stupid everything should be there: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=47417.0
01BTC10
VIP
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 503



View Profile
February 24, 2012, 01:58:46 AM
Last edit: February 24, 2012, 02:22:17 AM by 01BTC10
 #6

I have issue connecting my other workers.

I edited litecoin.conf file to this:

    testnet=0
    rcpuser=user
    rpcpassowrd=pass
    rpcport=9332
    server=1

When I connect minerd via local host: 127.0.0.1:9332 everything work! I even connected 2 workers to localhost successfully.

When I try to connect another workers from the LAN it cant connect.

When I scan the port of the machine running litecoind daemon, the port 9332 is closed.

I disabled Windows firewall.

How can I remote connect the others workers to the litecoind daemon via LAN?
Red Emerald
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
February 24, 2012, 02:25:22 AM
 #7

When I scan the port of the machine running litecoind daemon, the port 9332 is closed.

I disabled Windows firewall.

How can I remote connect the others workers to the litecoind daemon via LAN?

You probably need to forward some ports through your router.  Or put the server in a DMZ.  Forwarding ports is probably safer.

01BTC10
VIP
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 503



View Profile
February 24, 2012, 02:33:48 AM
 #8

This is the nmap log from the litecoind host seen via the LAN:

Starting Nmap 5.21 ( http://nmap.org ) at 2012-02-23 21:30 EST
Nmap scan report for 192.168.1.16
Host is up (0.038s latency).
Not shown: 997 closed ports
PORT    STATE SERVICE
135/tcp open  msrpc
139/tcp open  netbios-ssn
445/tcp open  microsoft-ds

There is no rpcport 9332 open so I dont understand how I can connect in first place.

I tried putting the server in a DMZ but im not trying to acces it from outside my LAN so I thing it might be pointless...

Just to be sure:

$ nmap 192.168.1.16 -p 9332

Starting Nmap 5.21 ( http://nmap.org ) at 2012-02-23 21:35 EST
Nmap scan report for 192.168.1.16
Host is up (0.00019s latency).
PORT     STATE  SERVICE
9332/tcp closed unknown

01BTC10
VIP
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 503



View Profile
February 24, 2012, 03:51:09 AM
 #9

It is working now. Forgot to setup a tunnel to hande the connection.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!