Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 09:40:16 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: How to setup a server to solo mine BTC/LTC on my lan?  (Read 4281 times)
01BTC10
VIP
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
February 23, 2012, 05:14:11 PM
 #1

I want to combine my computing power to create a private mining pool on my lan. I understand how to setup the workers but I am unsure about the server side. I will use Ubuntu or Debian for the server.

I know there is Bitcoind but I am unsure if I need the same software for the LTC server.

Anyone could point me to the right direction?

Many thanks!
1480758016
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480758016

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480758016
Reply with quote  #2

1480758016
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480758016
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480758016

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480758016
Reply with quote  #2

1480758016
Report to moderator
Liberate
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


Freedom is Free


View Profile
February 23, 2012, 06:52:38 PM
 #2

Looks old but https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1458.0

Will code for coins, python c#, php(+html, jss, sql) scripts can also pen testing(not a skid) PM me https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=71889.msg813212#msg813212

BTC: 1X8Uwr6vxtuudvxgPv9SqP2c6omWUC3qn
LTC: LaZ8A9YTHbNiFuhRFdCt7KNRuU2XFPXgfA
Red Emerald
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile WWW
February 23, 2012, 07:08:27 PM
 #3

Check out p2pool.  It's really easy to get running and will be lower variance than solo mining.

01BTC10
VIP
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
February 23, 2012, 07:35:51 PM
 #4

I already mine with a pool but I want to learn how it works. Here at my house we have 3X OC I7s and couple old pc...

I just downloaded Litecoin source and I'm trying to understand how to solo mine with cpuminer first...

I want to know if it's possible to run one of the older computer as a server for the others to work as a team.
01BTC10
VIP
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
February 23, 2012, 07:59:48 PM
 #5

Ok now I feel stupid everything should be there: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=47417.0
01BTC10
VIP
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
February 24, 2012, 01:58:46 AM
 #6

I have issue connecting my other workers.

I edited litecoin.conf file to this:

    testnet=0
    rcpuser=user
    rpcpassowrd=pass
    rpcport=9332
    server=1

When I connect minerd via local host: 127.0.0.1:9332 everything work! I even connected 2 workers to localhost successfully.

When I try to connect another workers from the LAN it cant connect.

When I scan the port of the machine running litecoind daemon, the port 9332 is closed.

I disabled Windows firewall.

How can I remote connect the others workers to the litecoind daemon via LAN?
Red Emerald
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile WWW
February 24, 2012, 02:25:22 AM
 #7

When I scan the port of the machine running litecoind daemon, the port 9332 is closed.

I disabled Windows firewall.

How can I remote connect the others workers to the litecoind daemon via LAN?

You probably need to forward some ports through your router.  Or put the server in a DMZ.  Forwarding ports is probably safer.

01BTC10
VIP
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
February 24, 2012, 02:33:48 AM
 #8

This is the nmap log from the litecoind host seen via the LAN:

Starting Nmap 5.21 ( http://nmap.org ) at 2012-02-23 21:30 EST
Nmap scan report for 192.168.1.16
Host is up (0.038s latency).
Not shown: 997 closed ports
PORT    STATE SERVICE
135/tcp open  msrpc
139/tcp open  netbios-ssn
445/tcp open  microsoft-ds

There is no rpcport 9332 open so I dont understand how I can connect in first place.

I tried putting the server in a DMZ but im not trying to acces it from outside my LAN so I thing it might be pointless...

Just to be sure:

$ nmap 192.168.1.16 -p 9332

Starting Nmap 5.21 ( http://nmap.org ) at 2012-02-23 21:35 EST
Nmap scan report for 192.168.1.16
Host is up (0.00019s latency).
PORT     STATE  SERVICE
9332/tcp closed unknown

01BTC10
VIP
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
February 24, 2012, 03:51:09 AM
 #9

It is working now. Forgot to setup a tunnel to hande the connection.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!