Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2021, 03:10:00 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 22.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Z11 Fried Hash Board  (Read 538 times)
mgoz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 265
Merit: 230


View Profile
June 04, 2019, 02:53:14 AM
Merited by 0xcosmos (1)
 #1

Anyone else have fried hash boards yet?

Ran mine for about 2 weeks without issue and today I arrived home to it dead. Opened it up and middle hash board was fried. Was using a Whatsminer 2200w PSU, stock firmware with frequency at 731, always ran in vertical position, and ambient temp never above 30°C. Running on two boards for now as it looks like Bitmain's warranty won't cover it and they require shipping the entire unit back for replacement parts. Middle board always ran hotter. Quickest failing gear I've owned to date.

The crazy thing is with only two hash boards it jumps up to 120KSol/sec, but it's not stable though. Boards constantly fluctuating between 30-68KSol/sec.




1638717000
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638717000

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638717000
Reply with quote  #2

1638717000
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1638717000
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638717000

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638717000
Reply with quote  #2

1638717000
Report to moderator
1638717000
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1638717000

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1638717000
Reply with quote  #2

1638717000
Report to moderator
efudd
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 504
Merit: 51


View Profile
June 04, 2019, 03:58:27 AM
 #2

Was this on stock firmware?

lunobird
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 852
Merit: 115


View Profile
June 04, 2019, 05:40:50 AM
 #3

Was it overclocked and if so by how much?

Should have just bought the coins and not deal with these headaches.  Good luck on your repair
efudd
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 504
Merit: 51


View Profile
June 04, 2019, 06:21:04 AM
 #4

Was this on stock firmware?

Sorry... missed that you said stock firmware, which means it was not Overclocked. That sucks.

Hopefully warranty can fix this quickly. :/

-j

mgoz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 265
Merit: 230


View Profile
June 04, 2019, 11:32:56 AM
 #5

Bitmain's warranty does not cover it. Fried hash boards void warranty whether overclocked or not. They also want me to send the entire unit back to confirm the board can't be repaired, which is stupid when I only need a board. Only applies to latest models (S and T series and Z11) They will not send you individual parts or let you ship them damaged parts. Guess I'll just keep it running with 2 boards and wait until they start selling replacements.
0xcosmos
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 594
Merit: 110


View Profile
June 04, 2019, 12:49:01 PM
 #6

Bitmain's warranty does not cover it. Fried hash boards void warranty whether overclocked or not. They also want me to send the entire unit back to confirm the board can't be repaired, which is stupid when I only need a board. Only applies to latest models (S and T series and Z11) They will not send you individual parts or let you ship them damaged parts. Guess I'll just keep it running with 2 boards and wait until they start selling replacements.

that is a good idea
i tried searching for replacement boards for antminer but there is nothing available for z11 now
for older models replacement boards are available
anyway keep them cool now and see to it that they are placed in a safe location

i always hated antminer and any asic for this particular reason
no good support after sales and quality not up to the mark
cokewithanr
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18
Merit: 1


View Profile
June 04, 2019, 08:31:45 PM
 #7

   That is unfortunate, however in some cases multi layer boards can be repaired, most often not, but in rare cases yes. That said generally it is not cost effective to attempt and is tedious with limited success. I spent years helping my father repair double and single sided boards, but nothing like the new multi layer boards. I do have a few I am currently tinkering with now from Z9 and Z9mini's with the same apparent failure. I do not have a Z11 board yet, so if you would be willing to part with it for research purposes let me know. My Father was the brains as far as circuits and how they worked I was just the eyes and the hands, but you pick up somethings if your around it enough.

Keith
skittang
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 05, 2020, 07:38:59 AM
 #8

I apologize ahead of time for necro'ing this thread but this thread may be most relevant to my post.

My Z11 decided stopped running after nearly a year of running (with some downtime in-between). Nearing the time of failure, it kill a PSU and an additional 2 other used PSUs. Found 2 out of 3 hashboards reported 0 ASIC detected. Fitted and ran the one working board into another Z11 and it reported 0 ASIC detected after a good 20 minutes.

Upon visual inspection of the boards, I found some similar patterns/position of black spots across all the 3 boards.

Some pictures for reference :
https://imgur.com/MAjHzaf
https://imgur.com/vgGbum9
https://imgur.com/WK4yVu3
https://imgur.com/TCohFM6

Full album here : https://imgur.com/a/U0muvjV

I want to ask for assistance in identifying the black spots as well what could have possibly caused the failure of the boards. I hope to mitigate the issue for my other miners too.

Thanks in advance!
mgoz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 265
Merit: 230


View Profile
June 09, 2020, 07:40:20 PM
 #9

Can't really help you and my pics are gone, but that's different than how mine failed. I had chips in middle hash board completely fry and burn a hole right through the board. Mine may have been due to the PSU. I switched to a 1200W HP server PSU with a breakout board and have been running it without the damaged board with no issues.
dagarair
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 836
Merit: 350



View Profile WWW
June 10, 2020, 04:17:19 PM
 #10

Guy on Telegram that has a company repairing Bitmain stuff in USA.  Not sure if he does Z11 but contact Gerald and see @Sapiente7

I used him a few times. Tell him Minerdude sent ya.  No commission or anything

4MW Data Center - I BUILT Tongue  - Full story below:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=4789787.msg43227027#msg43227027
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3234
Merit: 3888



View Profile
June 10, 2020, 08:39:03 PM
 #11

Guy on Telegram that has a company repairing Bitmain stuff in USA.  Not sure if he does Z11 but contact Gerald and see @Sapiente7

I used him a few times. Tell him Minerdude sent ya.  No commission or anything

yeah I think they are from north carolina  hmtech



https://hmtech.co/

you can mention me.  I am not sure they repair z11's


but they fixed 2 of my  whatsminer 20s units.

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!