Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 04:31:34 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Afterburner - 5970 - Memory clocks lower than 500Mhz?  (Read 7235 times)
snedie
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
March 30, 2011, 12:04:48 AM
 #1

Can't seem to get afterburner to allow me to clock my memory lower than 500Mhz, although in CCC I can clock it down to 300Mhz (And shave 6c off my VDDC temps too).

Any info greatly appreciated, and just to clarigy my config file is set to allow custom overclocking:

[ATIADLHAL]
EnableUnofficialOverclocking   = 1
UnofficialOverclockingEULA   = I confirm that I am aware of unofficial overclocking limitations and fully understand that MSI will not provide me any support on it
UnofficialOverclockingMode   = 2
AccessibilityCheckingPeriod   = 0[/td][/tr][/table]
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481171494
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481171494

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481171494
Reply with quote  #2

1481171494
Report to moderator
1481171494
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481171494

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481171494
Reply with quote  #2

1481171494
Report to moderator
1481171494
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481171494

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481171494
Reply with quote  #2

1481171494
Report to moderator
nster
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
March 30, 2011, 12:08:34 AM
 #2

from one of my previous posts
Quote
in order to get lower memory clocks please follow this:

1- Open MSI Afterburner
2- Set Memory Clock to the lowest possible or to desired amount
3- Click Apply
4- If Memory Clock is not to the desired amount, close MSI Afterburner
5- Repeat 1 to 4 until desired amount is reached
6- Set Fan Speed

Same can be done to get higher core clocks

Donations are always welcome  167q1CHgVjzLCwQwQvJ3tRMUCrjfqvSznd

167q1CHgVjzLCwQwQvJ3tRMUCrjfqvSznd Donations are welcome Smiley Please be kind if I helped
snedie
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
March 30, 2011, 01:49:23 AM
 #3

from one of my previous posts
Quote
in order to get lower memory clocks please follow this:

1- Open MSI Afterburner
2- Set Memory Clock to the lowest possible or to desired amount
3- Click Apply
4- If Memory Clock is not to the desired amount, close MSI Afterburner
5- Repeat 1 to 4 until desired amount is reached
6- Set Fan Speed

Same can be done to get higher core clocks

Donations are always welcome  167q1CHgVjzLCwQwQvJ3tRMUCrjfqvSznd


I tried this a couple times now but each time I load afterburner 500Mhz is still the lowest value possible, and if I manually enter it it will go right back to 500Mhz.
kindle
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
March 30, 2011, 02:24:04 AM
 #4

Try downclocking in the mist of the mining process, also dont change too many times cuz afterburner some how resets the mem clock after applying the changes too many times.

nster
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
March 30, 2011, 03:32:44 AM
 #5

If you'd like me to look at it, I'll be happy to with Teamviewer

167q1CHgVjzLCwQwQvJ3tRMUCrjfqvSznd Donations are welcome Smiley Please be kind if I helped
travex
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 117


View Profile
March 30, 2011, 07:04:17 AM
 #6

If you'd like me to look at it, I'll be happy to with Teamviewer

Your method does not work my friend.
nster
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
March 30, 2011, 08:27:15 AM
 #7

If you'd like me to look at it, I'll be happy to with Teamviewer

Your method does not work my friend.

doesn't mean I can't help in finding a way to do it

167q1CHgVjzLCwQwQvJ3tRMUCrjfqvSznd Donations are welcome Smiley Please be kind if I helped
travex
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 117


View Profile
March 30, 2011, 08:58:11 AM
 #8

If you'd like me to look at it, I'll be happy to with Teamviewer

Your method does not work my friend.

doesn't mean I can't help in finding a way to do it

Yeah, is there any other method to do it ? Cause I'm having VDDC temp at 91-93 degree @.@
snedie
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
March 30, 2011, 10:34:11 AM
 #9

I get home from work around 8:30PM GMT, will you be available around then? If so, please add me on MSN to make life easy, the email is: snedie69er@hotmail.co.uk (And yes it's immature XD)
nster
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
March 30, 2011, 11:14:35 AM
 #10

I'll try to be Wink

167q1CHgVjzLCwQwQvJ3tRMUCrjfqvSznd Donations are welcome Smiley Please be kind if I helped
Peao
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 431



View Profile
March 30, 2011, 11:55:37 AM
 #11

nster's method worked for me. thats why i sent him 2 bitcoins   Smiley

my 2 5970 are working at 300 MHz.
nster
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
March 30, 2011, 12:21:43 PM
 #12

nster's method worked for me. thats why i sent him 2 bitcoins   Smiley

my 2 5970 are working at 300 MHz.


Thank you very much Smiley

167q1CHgVjzLCwQwQvJ3tRMUCrjfqvSznd Donations are welcome Smiley Please be kind if I helped
travex
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 117


View Profile
March 30, 2011, 03:51:43 PM
 #13

Nvm =D
nster
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
March 30, 2011, 11:15:59 PM
 #14

Nvm =D

I'm available now, if still need any help

167q1CHgVjzLCwQwQvJ3tRMUCrjfqvSznd Donations are welcome Smiley Please be kind if I helped
travex
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 117


View Profile
March 31, 2011, 12:58:17 AM
 #15

Nvm =D

I'm available now, if still need any help

Hmm you are offline now @.@ , btw yesterday I can lowered my memory clock to 250Mhz, but for some reason my computer crashed and after that I cant use Msiafterburn to lower the memory again to 250-300 because the lowest it can go is 500 mhz ,   Huh
nster
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
March 31, 2011, 01:11:49 AM
 #16

Nvm =D

I'm available now, if still need any help

Hmm you are offline now @.@ , btw yesterday I can lowered my memory clock to 250Mhz, but for some reason my computer crashed and after that I cant use Msiafterburn to lower the memory again to 250-300 because the lowest it can go is 500 mhz ,   Huh

sry worries at home lol... I'm eating right now, so I can take a quick look right now

167q1CHgVjzLCwQwQvJ3tRMUCrjfqvSznd Donations are welcome Smiley Please be kind if I helped
nster
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
March 31, 2011, 01:36:20 AM
 #17

I sent a PM but I guess I'm too late Sad

167q1CHgVjzLCwQwQvJ3tRMUCrjfqvSznd Donations are welcome Smiley Please be kind if I helped
goatpig
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1330

Armory Developer


View Profile
March 31, 2011, 05:03:44 AM
 #18

use AMD GPU Clock Tool, you can directly input ram and gpu speed with it
i haven't seen an update in a while but the latest version supports Cypress gpus

btcarmory.com
snedie
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
March 31, 2011, 09:42:54 AM
 #19

use AMD GPU Clock Tool, you can directly input ram and gpu speed with it
i haven't seen an update in a while but the latest version supports Cypress gpus

I'll let nster give it a shot at getting the clocks down first, but I tried clocktool last week and it couldn't detect any usable hardware (Maybe I got an older version).
nster
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
March 31, 2011, 10:37:00 AM
 #20

I kinda was successful

YAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAYY!!!!!

What happened is that MSIA was fucked up by the multiple GPUs (4) and profiles seemed to not work, so you have to put values that are not in the profile (ie: I put 901 core 350 mem), then once that works, I put 901 core 300 mem and it now works Smiley

167q1CHgVjzLCwQwQvJ3tRMUCrjfqvSznd Donations are welcome Smiley Please be kind if I helped
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!