Bitcoin Forum
January 25, 2020, 10:29:27 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.19.0.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Antminer S9 on 2x 110v question  (Read 95 times)
Neocommunist
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 1


View Profile
August 09, 2019, 07:24:31 PM
 #1

On the 3 boards on the miner, each one has 3 sockets, one socket says ground, another 12v, so I assume the 3rd is 5v....on the breakout board, there one ground and one 12v, and I assume the other 4 are 5v....I know not to split the hashboard between power supplies, but if I put 2 hashboards to one power supply (6 cables) do I need to worry about designating the exact cables ground-ground and 12v-12v between the hashboard and breakout board

So basically my question is I have 3 ground sockets and 3 12v sockets going to 2 power supplies
1579991367
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1579991367

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1579991367
Reply with quote  #2

1579991367
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1579991367
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1579991367

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1579991367
Reply with quote  #2

1579991367
Report to moderator
BitMaxz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680
Merit: 1316


Beware on fake ledger nano, trezor and electrum.


View Profile WWW
August 09, 2019, 08:08:52 PM
Last edit: August 10, 2019, 12:21:58 AM by frodocooper
 #2

What do you mean by ground socket? Every socket has own grounds and each socket need 12v output.

If your plan is to put two PSU check this image below what is the correct one to put PSU.



This is the correct one and below is the incorrect one.



Source: https://www.eastshore.xyz/tutorial-antminer-s9-11-85th-1172w-16nm-bitcoin-miner/

Also, you won't get the maximum hash rate of each board with 110v power.

Neocommunist
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 1


View Profile
August 09, 2019, 09:39:10 PM
 #3

Yeah I got that, my question was about the small sockets on the board of the miner, one says ground and the other says 12v on each bay, whether those need to be plugged specifically to sockets on breakout board
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2688
Merit: 2082



View Profile
August 10, 2019, 12:27:18 AM
 #4

Yeah I got that, my question was about the small sockets on the board of the miner, one says ground and the other says 12v on each bay, whether those need to be plugged specifically to sockets on breakout board

this is pretty senseless question

there are

x   x   x
x   x   x
x   x   x


x     

 ten identicial   6 pin sockets on the s9   

all are six pin    so what else do you mean

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Steamtyme
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 896
Merit: 1615


Exchange Bitcoin quickly-https://blockchain.com.do


View Profile WWW
August 10, 2019, 12:36:12 AM
 #5

What PSU are you using? I've never had to set one up that had a breakout board. I'm assuming you have preassembled 6-pin cables to make the connection from the PSU to the S9. If your cables are properly assembled they only fit the connection on the S9 boards one way.

Is this similar to what you are talking about it?

https://www.centrix-intl.com/product/x8-16-port-breakout-board-adapter-compatible-with-hp-delta-dell-server-power-supply-for-asic-or-gpu-crypto-mining/

Neocommunist
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 1


View Profile
August 10, 2019, 01:42:50 AM
 #6

Yes very similar, but one specific socket says 12v and one socket says ground, just wanted to know if it’s important....


And thank you everyone for helping me >.<
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2688
Merit: 2082



View Profile
August 10, 2019, 03:01:58 AM
 #7

Yes very similar, but one specific socket says 12v and one socket says ground, just wanted to know if it’s important....


And thank you everyone for helping me >.<

you need to make an account with imgur.com and photo your breakout board  then post the link to the photos here.

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Artemis3
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 532
Merit: 731


★777Coin.com★ Fun BTC Casino!


View Profile WWW
August 10, 2019, 05:04:16 PM
Merited by frodocooper (3)
 #8

On the 3 boards on the miner, each one has 3 sockets, one socket says ground, another 12v, so I assume the 3rd is 5v....on the breakout board, there one ground and one 12v, and I assume the other 4 are 5v....I know not to split the hashboard between power supplies, but if I put 2 hashboards to one power supply (6 cables) do I need to worry about designating the exact cables ground-ground and 12v-12v between the hashboard and breakout board

So basically my question is I have 3 ground sockets and 3 12v sockets going to 2 power supplies

Those 6 pin plugs are the very same used by gpus on ATX psus. All they have is three 12v and three ground, nothing else.

PinNameColorDescription
1COMBlackGround
2COMBlackGround
3COMBlackGround
4+12VDCYellow+12 VDC
5+12VDCYellow+12 VDC
6+12VDCYellow+12 VDC

There is no 5v.

Each hashboard has 3 (6pin) plugs, and those three should be fed from a single PSU. I think you could even theoretically use 3(4) psus, one for each hashboard (3 6pin plug each) and the controller. You are also supposed to ensure the controller comes online (powered) first which also uses its own 6pin...

Neocommunist
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 1


View Profile
August 13, 2019, 10:46:42 PM
Last edit: August 13, 2019, 11:19:38 PM by frodocooper
Merited by philipma1957 (1)
 #9

Here i attached the image... it shows ground on the left

https://imgur.com/a/FwE0RrF
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2688
Merit: 2082



View Profile
August 13, 2019, 11:36:21 PM
Last edit: August 14, 2019, 12:29:48 AM by frodocooper
 #10

I gave you a merit  for posting the photo.  as for photo the ground on the board it is a meaningless reference. for your purposes.

what matters is as follows..

all your black wires on all your pcie cables  that go into the break out board are on  the side that has the clip

and all your black wires  on all your pcie cables that go into the miner are on the side  that has the clip

look at this thread.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2215578.0

mine are black and yellow

but the good wires are all  black to clip   and   yellow to no clip

you would be black to clip  and white to no clip

photo it before you turn it on.

since you want 2 psu's

you should  just  use 1 psu  and do 2 boards  with the controller

show us that photo

one of us will say it is good. or bad.

I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!