Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 12:36:32 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: zacate e350 (HD 6310)  (Read 6387 times)
FnuGk
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 55


View Profile
March 30, 2011, 01:57:57 PM
 #1

i have been thinking about getting a HTPC doubling as a file server now that the first AMD fusion chips are out. More specifically this will be the zacate e350 that has a HD 6310 on die so i was thinking if well this chip will fare in mining.

it is not listet here: https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Mining_hardware_comparison

so i am asking if anyone else have been trying any mining with this thing?


My bitcoin address if you feel like giving things away Smiley
1NvURSqNqFUX1g4xAJe5xzBJYRkMSCyXqk
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481157392
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481157392

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481157392
Reply with quote  #2

1481157392
Report to moderator
Garrett Burgwardt
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350



View Profile
March 30, 2011, 02:14:54 PM
 #2

My 6550 only gets ~40 mh/s so I'd bet close to 20 absolute tops for that card.
niooron
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 190


View Profile
March 30, 2011, 02:34:57 PM
 #3

My 6550 only gets ~40 mh/s so I'd bet close to 20 absolute tops for that card.

6550? When did AMD release low end 6xxx series?

14dxwuQwkQiLbZjJFfciZ26xSGdRU5mKEp
Garrett Burgwardt
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350



View Profile
March 30, 2011, 04:30:19 PM
 #4

It's only a rebranded 5650, nothing special Smiley

And it's only out in some newer Acer laptops it seems.
FnuGk
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 55


View Profile
April 01, 2011, 08:03:17 PM
 #5

i know im not gonna get incredible hash rates but would still like to know how it will perform

My bitcoin address if you feel like giving things away Smiley
1NvURSqNqFUX1g4xAJe5xzBJYRkMSCyXqk
shackleford
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 191


View Profile
April 01, 2011, 10:11:16 PM
 #6

I will be doing this in the next few weeks. I have an adiction of taking Apple G4Cubes and cramming PC parts in them. I have been waiting for this for a long time and this platform I think will be a great HTPC platform (and best for fanless in the cube). It will also have the purpose of a 24/7 miner @ 30-40?watts as opposed to 400watts for my normal desktop. I too looked for hash rates but did not find them.
ArtForz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
April 02, 2011, 12:54:59 AM
 #7

Same #ALUs as a 5450, 500 instead of 650 MHz clock, so I'd expect about 9.2 Mh/s

bitcoin: 1Fb77Xq5ePFER8GtKRn2KDbDTVpJKfKmpz
i0coin: jNdvyvd6v6gV3kVJLD7HsB5ZwHyHwAkfdw
shackleford
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 191


View Profile
April 02, 2011, 01:54:57 AM
 #8

Same #ALUs as a 5450, 500 instead of 650 MHz clock, so I'd expect about 9.2 Mh/s

I would be cool with 10Mh.

It will be like having something your always gonna have on anyway hashing, like an alarm clock that hashes @ 10Mh. I would not run a 125W CPU 24/7 for 10Mh but an 18W processor that hashes better than my 125W processor.. sure
FnuGk
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 55


View Profile
April 22, 2011, 12:20:41 PM
 #9

I know it's an old thread but with the e350 motherboards with an x4 (but x16 form factor) PCIe slot, could the CPU keep a faster card fed?  Say, if I put a 5870/6870 in the slot, would it be a total waste?

I'm looking for low power mining to stick in the cabinet with my surveillance DVR (ooh, wonder what that has inside...) and it would be good if I could pull 250-300Mhash/s out of it.

cant really see why it wouldn't work. Mining take next to no cpu so my guess is the e350 should be good enough.
Remember you would then have two gfx cards (the igp and the 5870/6870) Smiley

My bitcoin address if you feel like giving things away Smiley
1NvURSqNqFUX1g4xAJe5xzBJYRkMSCyXqk
teknohog
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 412


minor developer


View Profile WWW
April 22, 2011, 01:41:16 PM
 #10

I know it's an old thread but with the e350 motherboards with an x4 (but x16 form factor) PCIe slot, could the CPU keep a faster card fed?  Say, if I put a 5870/6870 in the slot, would it be a total waste?

I've been feeding two cards with an Atom D510, both cards on 1x slots. There is no noticeable difference to a faster system with 16x slots. The CPU load is pretty much zero in any case, and many people have found that that PCIe slot width is irrelevant. I even have one card mining in a conventional PCI slot through an an adapter, so it is even slower than 1x PCIe, but again there is no noticeable slowdown.

shivansps
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 346


View Profile
April 22, 2011, 06:24:55 PM
 #11

I already tested it... HD6310 gives 9.8Mhash/s at stock speeds.

1NEvmZTwLhqBgr3h7LwZap1sEHsyf3QFuv
teknohog
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 412


minor developer


View Profile WWW
April 22, 2011, 08:53:10 PM
 #12

Out of curiosity, what D510 board are you using with two PCIe slots?

Zotac NM10-DTX.

It has a 16x and a 1x slot, though both are only 1x electrically. An extender is necessary since they are next to each other, and one GPU takes at least 2 slots. I use a 1x extender with the end cut open to allow a full-size card.

If I were buying a similar motherboard now, I would choose something like Asus E35M1-M (with AMD Zacate), as it has a much better set of connectors and slots.

shivansps
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 346


View Profile
April 23, 2011, 01:25:47 AM
 #13

someone tested the max possible Mhash/s on a pci-e x1 1.1 and 2.0?

My 6870 is not bottlenecked in a pci-e x1 1.1, it still gives me 250mhash/s, but i have no idea on much more can be done on x1 1.1



1NEvmZTwLhqBgr3h7LwZap1sEHsyf3QFuv
Grinder
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1269


View Profile
April 23, 2011, 04:34:42 PM
 #14

Heat will shorten the lifetime of the battery, so unless you get a pretty decent speed you shouldn't use a laptop for mining.
shivansps
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 346


View Profile
April 23, 2011, 07:43:08 PM
 #15

he means a zacate on a mb...

Lets wait for Llanos APUs... those cpus will make a fine mbs for mining as the integrated igp can me added for extra mhash/s

1NEvmZTwLhqBgr3h7LwZap1sEHsyf3QFuv
FnuGk
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 55


View Profile
April 23, 2011, 09:29:38 PM
 #16

he means a zacate on a mb...

Lets wait for Llanos APUs... those cpus will make a fine mbs for mining as the integrated igp can me added for extra mhash/s

was also wondering about Llanos speed but didnt ask yet as they are not out yet. But what reasoning would there be to get the better cpu for mining? It will also have a higher power draw making it less ideal to use as a always on home server. The gpu will be better though but enough to compensate for the higher tdp?

My bitcoin address if you feel like giving things away Smiley
1NvURSqNqFUX1g4xAJe5xzBJYRkMSCyXqk
shivansps
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 346


View Profile
April 23, 2011, 09:54:13 PM
 #17

remember that one thing is the max TDP and another thing is the power consumption. They are not 1-1.

While Llanos IGPs will not gona be GREAT in performance, the IGP shares most of the subsytems with the x86 cores, so they gona give a low power consuption, compared to having a discrete card of similar performance running.

The problem is the performance/price, the cheapest Llano will gona come with 160SP not 400... so thats a problem, the 400SP only comes with the quad core Llanos. So we need to make some numbers once released.

Anyway, i think FM1 socket mbs will be the way to go, since you will be able to place in there a Zacate E-450(80SP 18W TDP) to a Quad Core Llano (400SP 95W TDP), and the discrete cards...



1NEvmZTwLhqBgr3h7LwZap1sEHsyf3QFuv
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!