Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 06:43:33 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Cgminer cant connect  (Read 5345 times)
oros55
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
November 16, 2011, 02:31:46 PM
 #1

Hi,
I'm trying to use cgminer to do some mining on pools but, I cannot join any pools with it.

I actually can join my own local server doing ./cgminer -o localhost:8332 etc..
But, when I try to join an external server, like pit.deepbit.net, I have :

[2011-11-16 15:23:43] HTTP request failed: connect() timed out!
[2011-11-16 15:23:43] Failed to connect in json_rpc_call
[2011-11-16 15:23:43] FAILED to retrieve work from pool 0 http://pit.deepbit.net:8332

I also cant join a server on the LAN with the minner, but I have no problems to ssh this server, or ping it.

I'm using Ubuntu.

regards,
1480877013
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480877013

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480877013
Reply with quote  #2

1480877013
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480877013
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480877013

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480877013
Reply with quote  #2

1480877013
Report to moderator
1480877013
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480877013

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480877013
Reply with quote  #2

1480877013
Report to moderator
1480877013
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480877013

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480877013
Reply with quote  #2

1480877013
Report to moderator
tysat
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952


Keep it real


View Profile
November 17, 2011, 02:45:15 AM
 #2

Are you behind a firewall that isn't letting port 8332 out?  Blocking of high ports is not uncommon.
oros55
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
November 17, 2011, 09:22:18 AM
 #3

Hi, I was able to download the blocks with the client, so I don't think high ports are blocked :/
P4man
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
November 17, 2011, 10:35:38 AM
 #4

Have you tried a pool on port 80? not sure if deepbit allows that, but bitminter (see my sig) does.
And you dont want to mine on deepbit anyway.

kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
November 17, 2011, 11:37:23 AM
 #5

Are the pool worker username and password correct?
Some pools (including deepbit) require you to connect with a worker username and password, not your login username and password ...

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!