Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 10:23:17 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Please help test:Bitcoin versions 0.4.1 and 0.5  (Read 4676 times)
Gavin Andresen
Legendary
*
qt
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652


Chief Scientist


View Profile WWW
November 20, 2011, 06:04:12 PM
 #21

Release Candidate 7 binaries are available at:
  https://sourceforge.net/projects/bitcoin/upload/Bitcoin/bitcoin-0.5.0/test/

Difference between rc6 and rc7 :  rc7 does not remove BDB (Berkeley database) log/* files, because that is causing un-readable wallets on some people's machines (all the reports were from people running 64-bit version of Linux, but that might have just been coincidence-- I could never reproduce the problem in any of my test environments).

What that means:  old private keys can remain in a file on your disk even after wallet encryption, but they will eventually be removed.  Details:

BDB closes the old logfile and opens a new one when it get close to 10megabytes big.

When bitcoin shuts down cleanly, it asks BDB to remove any unused log files, and BDB will remove all but one file from database/log.*

So: if you encrypt your wallet, unencrypted private keys will be in the old part of the log file. But after running for a half a day or so, BDB will close that old log file and open a new one. Then, the next time you restart bitcoin, the old log file containing the unencrypted keys is removed.

This seems like a reasonable compromise between security and safety for now; a better wallet encryption solution for the next version of bitcoin (for example, one that doesn't require shutting down and restarting after encrypting the wallet) is a good idea, but out of scope for this release.


How often do you get the chance to work on a potentially world-changing project?
1480846997
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480846997

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480846997
Reply with quote  #2

1480846997
Report to moderator
1480846997
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480846997

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480846997
Reply with quote  #2

1480846997
Report to moderator
1480846997
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480846997

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480846997
Reply with quote  #2

1480846997
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480846997
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480846997

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480846997
Reply with quote  #2

1480846997
Report to moderator
1480846997
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480846997

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480846997
Reply with quote  #2

1480846997
Report to moderator
kitich
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 48


View Profile
November 20, 2011, 06:48:42 PM
 #22

Win7 x86, 0.5rc7 - everything is ok. New UI - nice.
2112
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708



View Profile
November 20, 2011, 10:13:39 PM
 #23

how to find out more about
what happend, is db_verify useful?
You can use the appropriate BerkeleyDB utilities with the two caveats:

1) they need to be from the exactly same build as the BerkeleyDB library that you linked to;

2) manually create "DB_CONFIG" file contailing one line "set_lg_dir database".

Please comment, critique, criticize or ridicule BIP 2112: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=54382.0
Long-term mining prognosis: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=91101.0
Ryland R. Taylor-Almanza
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812



View Profile
November 21, 2011, 02:20:28 AM
 #24

Is it just me, or is downloading the blockchain significantly faster?
Mushroomized
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


Hello!


View Profile
November 21, 2011, 02:42:47 AM
 #25

Its so pretty

Pre Announcement for the Vulcanalia Mint! https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1645665
15ELF8DcNTMQ6diBQXFpKFSSMySDX2RBBh tip me for being a good boy
nomnomnom
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 311



View Profile
November 21, 2011, 09:13:40 AM
 #26

Good morning,

Release Candidate 7 binaries are available at:
  https://sourceforge.net/projects/bitcoin/upload/Bitcoin/bitcoin-0.5.0/test/

Difference between rc6 and rc7 :  rc7 does not remove BDB (Berkeley database) log/* files, because that is causing un-readable wallets on some people's machines (all the reports were from people running 64-bit version of Linux, but that might have just been coincidence-- I could never reproduce the problem in any of my test environments).

This seems to fix my problem, bitcoin starts now after it has rewritten the wallet.dat.
GideonGono
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 398


Long Live The FED


View Profile WWW
November 21, 2011, 01:04:35 PM
 #27

Is version 0.5 safe enough to recover a backed up wallet from? 0.4 isn't downloading the block chain when I try to recover.

Gavin Andresen
Legendary
*
qt
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652


Chief Scientist


View Profile WWW
November 21, 2011, 02:43:27 PM
 #28

Is version 0.5 safe enough to recover a backed up wallet from? 0.4 isn't downloading the block chain when I try to recover.
Yes.

But not being able to download the block-chain sounds like a networking issue that 0.5 is unlikely to fix.

How often do you get the chance to work on a potentially world-changing project?
piotr_n
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1498


aka tonikt


View Profile WWW
November 23, 2011, 02:44:35 PM
 #29

When building 0.5 for Windows, I need to add:
Code:
LIBS += -lgdi32
... at the bottom of bitcoin-qt.pro file

Otherwise it doesn't link.

Check out gocoin - my original project of a bitcoin client written in Go, with some unique features.
PGP fingerprint: AB9E A551 E262 A87A 13BB  9059 1BE7 B545 CDF3 FD0E
DaNmarner
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24


View Profile
November 24, 2011, 10:30:07 PM
 #30

On my Arch Linux 64bit desktop system, using an existing wallet form v0.4, the balance doesn't update as the blockchain is downloaded(even though under the "Transactions" tab they are shown as confirmed). Is this normal? Does update when the download is complete?
JA37
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


View Profile
November 25, 2011, 09:16:44 AM
 #31

How about "copy to clipboard" as the default action when double clicking a line in the receive tab? That action should be much more common than "change label" which is the default action today.

Ponzi me: http://fxnet.bitlex.org/?ref=588
Thanks to the anonymous person who doubled my BTC wealth by sending 0.02 BTC to: 1BSGbFq4G8r3uckpdeQMhP55ScCJwbvNnG
btc_artist
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


Bitcoin!


View Profile WWW
November 25, 2011, 04:45:37 PM
 #32

How about "copy to clipboard" as the default action when double clicking a line in the receive tab? That action should be much more common than "change label" which is the default action today.
Messing with the system clipboard should only be done when the user explicitly asks for it, so I think it should be a button press not a double-click, since people don't intuitively think double-clicking something will mess with their clipboard.

BTC: 1CDCLDBHbAzHyYUkk1wYHPYmrtDZNhk8zf
LTC: LMS7SqZJnqzxo76iDSEua33WCyYZdjaQoE
JA37
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


View Profile
November 25, 2011, 04:57:18 PM
 #33

How about "copy to clipboard" as the default action when double clicking a line in the receive tab? That action should be much more common than "change label" which is the default action today.
Messing with the system clipboard should only be done when the user explicitly asks for it, so I think it should be a button press not a double-click, since people don't intuitively think double-clicking something will mess with their clipboard.
You're right. The one true way of doing it would be to put it in the buffer when highlighting it, but since that's not common in the Windows world a double click will have to suffice I think.

You could put a dialog that you could confirm once that you want this functionality. Double click in the label field enters "Edit label", why not something similar in the address field?

Ponzi me: http://fxnet.bitlex.org/?ref=588
Thanks to the anonymous person who doubled my BTC wealth by sending 0.02 BTC to: 1BSGbFq4G8r3uckpdeQMhP55ScCJwbvNnG
btc_artist
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


Bitcoin!


View Profile WWW
November 25, 2011, 05:20:26 PM
 #34

How about "copy to clipboard" as the default action when double clicking a line in the receive tab? That action should be much more common than "change label" which is the default action today.
Messing with the system clipboard should only be done when the user explicitly asks for it, so I think it should be a button press not a double-click, since people don't intuitively think double-clicking something will mess with their clipboard.
You're right. The one true way of doing it would be to put it in the buffer when highlighting it, but since that's not common in the Windows world a double click will have to suffice I think.

You could put a dialog that you could confirm once that you want this functionality. Double click in the label field enters "Edit label", why not something similar in the address field?
You can't edit receiving addresses, but for the sending address list, a double-click for editing the address would make sense.

BTC: 1CDCLDBHbAzHyYUkk1wYHPYmrtDZNhk8zf
LTC: LMS7SqZJnqzxo76iDSEua33WCyYZdjaQoE
JA37
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


View Profile
November 25, 2011, 05:29:00 PM
 #35

How about "copy to clipboard" as the default action when double clicking a line in the receive tab? That action should be much more common than "change label" which is the default action today.
Messing with the system clipboard should only be done when the user explicitly asks for it, so I think it should be a button press not a double-click, since people don't intuitively think double-clicking something will mess with their clipboard.
You're right. The one true way of doing it would be to put it in the buffer when highlighting it, but since that's not common in the Windows world a double click will have to suffice I think.

You could put a dialog that you could confirm once that you want this functionality. Double click in the label field enters "Edit label", why not something similar in the address field?
You can't edit receiving addresses, but for the sending address list, a double-click for editing the address would make sense.
And copy to clipboard would make sense for addresses. What other action could you possibly want to take?

Ponzi me: http://fxnet.bitlex.org/?ref=588
Thanks to the anonymous person who doubled my BTC wealth by sending 0.02 BTC to: 1BSGbFq4G8r3uckpdeQMhP55ScCJwbvNnG
btc_artist
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


Bitcoin!


View Profile WWW
November 25, 2011, 05:34:23 PM
 #36

And copy to clipboard would make sense for addresses. What other action could you possibly want to take?
I just think that using a double-click to copy to clipboard would make it too easy for someone to inadvertently overwrite something needed* on their clipboard.

* For example, you would not want to overwrite a temporary password, or a screengrab, etc, that the user has in their clipboard and that cannot be easily recreated/retrieved.

BTC: 1CDCLDBHbAzHyYUkk1wYHPYmrtDZNhk8zf
LTC: LMS7SqZJnqzxo76iDSEua33WCyYZdjaQoE
JA37
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


View Profile
November 25, 2011, 06:12:58 PM
 #37

And copy to clipboard would make sense for addresses. What other action could you possibly want to take?
I just think that using a double-click to copy to clipboard would make it too easy for someone to inadvertently overwrite something needed* on their clipboard.

* For example, you would not want to overwrite a temporary password, or a screengrab, etc, that the user has in their clipboard and that cannot be easily recreated/retrieved.
Sure, they could. Or they could just stop doing stupid shit.

Anyway, just a suggestion to make life easier for bitcoiners. Take it or leave it.

Ponzi me: http://fxnet.bitlex.org/?ref=588
Thanks to the anonymous person who doubled my BTC wealth by sending 0.02 BTC to: 1BSGbFq4G8r3uckpdeQMhP55ScCJwbvNnG
btc_artist
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


Bitcoin!


View Profile WWW
November 25, 2011, 06:48:31 PM
 #38

And copy to clipboard would make sense for addresses. What other action could you possibly want to take?
I just think that using a double-click to copy to clipboard would make it too easy for someone to inadvertently overwrite something needed* on their clipboard.

* For example, you would not want to overwrite a temporary password, or a screengrab, etc, that the user has in their clipboard and that cannot be easily recreated/retrieved.
Sure, they could. Or they could just stop doing stupid shit.

Anyway, just a suggestion to make life easier for bitcoiners. Take it or leave it.
I totally get where you're coming from, but applications should not muck with shared system resources (such as the clipboard) in unexpected ways.  I think double-clicking to copy would be unexpected for many users.

BTC: 1CDCLDBHbAzHyYUkk1wYHPYmrtDZNhk8zf
LTC: LMS7SqZJnqzxo76iDSEua33WCyYZdjaQoE
evorios
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30


View Profile
November 25, 2011, 07:21:10 PM
 #39

When building bitcoind 0.5 for Windows in MinGW, I need to add:
Code:
-l boost_unit_test_framework-mgw45-mt-1_47 \
in "LIBS= \" in file "makefile.mingw".

When building bitcoin-qt 0.5 for Windows in QtCreator, I need to add:
Code:
BOOST_INCLUDE_PATH = "C:\boost-1.47.0-mgw"
BOOST_LIB_PATH = "C:\boost-1.47.0-mgw\stage\lib"
BDB_INCLUDE_PATH = "C:\db-4.8.30.NC-mgw\build_unix"
BDB_LIB_PATH = "C:\db-4.8.30.NC-mgw\build_unix"
OPENSSL_INCLUDE_PATH = "C:\openssl-1.0.0c-mgw\include"
OPENSSL_LIB_PATH = "C:\openssl-1.0.0c-mgw"
MINIUPNPC_INCLUDE_PATH = "C:\miniupnpc-1.6-mgw"
MINIUPNPC_LIB_PATH = "C:\miniupnpc-1.6-mgw"
BOOST_LIB_SUFFIX = "-mgw45-mt-1_47"
and
Code:
-leay32
in "windows:LIBS +=" in file "bitcoin-qt.pro".
Mushroomized
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


Hello!


View Profile
November 26, 2011, 06:21:42 PM
 #40

Maybe you could add an optional RSS feed of latest prices, or new or whatever  Wink

Pre Announcement for the Vulcanalia Mint! https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1645665
15ELF8DcNTMQ6diBQXFpKFSSMySDX2RBBh tip me for being a good boy
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!