Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 05:50:16 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: git question about weird trees when pulling  (Read 1275 times)
genjix
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1232


View Profile
March 31, 2011, 12:23:29 PM
 #1

My workflow working on my Bitcoin site is:
* Fetch encrypted database from server to localhost, unencrypt and load.
* Add new features to local machine & test.
* Push changes to gitorious (git push).
* Login to remote server and pull changes (git pull).

But my graph looks screwy:

Code:
*   d095816 (HEAD, master) Merge branch 'master' of git://gitorious.org/intersango/m
|\ 
| * 26810c9 (origin/master, origin/HEAD) force fixed precision in exchange rates SQL
* |   85590e6 Merge branch 'master' of git://gitorious.org/intersango/master
|\ \ 
| |/ 
| * 2cc7743 fixed conversion function to stop float rounding errors.
* |   f354456 Merge branch 'master' of git://gitorious.org/intersango/master
|\ \ 
| |/ 
| * f61ca2e changed exchange rate wording to reflect new alg.
* |   37af61e Merge branch 'master' of git://gitorious.org/intersango/master
|\ \ 
| |/ 
| * 08ec5ac fixed decimal places for exchanger.
| * ebc9a87 per nanotube's suggestion: switch buy to show sell rates & vice versa.
* |   607d762 Merge branch 'master' of git://gitorious.org/intersango/master
|\ \ 
| |/ 
| * 59080d5 per nanotube's suggestion, use best rate for calc rate.
| * 3996ad3 best rates go at the top.
| * 4a29854 reformatted exchange rate SQL.
* |   793fdf5 Merge branch 'master' of git://gitorious.org/intersango/master
|\ \ 
| |/ 
| * fdd322a Ability to cancel requests as well as stricter viewing permissions.
| * e140119 protect viewing orders from outside intruders.
| * 69d49b0 cast to string before comparison.
| * dbcb489 fixed typo preventing orders showing up
* |   083d928 Merge branch 'master' of git://gitorious.org/intersango/master
|\ \ 
| |/ 
| * 3770477 fix broken require path.
| * 7de5a0b moved into bank subdir. off by default to protected against user error.
* |   6341d52 Merge branch 'master' of git://gitorious.org/intersango/master
|\ \ 
| |/ 
| * 09e2947 withdrawal script to GBP bank.
* |   341c06d Merge branch 'master' of git://gitorious.org/intersango/master
|\ \ 
| |/ 

How can I fix that? On my local machine it shows:

Code:
* 26810c9 (HEAD, origin/master, master) force fixed precision in exchange rates SQL.
* 2cc7743 fixed conversion function to stop float rounding errors.
* f61ca2e changed exchange rate wording to reflect new alg.
* 08ec5ac fixed decimal places for exchanger.
* ebc9a87 per nanotube's suggestion: switch buy to show sell rates & vice versa.
* 59080d5 per nanotube's suggestion, use best rate for calc rate.
* 3996ad3 best rates go at the top.
* 4a29854 reformatted exchange rate SQL.
* fdd322a Ability to cancel requests as well as stricter viewing permissions.
* e140119 protect viewing orders from outside intruders.
* 69d49b0 cast to string before comparison.
* dbcb489 fixed typo preventing orders showing up
* 3770477 fix broken require path.
* 7de5a0b moved into bank subdir. off by default to protected against user error.
* 09e2947 withdrawal script to GBP bank.
* f066cf4 denominate all costs in terms of bitcoins.
* bdabf2d verification for bitcoin deposits are now instant.
* 4993f8c synchronise funds laying about.
* ee40599 actually perform query for real.
* ca1cf94 take command line argument.
* d170902 just to be safe.
* a82b1b1 stop it erroring on localhost.
* 5ff5220 actually perform bitcoin withdrawls now.
* de88367 verify only allows deposits.
* b90ec2b add to system in summa the unverified withdrawals.
* 50c2faa sub not add.
* dc719c1 improved summa algorithm
* c3e3ce9 moved missing function back out.
* 5988fe6 fixed missing function.
* 99c7d65 fix GMP problem behaviour.
1481305816
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481305816

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481305816
Reply with quote  #2

1481305816
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481305816
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481305816

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481305816
Reply with quote  #2

1481305816
Report to moderator
Grinder
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1269


View Profile
March 31, 2011, 05:20:59 PM
 #2

How did you expect it to look?
genjix
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1232


View Profile
March 31, 2011, 06:13:37 PM
 #3

How did you expect it to look?

Like the local machine (2nd one). I'm not making any changes there.
Grinder
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1269


View Profile
March 31, 2011, 06:54:02 PM
 #4

It all makes sense if you understand that origin/master (on gitorious) is the "real" master, and master on your local and remote machine are two different (local) branches that is just connected to the remote origin/master branch. The branch names on those machines could be anything, "master" is just a default. When you commit to your local machine it all goes into the same branch, so there's no need to show it as a tree. Then you merge them into origin/master with push. When you pull on the remote you merge the changes from origin/master into the local branch called master on that machine, so it makes sense to print it as a tree.
genjix
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1232


View Profile
March 31, 2011, 07:11:24 PM
 #5

Yep, I get why it's a tree. But I'm wondering if there's a way to prettify it into a list like on my local machine.
Grinder
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1269


View Profile
April 01, 2011, 10:13:01 AM
 #6

I still don't think I understand what you mean. Why do you use graph mode if you don't want the graph? At least I have to add the --graph parameter to get the graph. Perhaps git log --pretty=oneline does what you want?
genjix
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1232


View Profile
April 01, 2011, 10:39:13 AM
 #7

On my local machine I push some commits:
Code:
* 26810c9 (HEAD, origin/master, master) force fixed precision in exchange rates SQL.
* 2cc7743 fixed conversion function to stop float rounding errors.
* f61ca2e changed exchange rate wording to reflect new alg.
* 08ec5ac fixed decimal places for exchanger.

I login to the remote machine and pull:
Code:
*   d095816 (HEAD, master) Merge branch 'master' of git://gitorious.org/intersango/m
|\ 
| * 26810c9 (origin/master, origin/HEAD) force fixed precision in exchange rates SQL
* |   85590e6 Merge branch 'master' of git://gitorious.org/intersango/master
|\ \ 
| |/ 
| * 2cc7743 fixed conversion function to stop float rounding errors.
* |   f354456 Merge branch 'master' of git://gitorious.org/intersango/master
|\ \ 
| |/ 
| * f61ca2e changed exchange rate wording to reflect new alg.
* |   37af61e Merge branch 'master' of git://gitorious.org/intersango/master
|\ \ 
| |/ 
| * 08ec5ac fixed decimal places for exchanger.
| * ebc9a87 per nanotube's suggestion: switch buy to show sell rates & vice versa.
* |   607d762 Merge branch 'master' of git://gitorious.org/intersango/master
|\ \ 

Ugly! I have no local changes on the remote machine. How can I fix the merge graph so it's just a straight line like on my local machine. I don't see why it's needed to do merges when I have no changes locally.
doublec
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078


View Profile
April 01, 2011, 01:15:56 PM
 #8

It looks like at some point your remote machine had a commit that the local or gitorious didn't have. Now every pull from your remote machine is a merge.
genjix
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1232


View Profile
April 01, 2011, 01:19:19 PM
 #9

It looks like at some point your remote machine had a commit that the local or gitorious didn't have. Now every pull from your remote machine is a merge.

Bleh. Will it be fixed then if I do a re-clone and use that one?
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!