Bitcoin Forum
May 11, 2024, 09:23:37 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: chain[x] - Failed to read chain voltage (attempt=x) with resp: 0xff 0xff  (Read 134 times)
SH311 (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 01, 2020, 11:43:43 PM
Last edit: February 03, 2020, 12:56:09 AM by frodocooper
 #1

Hi guys

I have a new S17+ with 73 Th's by default and has ready for inmersion cooling.

Has been installed the 0.9.9 firmware release from Asic.to (https://asic.to/antminer-s17-t17-optimized-firmware/) but return me the error on kernel log.

What happend? This is the first setup and first run, never i used this miner.

Thank'u
1715462617
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715462617

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715462617
Reply with quote  #2

1715462617
Report to moderator
1715462617
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715462617

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715462617
Reply with quote  #2

1715462617
Report to moderator
If you see garbage posts (off-topic, trolling, spam, no point, etc.), use the "report to moderator" links. All reports are investigated, though you will rarely be contacted about your reports.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
mikeywith
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2226
Merit: 6376


be constructive or S.T.F.U


View Profile
February 02, 2020, 05:16:11 PM
Last edit: February 03, 2020, 12:56:35 AM by frodocooper
Merited by Heisenberg_Hunter (1)
 #2

Based on Cgmier code, here is the function that throws that error

Code:
void mcompat_get_chip_volt(int chain_id, int *chip_volt)
{
int chip_id;
unsigned char reg[REG_LENGTH] = {0};
unsigned int volt = 0;

for (chip_id = 1; chip_id <= g_chip_num; chip_id++) {
if(!mcompat_cmd_read_register(chain_id, chip_id, reg, REG_LENGTH)) {
applog(LOG_ERR, "failed to read voltage for chain%d chip%d",
chain_id, chip_id);
chip_volt[chip_id - 1] = 0;
continue;
} else {
cgsleep_ms(2);
volt = 0x000003ff & ((reg[7] << 8) | reg[8]);
chip_volt[chip_id - 1] = (volt * MUL_COEF) >> 10;
}
}
}

https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer/blob/master/dm_compat.c

Hopefully, someone with better understanding of the cgminer can explain the error in details, however, I think taserz will be the best one to answer your question, his firmware is relatively new and it's unlikely that there is anyone else who had a similar issue.

I will forward this topic to him to get his attention, but it would be best if you post in his topic Firmware for S17 - 85th/s and T17 - 65th/s T17 44t@45w/t • AUTO-TUNE • Asic.to, I don't know what "terms" he has in regards to support, but he is a nice dude and he might even go to as far as remotely logging into your PC and check your miner.

Before that start with the normal troubleshooting methods such as powering the miner off for a few minutes, trying a different PSU if available, and changing the network cable.

█▀▀▀











█▄▄▄
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
e
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
█████████████
████████████▄███
██▐███████▄█████▀
█████████▄████▀
███▐████▄███▀
████▐██████▀
█████▀█████
███████████▄
████████████▄
██▄█████▀█████▄
▄█████████▀█████▀
███████████▀██▀
████▀█████████
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
c.h.
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
▀▀▀█











▄▄▄█
▄██████▄▄▄
█████████████▄▄
███████████████
███████████████
███████████████
███████████████
███░░█████████
███▌▐█████████
█████████████
███████████▀
██████████▀
████████▀
▀██▀▀
taserz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 800
Merit: 293


Created AutoTune to saved the planet! ~USA


View Profile
February 02, 2020, 05:50:06 PM
Last edit: February 03, 2020, 12:56:58 AM by frodocooper
 #3

Okay so that error you got was on purpose. You flashed the S17 non e or + firmware to the machine and it is not compatible. We will have a beta firmware up in a few days for the + and e models. That error was made on purpose to prevent the machine from mining and causing damage with incompatible firmware.

https://asic.to/files/Firmware/Stock/SD-S17e.zip
https://asic.to/files/Firmware/Stock/SD_S17+.rar

^Download the proper one and flash via sd card and then flash the current bitmain firmware to return to stock until it is ready Smiley

Autotune Firmware for S19 and S19j! Overclock, Underclock, AutoTuning. Asic.to The MOON Increased hashrate, improved power efficiency 30w/TH up to 85th/s!!Mining bitcoin since 2011 • Best nerd decision of my life
SH311 (OP)
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 02, 2020, 06:44:15 PM
 #4

hahah ok guys,

i will use the new and andapted version. Toplic closed for me.

Very thank's Wink
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!