Bitcoin Forum
April 19, 2014, 12:48:00 AM *
News: Due to the OpenSSL heartbleed bug, changing your forum password is recommended.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Mining for dummies... Is permanent internet access needed?  (Read 1478 times)
Pygy
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47


View Profile

Ignore
March 31, 2011, 02:12:41 PM
 #1

I plan to build a 5970-based mining rig, but I need to know one thing: Does the miner require permanent net access? If not, how often should it be connected?

I'm wary of the fan noise, and would prefer to install my miner in the basement, but it would be out of the range of my Wifi router, so I'd need a pair of ethernet-power line adapters.

Thanks in advance :-).
1397868480
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1397868480

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1397868480
Reply with quote  #2

1397868480
Report to moderator
1397868480
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1397868480

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1397868480
Reply with quote  #2

1397868480
Report to moderator
Private Internet Access™ - No logs, Unlimited Bandwidth, PC Magazine's Editor's Choice
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1397868480
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1397868480

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1397868480
Reply with quote  #2

1397868480
Report to moderator
1397868480
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1397868480

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1397868480
Reply with quote  #2

1397868480
Report to moderator
Garrett Burgwardt
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350


Bitcoin is the future - glad I got here early!


View Profile

Ignore
March 31, 2011, 02:50:21 PM
 #2

Yes, it must be connected 24/7
compro01
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 483


View Profile

Ignore
March 31, 2011, 03:38:49 PM
 #3

I'm wary of the fan noise, and would prefer to install my miner in the basement, but it would be out of the range of my Wifi router, so I'd need a pair of ethernet-power line adapters.

how far out of range?  whomping up a simple pringles can antenna could give you the needed reach
Pygy
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47


View Profile

Ignore
March 31, 2011, 05:39:55 PM
 #4

The Pringle antenna won't do the trick, my Wifi router doesn't have separate antennas.

What is the bandwith consumption?
wb3
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


^Check Out^ Isle 3


View Profile

Ignore
March 31, 2011, 05:43:01 PM
 #5

ever heard about UTP5 cable?

No, but I heard of Cat 5, guess its a geographic thing.

Net Worth = 0.10    Hah, "Net" worth Smiley
compro01
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 483


View Profile

Ignore
March 31, 2011, 07:27:20 PM
 #6

The Pringle antenna won't do the trick, my Wifi router doesn't have separate antennas.

What is the bandwith consumption?

i was meaning on computer you're connecting, not the router.

as for bandwidth, my bandwidth monitor shows for my miners (GPU and CPU, both running in the deepbit pool) and client a total of 470MB downloaded and 1012MB uploaded over the past month.
mewantsbitcoins
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile

Ignore
March 31, 2011, 10:03:43 PM
 #7

If you don't mind a small investment, Alfa network adapters are good choice.
For the b/g network I'd recommend: http://www.data-alliance.net/-strse-73/Alfa-AWUS036H-1000mW-USB/Detail.bok
and for the n network : http://www.data-alliance.net/-strse-158/Alfa-AWUS036NH-2000mW-1000mW/Detail.bok

These adapters should be plenty, but in case you still find yourself out of range, there's a cheap and cheerful 9dB antenna for $9.99: http://www.data-alliance.net/-strse-63/Antenna-9dbi-Alfa-RP-dsh-SMA/Detail.bok
m86
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile

Ignore
March 31, 2011, 11:08:56 PM
 #8

A router like the Buffalo WHR-HP-G54 might be worth looking at if you want to expand your wireless range, ever. It has a built-in amp and will work smashingly with Tomato (or DD-WRT, I suppose).

Also, personally, I would go with an EnGenius EUB-362 EXT over an ALFA Network AWUS036H. The device is generally a better performer for weaker networks (based on my experience, anyway). You would be limited to NDISwrapper usage only in Linux, however, since the device uses the (currently unsupported) Atheros AR5523+AR2112 chipset.
MoonShadow
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358



View Profile

Ignore
April 01, 2011, 12:18:56 AM
 #9

A router like the Buffalo WHR-HP-G54 might be worth looking at if you want to expand your wireless range, ever.

I recently got one of these, as they are suggested hardware for a PirateBox.  The device is impressive.

"The powers of financial capitalism had another far-reaching aim, nothing less than to create a world system of financial control in private hands able to dominate the political system of each country and the economy of the world as a whole. This system was to be controlled in a feudalist fashion by the central banks of the world acting in concert, by secret agreements arrived at in frequent meetings and conferences. The apex of the systems was to be the Bank for International Settlements in Basel, Switzerland, a private bank owned and controlled by the world's central banks which were themselves private corporations. Each central bank...sought to dominate its government by its ability to control Treasury loans, to manipulate foreign exchanges, to influence the level of economic activity in the country, and to influence cooperative politicians by subsequent economic rewards in the business world."

- Carroll Quigley, CFR member, mentor to Bill Clinton, from 'Tragedy And Hope'
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!