Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 05:01:51 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: AMD 5870 on Archlinux  (Read 5003 times)
alexmat
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210



View Profile
April 01, 2011, 02:14:43 AM
 #1

I just go my hands on a 5870, put it in my Archlinux box, installed the latest catalyst drivers and amdstream 2.3, but opencl apps don't detect the card.

Here is the output of lspci:

Code:
03:00.1 Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc Cypress HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 5800 Series]

and clinfo:
Code:
Number of platforms: 1
  Platform Profile: FULL_PROFILE
  Platform Version: OpenCL 1.1 ATI-Stream-v2.3 (451)
  Platform Name: ATI Stream
  Platform Vendor: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc.
  Platform Extensions: cl_khr_icd cl_amd_event_callback cl_amd_offline_devices


  Platform Name: ATI Stream
Number of devices: 1
  Device Type: CL_DEVICE_TYPE_CPU
  Device ID: 4098
  Max compute units: 2
  Max work items dimensions: 3
    Max work items[0]: 1024
    Max work items[1]: 1024
    Max work items[2]: 1024
  Max work group size: 1024
  Preferred vector width char: 16
  Preferred vector width short: 8
  Preferred vector width int: 4
  Preferred vector width long: 2
  Preferred vector width float: 4
  Preferred vector width double: 0
  Native vector width char: 16
  Native vector width short: 8
  Native vector width int: 4
  Native vector width long: 2
  Native vector width float: 4
  Native vector width double: 0
  Max clock frequency: 2009Mhz
  Address bits: 64
  Max memory allocation: 1073741824
  Image support: No
  Max size of kernel argument: 4096
  Alignment (bits) of base address: 1024
  Minimum alignment (bytes) for any datatype: 128
  Single precision floating point capability
    Denorms: Yes
    Quiet NaNs: Yes
    Round to nearest even: Yes
    Round to zero: Yes
    Round to +ve and infinity: Yes
    IEEE754-2008 fused multiply-add: No
  Cache type: Read/Write
  Cache line size: 64
  Cache size: 65536
  Global memory size: 3221225472
  Constant buffer size: 65536
  Max number of constant args: 8
  Local memory type: Global
  Local memory size: 32768
  Kernel Preferred work group size multiple: 1
  Error correction support: 0
  Unified memory for Host and Device: 1
  Profiling timer resolution: 1
  Device endianess: Little
  Available: Yes
  Compiler available: Yes
  Execution capabilities:
    Execute OpenCL kernels: Yes
    Execute native function: Yes
  Queue properties:
    Out-of-Order: No
    Profiling : Yes
  Platform ID: 0x7f9f262bf880
  Name: AMD Opteron(tm) Processor 246
  Vendor: AuthenticAMD
  Driver version: 2.0
  Profile: FULL_PROFILE
  Version: OpenCL 1.1 ATI-Stream-v2.3 (451)
  Extensions: cl_amd_fp64 cl_khr_global_int32_base_atomics cl_khr_global_int32_extended_atomics cl_khr_local_int32_base_atomics cl_khr_local_int32_extended_atomics cl_khr_int64_base_atomics cl_khr_int64_extended_atomics cl_khr_byte_addressable_store cl_khr_gl_sharing cl_ext_device_fission cl_amd_device_attribute_query cl_amd_media_ops cl_amd_popcnt cl_amd_printf

Any help is appreciated.

1481389311
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481389311

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481389311
Reply with quote  #2

1481389311
Report to moderator
1481389311
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481389311

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481389311
Reply with quote  #2

1481389311
Report to moderator
1481389311
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481389311

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481389311
Reply with quote  #2

1481389311
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481389311
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481389311

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481389311
Reply with quote  #2

1481389311
Report to moderator
1481389311
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481389311

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481389311
Reply with quote  #2

1481389311
Report to moderator
gjs278
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33


View Profile
April 01, 2011, 02:33:17 AM
 #2

try installing 2.2 for stream, it performs a lot better anyways
urizane
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56



View Profile
April 01, 2011, 03:09:18 AM
 #3

Here is the output of lspci:

Code:
03:00.1 Audio device: ATI Technologies Inc Cypress HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 5800 Series]

You've got the wrong device picked out.  If you don't see the Video device listed specifically, you've got a configuration snafu.  Try Catalyst 10.12.
alexmat
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210



View Profile
April 01, 2011, 03:11:22 AM
 #4

Ok I installed SDK 2.2 instead. Same deal. It only lists the Opteron CPU, not showing the GPU.

Do I need a specific version of the driver?

Also it looks like both fglrx and radeon modules show up in lsmod... is this normal?

@urizame: sorry about that, the corresponding VGA Controller also shows up. Will 10.12 work with the latest kernel? I'm guessing I'll have to run the ati installer?

Cryptoman
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728



View Profile
April 01, 2011, 04:21:59 AM
 #5

What do you get for "aticonfig --lsa"?  Are you running your monitor on the 5870 or another GPU in the system?

"A small body of determined spirits fired by an unquenchable faith in their mission can alter the course of history." --Gandhi
alexmat
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210



View Profile
April 01, 2011, 06:15:15 AM
 #6

aticonfig --lsa:

Code:
* 0. 03:00.0 ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series

* - Default adapter

Headless system, there is an onboard nvidia nforce gpu on the motherboard.

alexmat
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210



View Profile
April 01, 2011, 08:33:43 AM
 #7

After a bit of hacking the catalyst package I got 10.12 installed. Same issue.

I'm attaching my ati sysinfo dump.

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/11759463/atisysteminfo-report.txt.gz

Cryptoman
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728



View Profile
April 01, 2011, 06:24:46 PM
 #8

Headless system, there is an onboard nvidia nforce gpu on the motherboard.

That may be where the problem lies.  I could never get such a setup to work.  The Nvidia and ATI drivers don't play well together.  Try uninstalling your Nvidia driver and disabling the onboard GPU in the BIOS.  Run your monitor on the 5870.  Rename the xorg.conf file before running "aticonfig --initial".

"A small body of determined spirits fired by an unquenchable faith in their mission can alter the course of history." --Gandhi
trentzb
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
April 01, 2011, 06:32:07 PM
 #9

Also it looks like both fglrx and radeon modules show up in lsmod... is this normal?
Get rid of the radeon module.
alexmat
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210



View Profile
April 01, 2011, 07:09:39 PM
 #10

I switched my monitor to the 5870 and that seems to work ok, but there is no option in the bios to disable the onboard card. It's a TYAN board.

I also found that the onboard card is and ATI Rage XL. I removed the radeon module so that only fglrx is loading. Still not coming up. Any thoughts?

lspci | grep VGA:

Code:
01:06.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Rage XL (rev 27)
03:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon HD 5870 (Cypress)

Cryptoman
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728



View Profile
April 01, 2011, 07:15:55 PM
 #11

When you say "opencl apps don't detect the card," what exactly do you mean by this?  What do you get when you run poclbm.py with no arguments?

"A small body of determined spirits fired by an unquenchable faith in their mission can alter the course of history." --Gandhi
trentzb
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
April 01, 2011, 07:20:35 PM
 #12

You of course already did sudo aticonfig --initial --adapter=all right?

Do you get X on your monitor when connected to 5870? Have ICD registration in /etc/OpenCL/vendors/ ?

Follow:
http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=3359.msg47174#msg47174
alexmat
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210



View Profile
April 01, 2011, 07:57:26 PM
 #13

$ /opt/amdstream/samples/opencl/bin/x86_64/CLInfo |grep CL_DEVICE_TYPE_GPU

this returns nothing

$ /opt/amdstream/samples/opencl/bin/x86_64/CLInfo |grep CL_DEVICE_TYPE_CPU

works though, so it seems the amdstream stuff is installed ok.

I did do the aticonfig stuff.

But now I'm thinking its something with the driver.

I attached a monitor to the ati card and tried running x, but it fails to load saying fglrx can't be found. Yet it does show up in lsmod. I wonder if this has something to do with me using the older 10.12 driver and just pulling down the newest xorg.

I guess for now I will try to just get x running on the card using fglrx... seems like the more common use case.

Thanks for the link Trentzb... I did follow all the steps, but something else is up.

Raulo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


View Profile
April 01, 2011, 08:08:18 PM
 #14

Check
Code:
$ fglrxinfo

It should print something like:
Code:
display: :0.0  screen: 0
OpenGL vendor string: ATI Technologies Inc.
OpenGL renderer string: ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series
OpenGL version string: 4.1.10362 Compatibility Profile Context

If not, it's the problem with drivers or xorg.conf. If it prints correctly it may still be a problem with xorg.conf but it's rather SDK.

1HAoJag4C3XtAmQJAhE9FTAAJWFcrvpdLM
trentzb
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
April 01, 2011, 08:14:59 PM
 #15

I attached a monitor to the ati card and tried running x, but it fails to load saying fglrx can't be found. Yet it does show up in lsmod. I
The module showing up in lsmod is not the X driver/module. Get X running on your 5870 and it is likely your problems will disappear providing you have your ICD registration and env set up properly.

find /usr/lib/xorg/ | grep -i fglrx
/usr/lib/xorg/modules/linux/libfglrxdrm.so
/usr/lib/xorg/modules/drivers/fglrx_drv.so

And re-fix up your xorg.conf with another aticonfig --initial -f

alexmat
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210



View Profile
April 01, 2011, 08:18:31 PM
 #16

Wohoo! Progress... so I reinstalled the latest catalyst driver and X came up. I ran the CLInfo command from an xterm and bam, 2 devices: cpu and gpu!

Then I ssh in and run CLInfo and nothing, I only get the cpu.

So it looks like I need to have X running or else the gpu is not registered.

Is anyone running headless? Is there any way to mine without having to run X?

Maybe that was my disconnect.

trentzb
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
April 01, 2011, 08:22:55 PM
 #17

Is anyone running headless? Is there any way to mine without having to run X?
Not that I am aware of.
trentzb
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
April 01, 2011, 08:24:17 PM
 #18

Sorry, I meant not with a GPU that I am aware of. You can run CPU mining headless of course.
Raulo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


View Profile
April 01, 2011, 08:26:14 PM
 #19

Is anyone running headless? Is there any way to mine without having to run X?

You have to run X but you don't need to have a monitor attached nor login at the console.

Code:
export DISPLAY=:0

is all you need if you are logged in at the console and if you are not (only xdm/gdm is running), running OpenCL programs as root solves the problem.

1HAoJag4C3XtAmQJAhE9FTAAJWFcrvpdLM
alexmat
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210



View Profile
April 01, 2011, 09:07:29 PM
 #20

Great! Thanks for the tip. I'll mess around with it.

Getting 312Mhash/s using amdstream 2.2 and Catalyst(fglrx) 11.3.

I tried amdstream 2.3 and dropped to 14Mhash/s. Insane.

I tried amdstream 2.1 as well, FOR SCIENCE!!!, but the python script threw some error about some rectangle function being missing or something like that. Forgot to note it down because I'm just happy its working after all this effort.

Thanks everyone for all the help.  Cheesy

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!