Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 02:15:58 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Possible to use the onboard GPU of a laptop for mining?  (Read 7659 times)
factotumjack
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile
November 22, 2011, 03:49:05 AM
 #1

I have a laptop with an onboard graphics card (Mobile Intel 4 Series Chipset on a Dell Inspiron 1440). Is it possible to mine using this instead of my CPU?

I've read something about the card requiring OpenCL support but I wasn't clear whether that was related to GUIminer, or to BitCoin in general that the support was needed.

Could someone give me a quick prognosis on my GPU mining prospects?

Thanks.
- Jack

Recent MSc Statistics graduate from UBC Okanagan. Now offering statistical consulting and data analysis for CAD/USD or BitCoins.

Programmer of Doc Logic on X-Box Indie Games: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4IBIqmQ6CjA
1480817758
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480817758

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480817758
Reply with quote  #2

1480817758
Report to moderator
1480817758
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480817758

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480817758
Reply with quote  #2

1480817758
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
November 22, 2011, 04:31:57 AM
 #2

Your GPU is junk even if it had OpenCL drivers the troughput would be less than electrical cost.  Intel doesn't provide OpenCL drivers for their GPU making the point moot.

Don't feel bad even if you had a massive and ultra expensive laptop GPU (like kind found in $2500+ gaming laptops) it would only provide lackluster performance (worse than $80 desktop GPU) due to thermal throttling.
factotumjack
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile
November 22, 2011, 05:08:51 AM
 #3

That's reasonable. Didn't know it was such a difference.

Thanks for the quick answer.

Recent MSc Statistics graduate from UBC Okanagan. Now offering statistical consulting and data analysis for CAD/USD or BitCoins.

Programmer of Doc Logic on X-Box Indie Games: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4IBIqmQ6CjA
cablepair
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 854


https://btc-republic.com/index.php?ref=cablepair


View Profile WWW
November 28, 2011, 11:50:31 AM
 #4

Hes right about the fact that it would be pointless to mine with it

but it is possible

Go to intels support site and look around for the Intel Developers SDK

if you install that you may be able to mine with your graphics card, and even if you cant do that it will at least allow you to mine with your CPU
(I have actually done this before way back when the difficulty was crazy low, I managed to mine with intel HD onboard graphics)

The funny thing is I have a decent GPU in my laptop now, its a Radeon HD 6650M, but it wont mine because it uses a special version of the AMD drivers provided by Acer

bummer dude Sad
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
November 28, 2011, 01:32:10 PM
 #5

How did you do that when Intel has no OpenCL drivers for any GPU?

http://software.intel.com/sites/landingpage/vcsource/frame.php?u=http%3A//software.intel.com/en-us/articles/opencl-release-notes
cablepair
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 854


https://btc-republic.com/index.php?ref=cablepair


View Profile WWW
November 28, 2011, 01:41:42 PM
 #6

can you please reference to me what part of this article points that out?

I do not have time to read through it.

thanks
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
November 28, 2011, 01:48:22 PM
 #7

Quote
Hardware Requirements

Intel® OpenCL SDK 1.5 requires support for the Intel® Streaming SIMD Extensions 4.1 (Intel® SSE 4.1) or higher (Intel SSE 4.2, Intel® Advanced Vector Extensions (Intel® AVX)). SDK works on the CPU's which contain support for the required instruction set extensions:

Mobile and Desktop Products:

2nd Generation Intel® Core™ i7 Extreme Processors
2nd Generation Intel® Core™ i7 Processors
2nd Generation Intel® Core™ i5 Processors
2nd Generation Intel® Core™ i3 Processors
Previous Generation Intel® Core™ i7 Extreme Processors
Previous Generation Intel® Core™ i7 Processors
Previous Generation Intel® Core™ i5 Processors
Previous Generation Intel® Core™ i3 Processors
Intel® Core™ 2 Extreme Processor, 9000 series
Intel® Core™ 2 Quad Processor
Intel® Core™ 2 Duo Processor, 8000 series
Intel® Core™ 2 Duo Processor E7200.
Server Products:

Intel® Xeon® Processors, 7500, 7400 series
Intel® Xeon® Processors, 5500 series
Quad-Core Intel® Xeon® Processor 5400, 3300 series
Dual-Core Intel® Xeon® Processor, 5200, 3100 series.

Intel has no support for OpenCL on any GPU.
cablepair
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 854


https://btc-republic.com/index.php?ref=cablepair


View Profile WWW
November 28, 2011, 01:59:05 PM
 #8

I could be wrong, but I swear I got it working before with the developers SDK

oh well your probably right that was a long time ago
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
November 28, 2011, 02:01:20 PM
 #9

I may be wrong but I don't think so.

It is pretty pathetic that Intel hasn't released OpenCL drivers for their GPU.  I see no technical reason why.   My guess is Intel makes a lot more on CPU than GPU and thus likes OpenCL as long as it involves CPUs.  Anything that undermines the superiority of Intel CPU clashes with their strategic vision.
anatolikostis
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1736



View Profile
December 12, 2011, 02:45:18 PM
 #10

Topic: Possible to use the onboard GPU of a laptop for mining?

Answer: Yes, It`s possible to burn the onboard GPU of a laptop during mining... Grin
fourd00rgtz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 144


View Profile
December 23, 2011, 05:40:14 PM
 #11

My laptop has an Nvidia gtx480m that does about 44Mhash, very not worth it.

reg
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 463


View Profile
January 11, 2012, 05:12:27 AM
 #12

death and taxes,
 just read your interesting thread, I am struggling as non tech newbie to mine. hung up because in devices on guiminer comes up " no open cll devices". your thread explains why (i think). I was able to find my processors are two intel(r) Pentium(r) 4 cpu 2.8 GHz.   does this mean I have to aquire another processor as it does not appear on the list you gave out? or is there another way to skin the cat? I would appreciate your advice. regards reg.
reg
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 463


View Profile
January 11, 2012, 06:09:49 AM
 #13

ps:system does have intel R exreme graphics 2   Intel R82865G  Graphics controller?  regards . reg.
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
January 11, 2012, 01:28:23 PM
 #14

death and taxes,
 just read your interesting thread, I am struggling as non tech newbie to mine. hung up because in devices on guiminer comes up " no open cll devices". your thread explains why (i think). I was able to find my processors are two intel(r) Pentium(r) 4 cpu 2.8 GHz.   does this mean I have to aquire another processor as it does not appear on the list you gave out? or is there another way to skin the cat? I would appreciate your advice. regards reg.

Honestly I don't know much about CPU mining.  If you did get it working hash rate would be beyond horrible and thus the revenue in bitcoins would be bitcents a week.  The electricity would be far more.  If you want to mess around w/ mining I would check out LiteCoin in the alt crypto currencies forum.  BTW I don't believe LTC has any long term value but in the short term you could mine them and sell them to gain Bitcoins.

To effectively mine Bitcoins you either need high end GPU or dedicated FPGA devices.
cablepair
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 854


https://btc-republic.com/index.php?ref=cablepair


View Profile WWW
January 11, 2012, 01:41:25 PM
 #15

death and taxes,
 just read your interesting thread, I am struggling as non tech newbie to mine. hung up because in devices on guiminer comes up " no open cll devices". your thread explains why (i think). I was able to find my processors are two intel(r) Pentium(r) 4 cpu 2.8 GHz.   does this mean I have to aquire another processor as it does not appear on the list you gave out? or is there another way to skin the cat? I would appreciate your advice. regards reg.

at the current difficulty mining with that cpu would do nothing other than kill our cpu and make your electrical bill a little higher

a p4 cpu would maybe submit one share a day?

so if you submit one share a day x at current PPS rates you would be making

      0.00003797700112811681 BTC per day

and your cpu would be dead very soon
_Crash_
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile WWW
March 25, 2014, 07:40:54 PM
 #16

Sorry for reviving an old topic, but I'd like to say that I have mined on a laptop (for ~5 secs) as a test with an Intel Chipset for graphics. I'm unsure of what chipset it was but yes it does work.

Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!