Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 09:58:48 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Overclocking 5850  (Read 3141 times)
yochdog
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1666



View Profile
November 24, 2011, 06:32:38 PM
 #1

Hey all,

I realize I will get some crap for this.....but what is the best program to overclock some 5850's?

I just picked up 5 on the cheap, and the most I can get out of them on MSI Afterburner is 775 MHz.  They are XFX brand.

My Saphirre 5850's have no problem hitting 900 MHz.  Am I doing something wrong?  Do XFX not go higher than 775?

thanks! 

I am a trusted trader!  Ask Inaba, Luo Demin, Vanderbleek, Sannyasi, Episking, Miner99er, Isepick, Amazingrando, Cablez, ColdHardMetal, Dextryn, MB300sd, Robocoder, gnar1ta$ and many others!
1481450328
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481450328

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481450328
Reply with quote  #2

1481450328
Report to moderator
1481450328
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481450328

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481450328
Reply with quote  #2

1481450328
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481450328
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481450328

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481450328
Reply with quote  #2

1481450328
Report to moderator
1481450328
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481450328

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481450328
Reply with quote  #2

1481450328
Report to moderator
1481450328
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481450328

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481450328
Reply with quote  #2

1481450328
Report to moderator
Turbor
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


BitMinter


View Profile WWW
November 25, 2011, 06:28:26 PM
 #2

AMD GPU clock tool works well for me and 5850s.

Eveofwar
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
November 25, 2011, 07:02:21 PM
 #3

ATI Tray Tools <3
despoiler
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 94


View Profile
January 11, 2012, 12:36:25 AM
 #4

MSI Afterburner is very popular.  I would also check out Sapphire Trixx

http://www.sapphireselectclub.com/ssc/TriXX/TriXX.aspx
ssateneth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288



View Profile
January 11, 2012, 08:30:56 AM
 #5

be careful with msi afterburner. people say it'll fry your cards by setting the max voltage at random.

malevolent
can into space
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624



View Profile
January 11, 2012, 08:08:58 PM
 #6

be careful with msi afterburner. people say it'll fry your cards by setting the max voltage at random.

Only if you are monitoring the voltage and using another tool which does the same (GPU-Z, Everest).

AFAIK it only applies to HD5000's VRMs
yochdog
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1666



View Profile
January 11, 2012, 10:26:36 PM
 #7

So the only thing that sometimes works is the clock tool.....and that only works about 50% of the time. 

Moral of the story:  Only buy 5850's with a bios that allows for more than 775 Mhz. 

Lesson learned.....

I am a trusted trader!  Ask Inaba, Luo Demin, Vanderbleek, Sannyasi, Episking, Miner99er, Isepick, Amazingrando, Cablez, ColdHardMetal, Dextryn, MB300sd, Robocoder, gnar1ta$ and many others!
malevolent
can into space
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624



View Profile
January 11, 2012, 10:42:25 PM
 #8

So the only thing that sometimes works is the clock tool.....and that only works about 50% of the time. 

Moral of the story:  Only buy 5850's with a bios that allows for more than 775 Mhz. 

Lesson learned.....

You can always edit / flash a different BIOS with RBE.
yochdog
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1666



View Profile
January 11, 2012, 10:50:45 PM
 #9

So the only thing that sometimes works is the clock tool.....and that only works about 50% of the time. 

Moral of the story:  Only buy 5850's with a bios that allows for more than 775 Mhz. 

Lesson learned.....

You can always edit / flash a different BIOS with RBE.

I am sure I will end up going down that road.....though last time I met with limited success on that as well. 

I am a trusted trader!  Ask Inaba, Luo Demin, Vanderbleek, Sannyasi, Episking, Miner99er, Isepick, Amazingrando, Cablez, ColdHardMetal, Dextryn, MB300sd, Robocoder, gnar1ta$ and many others!
despoiler
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 94


View Profile
January 12, 2012, 09:35:19 PM
 #10

Sapphire Trixx allows you to bypass the 775 limit w/o flashing the card or invoking any special parameters for the tool.
yochdog
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1666



View Profile
January 12, 2012, 10:06:59 PM
 #11

Sapphire Trixx allows you to bypass the 775 limit w/o flashing the card or invoking any special parameters for the tool.

I am going to download it right now.  Will report back the results.....thanks for the tip! 

I am a trusted trader!  Ask Inaba, Luo Demin, Vanderbleek, Sannyasi, Episking, Miner99er, Isepick, Amazingrando, Cablez, ColdHardMetal, Dextryn, MB300sd, Robocoder, gnar1ta$ and many others!
P4man
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
January 13, 2012, 08:44:18 AM
 #12

I have several 5850s, from MSI, XFX and sapphire. None of them have trouble clocking over 775, but if you use windows (which you shouldnt IMO), then you have to disable catalyst control center, and just set the clocks in cgminer. I dont use anything else, no tricks, afterburner or whatever. cgminer lets you control clocks, fans and voltages, no need for anything else.
Beware of flashing bioses..

malevolent
can into space
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624



View Profile
January 14, 2012, 04:38:14 PM
 #13

I have several 5850s, from MSI, XFX and sapphire. None of them have trouble clocking over 775, but if you use windows (which you shouldnt IMO), then you have to disable catalyst control center, and just set the clocks in cgminer. I dont use anything else, no tricks, afterburner or whatever. cgminer lets you control clocks, fans and voltages, no need for anything else.
Beware of flashing bioses..

cgminer didn't work for my sapphire 5850s extreme, nor did barelyclocked, msi afterburner, ccc, ati tray tools and a plethora of tools I now don't remember. All of them had some limits on clocks, between 725 and 900, only sapphire trixx worked for me (tried over 1 GHz on GPU core and worked so far, same goes for memory - lower limits available).
Flashing bioses is fine as long as you know what you are doing, it was the only way for me to raise voltage on 5850s.

P.S. trixx also support non-sapphire cards, it works on my vertex 3d 6850.
yochdog
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1666



View Profile
January 14, 2012, 05:24:34 PM
 #14

Sapphire Trixx allows you to bypass the 775 limit w/o flashing the card or invoking any special parameters for the tool.

I am going to download it right now.  Will report back the results.....thanks for the tip! 

Trixx worked great.  Have them all running at 850 core now.....got a great hashing boost. 

Thanks all!

I am a trusted trader!  Ask Inaba, Luo Demin, Vanderbleek, Sannyasi, Episking, Miner99er, Isepick, Amazingrando, Cablez, ColdHardMetal, Dextryn, MB300sd, Robocoder, gnar1ta$ and many others!
rizzler
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23


View Profile
January 18, 2012, 04:41:51 PM
 #15

While we are on the topic of MSI afterburner i have a question. i have a  HIS ATI radeon HD 5850 and when i start MSI afterburner all settings are blank and shows 0, i cant change any of them and i wonder why?
stoppots
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 271


View Profile
February 12, 2012, 08:59:50 AM
 #16

While we are on the topic of MSI afterburner i have a question. i have a  HIS ATI radeon HD 5850 and when i start MSI afterburner all settings are blank and shows 0, i cant change any of them and i wonder why?

I had this issue before and I just unistalled everything and reinstalled. Might try driver sweeper also when wanting to get all drivers removed. Like mentioned above though try using something different like ATI tray tools or trixx
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!