Bitcoin Forum
November 22, 2019, 08:06:28 AM *
News: 10th anniversary art contest
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Images not loading well  (Read 1817 times)
Joerii
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260
Merit: 1000



View Profile
March 24, 2014, 09:33:55 AM
 #1

Sorry if this has been posted about before. A search didnt reveal any prior threads.

I see a lot of images not loading in the altcoin section. Is this a known problem or is there perhaps some maintenance that needs to be done in the underbelly of the forum software ?

regards, J

▼ Block Options.














   █
▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆
....The First Decentralized Binary Options Platform....
.........WEBSITE | WHITEPAPER | BITCOINTALK | TWITTER | FACEBOOK | SLACK | MEDIUM.....














   █
...PRE-SALE...
....Aug 1st, 2017....
The Bitcoin Forum is turning 10 years old! Join the community in sharing and exploring the notable posts made over the years.
1574409988
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1574409988

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1574409988
Reply with quote  #2

1574409988
Report to moderator
1574409988
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1574409988

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1574409988
Reply with quote  #2

1574409988
Report to moderator
hilariousandco
Chopper Member
Global Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2198
Merit: 1688


https://bitcoin.watfordfc.com


View Profile WWW
March 24, 2014, 11:13:19 AM
 #2

If the images are too large they won't show. Not sure if this is the problem or not.

████████████████████████████
████████▀▀ █▀ █▀ ▀██████████
█████████▄ ▄▄▄▄▄▄███████████
██████████▀     ▀  ▀████████
███████▀ ▀  ▄█▀▀▀█▀▀████████
██████▄      █▄  ▀▀  ▀██████
██████         ▄▄█▄ ▄ ▀█████
█████ ▄         ▀▀ ▄ ▀ █████
██████▌          █▀█▀ ▐█████
███████  ▄▌         ▄ ██████
████████▄█         ▄████████
█████████▀     ▄▄ ▄█████████
████████████████████████████
.JACKMATE'S...........
.
MAJESTIC..
████████████████████████
███████████████████████
████████████████████████
████████████████████████
████████████████████████
████████████████████████
████████████████████████
████████████████████████
████████████████████████
████████████████████████
████████████████████████
████████████████████████
████████████████████████
.
..WIN 1 BITCOIN ON EVERY PREMIER LEAGUE MATCHDAY..
████████████████████████████████
████████████▀█▀ ▀█▀█▀███████████
███████████▄ ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄████████████
███████████▀▀▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄███████████
█████████▀▄ ██▀▄▄▄ ▀ ▄▀█████████
███████▀ ▀█████▄▄▄█▄▄▄██████████
███████▀▄████████▀  ▀█ █▐███████
███████ ▀█████████▄█▀▀██ ███████
████████ ███▀██████ ▄ ██ ███████
████████▌▐▀▄ ██████████ ▄███████
█████████▄██▌▐█████▀██ █████████
████████████▄▀▀▀▀▀▄ ▀▄██████████
████████████████████████████████
.
.JOIN US - IT'S FREE! .
TheRealSteve
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686
Merit: 500

FUN > ROI


View Profile
March 24, 2014, 12:25:48 PM
 #3

No, seems to be an issue with the bitcointalk image proxifier - sometimes they load, other times they don't.. image size may still be a factor (as a bunch of thumbnails in one of my threads load just fine), but e.g. i.imgur.com/6I1u1XK.png isn't all that large (685x358@33.2kB)

Joerii
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260
Merit: 1000



View Profile
March 24, 2014, 05:36:40 PM
 #4

Actually I dont think size is an issue.

The tiny twitter logo won't load half of the time in the Hirocoin announcement.

▼ Block Options.














   █
▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆▆
....The First Decentralized Binary Options Platform....
.........WEBSITE | WHITEPAPER | BITCOINTALK | TWITTER | FACEBOOK | SLACK | MEDIUM.....














   █
...PRE-SALE...
....Aug 1st, 2017....
theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3584
Merit: 6790


View Profile
March 24, 2014, 08:05:24 PM
 #5

If an image doesn't load consistently (or at least frequently), and it doesn't break any image rules that would cause it to be rejected by the proxy, send me a link to the image or proxied image.

Image rules are:
- Must be less than 2.5 MB
- The entire transfer must take less than 3 seconds.
- The proxied server must not keep the connection open for "a long time" without transferring data.

1NXYoJ5xU91Jp83XfVMHwwTUyZFK64BoAD
TheRealSteve
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686
Merit: 500

FUN > ROI


View Profile
March 24, 2014, 08:47:15 PM
 #6

If an image doesn't load consistently (or at least frequently), and it doesn't break any image rules that would cause it to be rejected by the proxy, send me a link to the image or proxied image.
Well, as per the example:


( Which, of course, resulted in the following preview: http://imgur.com/4xn3TpM )

Edit: Error message from the web dev tools:
Path: https://ip.bitcointalk.org/?u=http%3A%2F%2Fi.imgur.com%2F6I1u1XK.png&t=538&c=RmGD7MXuH0mLtg
Status: net::ERR_CONNECTION_REFUSED

theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3584
Merit: 6790


View Profile
March 24, 2014, 09:47:59 PM
 #7

That works fine for me. Is it broken for anyone else?

1NXYoJ5xU91Jp83XfVMHwwTUyZFK64BoAD
TheRealSteve
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686
Merit: 500

FUN > ROI


View Profile
March 24, 2014, 10:12:36 PM
Last edit: March 24, 2014, 10:50:34 PM by TheRealSteve
 #8

That works fine for me. Is it broken for anyone else?
That's the thing... it's intermittent.  For example, I clicked here from the notification e-mail - it was fine.  I refresh, it's broken. ( 16 refreshes later, still broken ... edit: and the very next refresh, working again Smiley ).

Edit 1: actually, I noticed that the thumbnails in my StickMiners thread also seem to either load, or not load.  Since that has quite a few, small, images in it, might be easier to test with.

Let me know if I can enable / check anything for more technical details.
That works fine for me. Is it broken for anyone else?
That's the thing... it's intermittent.  For example, I clicked here from the notification e-mail - it was fine.  I refresh, it's broken. ( 16 refreshes later, still broken ... edit: and the very next refresh, working again Smiley ).

Edit 2: actually, I noticed that the thumbnails in my StickMiners thread also seem to either load, or not load.  Since that has quite a few, small, images in it, might be easier to test with.

Let me know if I can enable / check anything for more technical details.

Edit 3: The headers sent for the images that won't load appear to be incomplete;
Code:
curl "https://ip.bitcointalk.org/?u=http"%"3A"%"2F"%"2Fi.imgur.com"%"2Ffr2iTmZ.png&t=538&c=BTmeFwPxfdCa3Q"
-H "Accept: image/webp,*/*;q=0.8"
-H "Cache-Control: max-age=0"
-H "Referer: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=464496.0"
-H "User-Agent: [chrome, win]"
--compressed

vs successful

Code:
curl "https://ip.bitcointalk.org/?u=http"%"3A"%"2F"%"2Fi.imgur.com"%"2FnCUY82z.jpg&t=538&c=BZHFlACurOC-AQ"
-H "DNT: 1"
-H "Accept-Encoding: gzip,deflate,sdch"
-H "Accept-Language: en-US,en;q=0.8"
-H "User-Agent: chrome, win"
-H "Accept: image/webp,*/*;q=0.8"
-H "Referer: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=464496.0"
-H "Cookie: __cfduid=[gibberish!]"
-H "Connection: keep-alive"
-H "Cache-Control: max-age=0"
--compressed

Will see what FireFox does.  Maybe Chrome's having a fit.

FireFox is fine.  Cleared Chrome's cookies, but that didn't help ( or made it worse, now no images load Cheesy )
Will check if an addon is misbehaving.

Edit 4: Incognito window still has this problem.

Edit 5: old_chrome.exe also has the problem, so if it is a chrome issue, it's been there for a bit..

deepceleron
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1512
Merit: 1000



View Profile WWW
March 25, 2014, 06:22:45 AM
 #9

This kind of problem is usually due to the image being located on some overloaded shared hosting provider.

There is a company that is mostly under the radar, that has acquired many domain and web hosting companies and moved their customers to unresponsive crappy overloaded servers that often don't respond for many seconds: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Endurance_International_Group

pbj sammich
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 272
Merit: 250


Fighting Liquid with Liquid


View Profile
March 25, 2014, 03:20:39 PM
 #10

so if it is a chrome issue, it's been there for a bit..

I've been using Chrome for quite some time, but this just started for me as well over the last couple weeks. I didn't notice a Chrome updates lately, but wasn't really watching either.

Seems to just be hit or miss, sometimes they load sometimes not.
theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3584
Merit: 6790


View Profile
March 25, 2014, 05:42:48 PM
 #11

I did slightly change the way that the proxy works recently, but I don't know how the change could cause this problem.

1NXYoJ5xU91Jp83XfVMHwwTUyZFK64BoAD
nahtnam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092
Merit: 1000


nahtnam.com


View Profile WWW
March 26, 2014, 12:42:00 AM
 #12

I did slightly change the way that the proxy works recently, but I don't know how the change could cause this problem.

A lot of images arent loading properly. It was much better before!

EDIT: Around 90% of the images.

cAPSLOCK
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2380
Merit: 1398


UNLEASH THE FURY!


View Profile
March 26, 2014, 03:03:58 AM
 #13

Yes.  I have loaded this page 20 times with no luck:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=178336.msg5902307#msg5902307

And for what it's worth look at what I am currently typing into:



Hopefully you can see it.  It's a broken jpeg for me. Wink  I am getting a 502 for the image links.  Perhaps you are doing something now Theymos.
deepceleron
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1512
Merit: 1000



View Profile WWW
March 26, 2014, 07:11:44 PM
 #14

Proxy test.

This picture should load instantly, it's two colors and 243 bytes:


This is a bigger image, 353kB:


Same image, hosted on imgur.com:


This image loads in about 0.2 ms, is 1.4kB, but generated by php.


This image requires over a second, it gets data from a third-party web site:


TheRealSteve
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686
Merit: 500

FUN > ROI


View Profile
March 26, 2014, 08:20:35 PM
 #15

Proxy test.
fwiw - none of those loaded here Smiley

Edit: woop - now they do.
Edit: yeah, no, now they don't.

It probably is a Chrome thing, due to it not sending the Cookie(s) for some of the images.  Haven't seen any bug reports on that, though.

dotcom
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 354
Merit: 250



View Profile
March 26, 2014, 09:50:59 PM
 #16

People have been complaining about this the last week or so:

ive been getting about 50/50 luck of images showing over the last few days. Theymos clearly doesnt put much effort into server upgrades for the site
Not sure it's Theymos' fault, nor that it's a server/hardware problem. It seemed to happen all at once, and the rest of the site loads decent.

Subject line says it all

Why have embedded photos stopped working on this site?





It probably is a Chrome thing, due to it not sending the Cookie(s) for some of the images.  Haven't seen any bug reports on that, though.

I use chrome and personally haven't had ANY problems viewing images. I also automatically block cookies.
theymos
Administrator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3584
Merit: 6790


View Profile
March 26, 2014, 10:19:38 PM
 #17

I think that I figured it out. Chrome was creating so many connections that the server was temporarily thinking of you as an attacker and dropping your packets. Other browsers also do this sometimes, though not as much. I increased the limits for this. But really, browsers should not be creating 30+ connections to the same server...

1NXYoJ5xU91Jp83XfVMHwwTUyZFK64BoAD
cAPSLOCK
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2380
Merit: 1398


UNLEASH THE FURY!


View Profile
March 26, 2014, 10:50:47 PM
 #18

Proxy test.




All of those worked for me on first load.  This time.  lets see what happens again

Next load the last image didnt work.. but overall more seems to be working.
nahtnam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092
Merit: 1000


nahtnam.com


View Profile WWW
March 26, 2014, 10:51:11 PM
 #19

I think that I figured it out. Chrome was creating so many connections that the server was temporarily thinking of you as an attacker and dropping your packets. Other browsers also do this sometimes, though not as much. I increased the limits for this. But really, browsers should not be creating 30+ connections to the same server...

Thank you! This fixed it.

cAPSLOCK
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2380
Merit: 1398


UNLEASH THE FURY!


View Profile
March 26, 2014, 11:02:14 PM
 #20

I think that I figured it out. Chrome was creating so many connections that the server was temporarily thinking of you as an attacker and dropping your packets. Other browsers also do this sometimes, though not as much. I increased the limits for this. But really, browsers should not be creating 30+ connections to the same server...

Thanks for the fix...

Seems a discussion with devs was here:

https://productforums.google.com/forum/#!topic/chrome/XUc4eFH98Ck
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!