Bitcoin Forum
April 23, 2021, 03:27:33 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.21.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Right way to set stop orders so they always get executed  (Read 38 times)
topshelfcrypto
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 76
Merit: 27


View Profile WWW
January 21, 2021, 12:09:18 AM
 #1

Hello, looking for trading advice.

It sometimes (all too frequently) happens where I set a stop order, and the stop gets hit, but the order doesn't fill. 

For example I just had a stop-buy in place for eth with the stop at 1355 and the buy at 1357.  The stop hit, priced kept moving up but my order never got executed.   

This has also happened before in stop-sell orders.

I would love for anyone to share what is the best/right/correct/most reliable way to set stop orders, or if you can point to an authoritative resources that would explain this.  Thank you.

check my premium crypto domains for sale here: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=5211098
1619191653
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1619191653

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1619191653
Reply with quote  #2

1619191653
Report to moderator
1619191653
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1619191653

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1619191653
Reply with quote  #2

1619191653
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
jackg
Copper Member
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2086
Merit: 2005


https://bit.ly/387FXHi ← lightning theory


View Profile
January 21, 2021, 12:15:02 AM
Merited by topshelfcrypto (1)
 #2

What exchange are you using? This often varies for many different exchanges.

I can think mainky of "stop limit" and "stop market" orders being a thing. You're going to want to use a stop market normally do the sell gets executed as soon as the price crosses that zone. If you use a stop limit, for an executoble stop, you should attempt to place the limit away from the stop (I don't know if people actually do this but the stop market is the only one that makes sense to me).

topshelfcrypto
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 76
Merit: 27


View Profile WWW
January 21, 2021, 12:40:30 AM
 #3

I can think mainky of "stop limit" and "stop market" orders being a thing. You're going to want to use a stop market normally do the sell gets executed as soon as the price crosses that zone.

Thanks, I think that is what I needed to hear.  Very simple. Sometimes so simple it's stupid is the thing you didn't think of.   

check my premium crypto domains for sale here: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=5211098
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!