Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 08:44:07 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Hash rate fluctuation [FIXED]  (Read 5203 times)
tiberiandusk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 580


The North Remembers


View Profile WWW
April 02, 2011, 10:03:39 AM
 #1

When mining on my computer my hash rate is constantly jumping up and down. It will say 380 mhash/s then 40 mhash/s then jump back up to 250 mhash/s. I'm using -v -w128 -f 1 on my 5870. Is there anything I can do to help keep it steady?

Bitcoin Auction House http://www.BitBid.net BTC - 1EwfBVC6BwA6YeqcYZmm3htwykK3MStW6N | LTC - LdBpJJHj4WSAsUqaTbwyJQFiG1tVjo4Uys Don't get Goxed.
1481100247
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481100247

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481100247
Reply with quote  #2

1481100247
Report to moderator
1481100247
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481100247

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481100247
Reply with quote  #2

1481100247
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481100247
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481100247

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481100247
Reply with quote  #2

1481100247
Report to moderator
1481100247
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481100247

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481100247
Reply with quote  #2

1481100247
Report to moderator
1481100247
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481100247

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481100247
Reply with quote  #2

1481100247
Report to moderator
zoro
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 226


View Profile
April 02, 2011, 10:09:43 AM
 #2

if you perform other tasks with this rig then it is normal. If it is idle and show this behavior, it is tricky, i don't know Smiley

"killer app" of BTC = MasterCoin https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=265488.0Mastercoin(A new protocol layer on top of Bitcoin)
tiberiandusk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 580


The North Remembers


View Profile WWW
April 02, 2011, 10:29:47 AM
 #3

It's idle most of the time. I'll change it to -f 30 if I'm using it but the fluctuation happens no matter what. I'm running Windows 7 64-bit.

Bitcoin Auction House http://www.BitBid.net BTC - 1EwfBVC6BwA6YeqcYZmm3htwykK3MStW6N | LTC - LdBpJJHj4WSAsUqaTbwyJQFiG1tVjo4Uys Don't get Goxed.
zoro
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 226


View Profile
April 02, 2011, 10:38:02 AM
 #4

what drivers and how much overclock?

"killer app" of BTC = MasterCoin https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=265488.0Mastercoin(A new protocol layer on top of Bitcoin)
tiberiandusk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 580


The North Remembers


View Profile WWW
April 02, 2011, 11:31:51 AM
 #5

I just got the card the other day so I haven't really tried overclocking it much. I'm using the latest Catalyst drivers with my core clock at 900mhz and my memory clocked down to 900mhz.

Bitcoin Auction House http://www.BitBid.net BTC - 1EwfBVC6BwA6YeqcYZmm3htwykK3MStW6N | LTC - LdBpJJHj4WSAsUqaTbwyJQFiG1tVjo4Uys Don't get Goxed.
LMGTFY
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644



View Profile
April 02, 2011, 11:40:44 AM
 #6

What miner are you using? The one I use (Diablo-miner) shows two speeds - current and average. Average for me (5870, both clocks at 900) is around 343000 and changes very little, but the current speed does vary enormously. I'll swear I've seen it hit 700000 (and smarter people than me will tell us that that's unpossible... and I suspect they're correct).

At the end of day, average is the only thing that really matters. Even if you miner does briefly go up high, you'll only get a momentary benefit from it. Average tells you far more.

This space intentionally left blank.
dust
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 840



View Profile WWW
April 02, 2011, 12:20:13 PM
 #7

If the card is running too hot it will throttle itself, resulting in a fluctuating hashrate.  I have observed this with 5870s with inadequate cooling bouncing between ~320Mh/s to ~220Mh/s after they heated up.

Cryptocoin Mining Info | OTC | PGP | Twitter | freenode: dust-otc | BTC: 1F6fV4U2xnpAuKtmQD6BWpK3EuRosKzF8U
tiberiandusk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 580


The North Remembers


View Profile WWW
April 02, 2011, 01:47:52 PM
 #8

Overdrive is showing 69-71C. My average on bitcoinpool usually shows around 250 mhash/s. I'm using poclbm-mod.

Bitcoin Auction House http://www.BitBid.net BTC - 1EwfBVC6BwA6YeqcYZmm3htwykK3MStW6N | LTC - LdBpJJHj4WSAsUqaTbwyJQFiG1tVjo4Uys Don't get Goxed.
LMGTFY
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644



View Profile
April 02, 2011, 01:55:53 PM
 #9

Overdrive is showing 69-71C. My average on bitcoinpool usually shows around 250 mhash/s. I'm using poclbm-mod.
69-71 degrees should be fine - mine normally sits in the high 70s (according to aticonfig).

I'll try and keep an eye on my hash rate, and see if I notice the same kind of variation.

This space intentionally left blank.
Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
April 02, 2011, 04:01:23 PM
 #10

My brother has a simmilar issue aswell!, although he's running a 5770, his mhashes randomly drop down from 160-50, then when he ends iexplorer it goes back up. Weird eh?

(win 7 64bit ultimate)
I definitly agree with LMGTFY, although i agree with both of his sides, The card shouldn't throttle when around 70° or even 80°, My 6870 Throttles at 110° and auto shutdowns at 120° to prevent heavy damage

Whilst i mine i maintain a steady 75°, with my fan manually set to 75%

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
tiberiandusk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 580


The North Remembers


View Profile WWW
April 03, 2011, 04:22:04 PM
 #11

I think it might be related to the latentcy I have on satellite interwebs and getting new getworks.

Bitcoin Auction House http://www.BitBid.net BTC - 1EwfBVC6BwA6YeqcYZmm3htwykK3MStW6N | LTC - LdBpJJHj4WSAsUqaTbwyJQFiG1tVjo4Uys Don't get Goxed.
Sedo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23


View Profile
April 03, 2011, 04:31:49 PM
 #12

It happens to me when I watch videos in my browser at youtube or other sites.
Posidon
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16


View Profile
April 03, 2011, 04:35:22 PM
 #13

Just got a new 5870 and the same thing was happening to me.  Apparently I didn't have the most up to date poclbm.  Updating it made it much more stable at 340 Mhash/s with -v -128.
Fiyasko
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Okey Dokey Lokey


View Profile
April 04, 2011, 03:13:21 PM
 #14

Well most recent poclbm is not our issue, i can cockly assume that everyone's upto date

http://bitcoin-otc.com/viewratingdetail.php?nick=DingoRabiit&sign=ANY&type=RECV <-My Ratings
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=857670.0 GAWminers and associated things are not to be trusted, Especially the "mineral" exchange
Probed
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
April 04, 2011, 06:03:42 PM
 #15

I found setting the priority of the GPU miner exe's to AboveNormal helped a lot.

But you will always see fluctuations when your actively using your comptuer for other things.
bitjet
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 556


View Profile
April 05, 2011, 05:21:42 AM
 #16

I found setting the priority of the GPU miner exe's to AboveNormal helped a lot.

But you will always see fluctuations when your actively using your comptuer for other things.


In windows? How do you do that?
Miner-TE
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 513



View Profile
April 05, 2011, 05:37:31 AM
 #17

1. Open TaskManager
2. Processes Tab
3. Right-click the process
4. Set Priority to AboveNormal

BTC - 1PeMMYGn7xbZjUYeaWe9ct1VV6szLS1vkD - LTC - LbtcJRJJQQBjZuHr6Wm7vtB9RnnWtRNYpq
chase2boyd
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
April 05, 2011, 06:45:30 AM
 #18

Thanks for the information!
Is there any other way of keeping the rate steady?

Property Lawyer (http://www.smithpartners.co.nz)
tiberiandusk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 580


The North Remembers


View Profile WWW
April 06, 2011, 04:46:33 PM
 #19

FIXED!

The -a flag was what I needed. The satellite lag was messing with the getworks. Instead of the default 5 I moved it up to 8. It is sitting at a steady-ish 330 Mhash/s.

Bitcoin Auction House http://www.BitBid.net BTC - 1EwfBVC6BwA6YeqcYZmm3htwykK3MStW6N | LTC - LdBpJJHj4WSAsUqaTbwyJQFiG1tVjo4Uys Don't get Goxed.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!