Bitcoin Forum
January 27, 2022, 02:14:30 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 22.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: C2D MB for mining  (Read 104 times)
Refrumatrix
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 299
Merit: 13

$CYBERCASH METAVERSE


View Profile
April 15, 2021, 07:29:53 AM
 #1

I have a core 2 duo pc here and three gpu cards I'm trying to build for a friend but the c2d motherboard has 6pin main power connector unlike other PC mother's with 24 pin power connector so I can't use power supply in the motherboard is there any way around this?


1643292870
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1643292870

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1643292870
Reply with quote  #2

1643292870
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1643292870
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1643292870

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1643292870
Reply with quote  #2

1643292870
Report to moderator
HashingTower
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 282
Merit: 11

$CYBERCASH METAVERSE


View Profile
April 15, 2021, 11:04:09 AM
 #2

Throw this garbage  away and go for a core i series motherboard instead, don't try mining on that thing because you can only insert a gpu with no 6pin or 8pin power plug in the motherboard, something like gtx750ti which isn't good for mining this days, don't waste your time

FP91G
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812
Merit: 642



View Profile
April 15, 2021, 12:47:36 PM
 #3

The standard voltages on the power supply for the computer are 12, 5 and 3.3 V.
Yellow 12V
Black 0V
What is the voltage on the blue wire?
If 5 or 3.3 V then you can make an adapter.
Or use 2 power supplies. A special power supply for this motherboard, the other power supply for graphics cards.

.BEST..CHANGE.███████████████
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
███████████████
..BUY/ SELL CRYPTO..
XUR_TIP
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 170
Merit: 24


View Profile
April 15, 2021, 02:47:50 PM
 #4

The standard voltages on the power supply for the computer are 12, 5 and 3.3 V.
Yellow 12V
Black 0V
What is the voltage on the blue wire?
If 5 or 3.3 V then you can make an adapter.
Or use 2 power supplies. A special power supply for this motherboard, the other power supply for graphics cards.
So it's possible to use two power supplies on such motherboard like that? I have one that's close to OP description in my store, I don't bother to use since I believe it can never work for mining, such a shame the motherboard have 4 pice slots for gpu

arielbit
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2772
Merit: 1040


View Profile
April 15, 2021, 03:36:38 PM
 #5

The standard voltages on the power supply for the computer are 12, 5 and 3.3 V.
Yellow 12V
Black 0V
What is the voltage on the blue wire?
If 5 or 3.3 V then you can make an adapter.
Or use 2 power supplies. A special power supply for this motherboard, the other power supply for graphics cards.
So it's possible to use two power supplies on such motherboard like that? I have one that's close to OP description in my store, I don't bother to use since I believe it can never work for mining, such a shame the motherboard have 4 pice slots for gpu

it will work..

the other PSU should power only the risers and the GPUs
HashingTower
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 282
Merit: 11

$CYBERCASH METAVERSE


View Profile
April 16, 2021, 07:54:40 AM
 #6

The standard voltages on the power supply for the computer are 12, 5 and 3.3 V.
Yellow 12V
Black 0V
What is the voltage on the blue wire?
If 5 or 3.3 V then you can make an adapter.
Or use 2 power supplies. A special power supply for this motherboard, the other power supply for graphics cards.
So it's possible to use two power supplies on such motherboard like that? I have one that's close to OP description in my store, I don't bother to use since I believe it can never work for mining, such a shame the motherboard have 4 pice slots for gpu

it will work..

the other PSU should power only the risers and the GPUs
Are you sure that the gpu voltage and watt draw can be read by software when using second powersupply on such PC motherboard? I'm surprised you said this will work, I hope it won't damage any components most especially the GPUS

FP91G
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812
Merit: 642



View Profile
April 16, 2021, 08:29:05 AM
 #7

The standard voltages on the power supply for the computer are 12, 5 and 3.3 V.
Yellow 12V
Black 0V
What is the voltage on the blue wire?
If 5 or 3.3 V then you can make an adapter.
Or use 2 power supplies. A special power supply for this motherboard, the other power supply for graphics cards.
So it's possible to use two power supplies on such motherboard like that? I have one that's close to OP description in my store, I don't bother to use since I believe it can never work for mining, such a shame the motherboard have 4 pice slots for gpu
You need to buy Black Dual PSU Power Supply Sync
https://www.aliexpress.com/item/32834557384.html

You can use 3 power supplies
https://aliexpress.ru/item/4000726668097.html
But then make it so that the pen power supply is used for the motherboard and hard drive,
and other power supplies:
Power supply 2 - video card 1 and 2, raiser 1 and 2
Power supply 3 - video card 3 and 4, raiser 3 and 4

.BEST..CHANGE.███████████████
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
███████████████
..BUY/ SELL CRYPTO..
MCcryptonia
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 156
Merit: 10


View Profile
April 16, 2021, 09:58:38 AM
 #8

The standard voltages on the power supply for the computer are 12, 5 and 3.3 V.
Yellow 12V
Black 0V
What is the voltage on the blue wire?
If 5 or 3.3 V then you can make an adapter.
Or use 2 power supplies. A special power supply for this motherboard, the other power supply for graphics cards.
So it's possible to use two power supplies on such motherboard like that? I have one that's close to OP description in my store, I don't bother to use since I believe it can never work for mining, such a shame the motherboard have 4 pice slots for gpu
You need to buy Black Dual PSU Power Supply Sync
https://www.aliexpress.com/item/32834557384.html

You can use 3 power supplies
https://aliexpress.ru/item/4000726668097.html
But then make it so that the pen power supply is used for the motherboard and hard drive,
and other power supplies:
Power supply 2 - video card 1 and 2, raiser 1 and 2
Power supply 3 - video card 3 and 4, raiser 3 and 4
FP91G can you please tell me what goes to this slot in the image below? The internal powersupply (main power supply) or the second power supply? I haven't connect two powersupply on a motherboard before so this will be a good time to learn it


arielbit
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2772
Merit: 1040


View Profile
April 16, 2021, 10:19:41 AM
 #9

The standard voltages on the power supply for the computer are 12, 5 and 3.3 V.
Yellow 12V
Black 0V
What is the voltage on the blue wire?
If 5 or 3.3 V then you can make an adapter.
Or use 2 power supplies. A special power supply for this motherboard, the other power supply for graphics cards.
So it's possible to use two power supplies on such motherboard like that? I have one that's close to OP description in my store, I don't bother to use since I believe it can never work for mining, such a shame the motherboard have 4 pice slots for gpu

it will work..

the other PSU should power only the risers and the GPUs
Are you sure that the gpu voltage and watt draw can be read by software when using second powersupply on such PC motherboard? I'm surprised you said this will work, I hope it won't damage any components most especially the GPUS

Yes, very sure..i have a rig config that way.

And for ddr2 c2d motherboard. I have the ones with molex power connector in them, no need to use that.

Corsair ax1500i is not compatible to that old motherboard so i used an old psu to power the system and an ax1500i for the gpus/risers
FP91G
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812
Merit: 642



View Profile
April 16, 2021, 11:09:48 AM
 #10

The standard voltages on the power supply for the computer are 12, 5 and 3.3 V.
Yellow 12V
Black 0V
What is the voltage on the blue wire?
If 5 or 3.3 V then you can make an adapter.
Or use 2 power supplies. A special power supply for this motherboard, the other power supply for graphics cards.
So it's possible to use two power supplies on such motherboard like that? I have one that's close to OP description in my store, I don't bother to use since I believe it can never work for mining, such a shame the motherboard have 4 pice slots for gpu
You need to buy Black Dual PSU Power Supply Sync
https://www.aliexpress.com/item/32834557384.html

You can use 3 power supplies
https://aliexpress.ru/item/4000726668097.html
But then make it so that the pen power supply is used for the motherboard and hard drive,
and other power supplies:
Power supply 2 - video card 1 and 2, raiser 1 and 2
Power supply 3 - video card 3 and 4, raiser 3 and 4
FP91G can you please tell me what goes to this slot in the image below? The internal powersupply (main power supply) or the second power supply? I haven't connect two powersupply on a motherboard before so this will be a good time to learn it


This connector connects a 4-pin cable from the main power supply (which is used to power the motherboard).
The 24-pin connector connects the connectors of the controlled power supplies (power supplies to which the video cards are connected).

This Power Supply Sync will also turn off the controlled power supplies if you turn off your farm.
I used an old motherboard on a 2-core C2Duo processor (775 socket), but it didn't work for long and I had to buy a new motherboard, processor and memory.

.BEST..CHANGE.███████████████
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
███████████████
..BUY/ SELL CRYPTO..
Ceyflix-Rez
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 420
Merit: 13

$CYBERCASH METAVERSE


View Profile
April 16, 2021, 01:28:36 PM
 #11

The standard voltages on the power supply for the computer are 12, 5 and 3.3 V.
Yellow 12V
Black 0V
What is the voltage on the blue wire?
If 5 or 3.3 V then you can make an adapter.
Or use 2 power supplies. A special power supply for this motherboard, the other power supply for graphics cards.
So it's possible to use two power supplies on such motherboard like that? I have one that's close to OP description in my store, I don't bother to use since I believe it can never work for mining, such a shame the motherboard have 4 pice slots for gpu
You need to buy Black Dual PSU Power Supply Sync
https://www.aliexpress.com/item/32834557384.html

You can use 3 power supplies
https://aliexpress.ru/item/4000726668097.html
But then make it so that the pen power supply is used for the motherboard and hard drive,
and other power supplies:
Power supply 2 - video card 1 and 2, raiser 1 and 2
Power supply 3 - video card 3 and 4, raiser 3 and 4
FP91G can you please tell me what goes to this slot in the image below? The internal powersupply (main power supply) or the second power supply? I haven't connect two powersupply on a motherboard before so this will be a good time to learn it


This connector connects a 4-pin cable from the main power supply (which is used to power the motherboard).
The 24-pin connector connects the connectors of the controlled power supplies (power supplies to which the video cards are connected).

This Power Supply Sync will also turn off the controlled power supplies if you turn off your farm.
I used an old motherboard on a 2-core C2Duo processor (775 socket), but it didn't work for long and I had to buy a new motherboard, processor and memory.

This is just like modding the power supply with paper clip trick I guess, I've done something like that in the past and they GPUS still works today, sounds safer now that one can use a extra power supply connector

vuli1
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 240
Merit: 3


View Profile WWW
April 16, 2021, 07:07:03 PM
 #12

this must be motherboard of some OEM manufacturer like HP, DELL? They ususaly have their own mobo layout.

★ PRiVCY ➢ Own Your Privacy! ➢ Best privacy crypto-market! ★
✈✈✈[PoW/PoS]✅[Tor]✅[Airdrop]✈✈✈ (https://privcy.io/)
Looper_U
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 369
Merit: 16

$CYBERCASH METAVERSE


View Profile
April 16, 2021, 07:11:37 PM
 #13

this must be motherboard of some OEM manufacturer like HP, DELL? They ususaly have their own mobo layout.
All my motherboards are Dell OEM and none looks like this but I understand that this is core 2duo motherboard so it could look this different since it's old skool, using power connector should work perfectly ok

vuli1
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 240
Merit: 3


View Profile WWW
April 16, 2021, 07:17:20 PM
 #14

Take a look this link, well, it is a HP mobo
https://superuser.com/questions/869600/what-is-the-6-pin-power-connector-on-an-hp-prodesk

they had more effeicient psu that time already because they were 12V only and it looks mobo had 5V and 3.3V regulators on it. Kinda like Intel now want to make a new ATX standard ATX 12VO

★ PRiVCY ➢ Own Your Privacy! ➢ Best privacy crypto-market! ★
✈✈✈[PoW/PoS]✅[Tor]✅[Airdrop]✈✈✈ (https://privcy.io/)
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!