Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 10:19:02 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: null  (Read 3205 times)
theboss
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 120



View Profile
November 30, 2011, 02:15:31 PM
 #1

null

17zXyv5ty7DoukdGHtAReHymR8BewjPUkX
1481235542
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481235542

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481235542
Reply with quote  #2

1481235542
Report to moderator
1481235542
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481235542

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481235542
Reply with quote  #2

1481235542
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481235542
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481235542

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481235542
Reply with quote  #2

1481235542
Report to moderator
1481235542
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481235542

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481235542
Reply with quote  #2

1481235542
Report to moderator
1481235542
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481235542

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481235542
Reply with quote  #2

1481235542
Report to moderator
RyNinDaCleM
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Legen -wait for it- dary


View Profile
December 01, 2011, 03:05:01 AM
 #2

They are over volted and that really hurts your electrical costs. Still 5850s are a decent card. I have 16 of them:)

Hmm, Mine doesn't even have voltage control and it gets 400Mh/s @965/450 mid 70°'s

Good price regardless! I'd buy'em if I was still expanding my operation.

RyNinDaCleM
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Legen -wait for it- dary


View Profile
December 01, 2011, 06:04:57 AM
 #3

CGminer, only the best!
MSI AB for clocks/monitoring on win7 64bit.

I thought 400Mh was pretty normal for 5850's with a bit of reasonable clocking, considering 5870's get 450+. My 6950 gets 420, so 400 seems about right to me. Huh

RyNinDaCleM
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Legen -wait for it- dary


View Profile
December 01, 2011, 06:44:15 AM
 #4

G/L!
16 cards x 30-50Mh/s = an extra 5870!  Wink

cicada
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
December 01, 2011, 04:42:56 PM
 #5

My 6950 gets 420

I'm assuming you've got a shader-unlocked 6950?  I couldn't push mine above ~360MH/s with the stock shader counts..

Team Epic!

All your bitcoin are belong to 19mScWkZxACv215AN1wosNNQ54pCQi3iB7
SgtSpike
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344



View Profile
December 01, 2011, 05:01:25 PM
 #6

Most of my cards are not set to 965. Right now none mine higher than 850 but I will be seeing what they can do in the next few days. Now I know what to shoot for:)
Keep in mind that the wattage usage goes up exponentially when you overclock.  Unless you don't pay for your electricity, there's likely a point of reversed returns where you'll be losing more money in increased electrical costs than you would be gaining from the overclock.

I'd be interested to see some more detailed analysis on that though.
P4man
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
December 01, 2011, 05:01:53 PM
 #7

Hmm, Mine doesn't even have voltage control and it gets 400Mh/s @965/450 mid 70°'s

Thats a really nice overclock, but I wouldnt take it for granted. I have one 5850 that will do ~920 (MSI twin frozr II) and one thats barely stable @870 (Sapphire) . Temps for both around 60C, stock voltage (neither supports overvolting). A third Powercolor reference 5850 that has died since, would hit no more than 850 even with slight overvolting.

My 5870 will do 1 GHz stock voltage (at 32C Smiley ).

Anyway, agreed that they are great cards.

P4man
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
December 01, 2011, 05:03:05 PM
 #8

Keep in mind that the wattage usage goes up exponentially when you overclock.

Incorrect. Power consumption scales linearly with clockspeed, so MH/W  efficiency remains the same, or even increases slightly for the entire rig (as cpu, motherboard etc remain the same). Its only when overvolting that you dramatically increase power consumption and reduce efficiency.

SgtSpike
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344



View Profile
December 01, 2011, 05:04:17 PM
 #9

Keep in mind that the wattage usage goes up exponentially when you overclock.

Incorrect. It scales linearly with clockspeed, so MH/W remains the same, or even increases for the entire rig. Its only when overvolting that you dramatically increase power consumption.
Eh, yeah, I was assuming some overvolting would be used.  Shouldn't make that assumption though.
RyNinDaCleM
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Legen -wait for it- dary


View Profile
December 01, 2011, 11:07:44 PM
 #10

My 6950 gets 420

I'm assuming you've got a shader-unlocked 6950?  I couldn't push mine above ~360MH/s with the stock shader counts..

Yes, so that isn't exactly a fair comparison, but I know that stock 5850's out hash stock 6950's due to the shader count. So, I thought it would still be a good basis to use. It's clocked at 935/1000/stock voltage/40° or less...Water cooling dominates.  Cool


Thats a really nice overclock, but I wouldnt take it for granted.


I would never...  Smiley
It runs at 990 for a few hours, but has no significant gain over 980Mhz. 980 runs for 4-8hrs before crash/dead miner. 975 makes it about 1-2 days, but I got tired of checking and restarting so I settled at 965 which runs indefinitely.

Keep in mind that the wattage usage goes up exponentially when you overclock.

Incorrect. It scales linearly with clockspeed, so MH/W remains the same, or even increases for the entire rig. Its only when overvolting that you dramatically increase power consumption.
Eh, yeah, I was assuming some overvolting would be used.  Shouldn't make that assumption though.

Nope! No extra volts. I try not to overvolt too often, ever since I fried my Kill a watt with only two rigs plugged in to it!

P4man
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
December 01, 2011, 11:23:05 PM
 #11

40° or less...Water cooling dominates.  Cool

I beg to differ. 5870. No water involved:


Uploaded with ImageShack.us

Smiley

RyNinDaCleM
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Legen -wait for it- dary


View Profile
December 02, 2011, 12:19:33 AM
 #12

40° or less...Water cooling dominates.  Cool

I beg to differ. 5870. No water involved:
[Img snipped]
Smiley

Very nice...Very nice.
What, do you mine in a walk-in freezer?

Mine used to hold 32-35, but I think I need to clean my blocks. It's been over a year.


plastic.elastic
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
December 02, 2011, 05:49:35 AM
 #13

Most of my cards are not set to 965. Right now none mine higher than 850 but I will be seeing what they can do in the next few days. Now I know what to shoot for:)
Keep in mind that the wattage usage goes up exponentially when you overclock.  Unless you don't pay for your electricity, there's likely a point of reversed returns where you'll be losing more money in increased electrical costs than you would be gaining from the overclock.

I'd be interested to see some more detailed analysis on that though.

You're clueless as a door knob,

Do you know what the word "exponentially" means?

What detailed analysis do you need? Pull out a damn meter and do some test.

Yes its exponentially difficult to understand.

Tips gladly accepted: 1LPaxHPvpzN3FbaGBaZShov3EFafxJDG42
SgtSpike
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344



View Profile
December 02, 2011, 07:26:19 AM
 #14

Most of my cards are not set to 965. Right now none mine higher than 850 but I will be seeing what they can do in the next few days. Now I know what to shoot for:)
Keep in mind that the wattage usage goes up exponentially when you overclock.  Unless you don't pay for your electricity, there's likely a point of reversed returns where you'll be losing more money in increased electrical costs than you would be gaining from the overclock.

I'd be interested to see some more detailed analysis on that though.

You're clueless as a door knob,

Do you know what the word "exponentially" means?

What detailed analysis do you need? Pull out a damn meter and do some test.

Yes its exponentially difficult to understand.

1) Thanks for making me laugh with your lame attempt at an insult.
2) Yes.
3) I don't have a meter, or I would.
4) It cannot be exponentially difficult to understand.  It's really rather simple, I just don't have the equipment to do it.
P4man
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
December 02, 2011, 07:34:29 AM
 #15


Quote
Very nice...Very nice.
What, do you mine in a walk-in freezer?

Nope, ambient is ~20C. Im using a Thermalright Spitfire (+VRM R5) on that card. Its not the most cost effective nor space effective solution, but boy, it sure does work!

RyNinDaCleM
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Legen -wait for it- dary


View Profile
December 02, 2011, 10:11:41 PM
 #16


Nope, ambient is ~20C. Im using a Thermalright Spitfire (+VRM R5) on that card. Its not the most cost effective nor space effective solution, but boy, it sure does work!

I wonder if that VRM cooler would fit my 6950? I have a GPU only block, so I had to home make a HS for my VRM's...
I bet that would do the job nicely though.

P4man
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
December 03, 2011, 08:40:17 AM
 #17

Apparently it does not fit. It only fits reference 5850s and 5870s (and probably one bank of vrms on a 5970).

This one should fit:
http://www.quietpc.com/gb-en-gbp/products/vgacoolers/gel-icy-vision-enhan-kit

But it will need a fan and is probably nowhere near an R5.

plastic.elastic
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
December 04, 2011, 03:58:46 AM
 #18

Most of my cards are not set to 965. Right now none mine higher than 850 but I will be seeing what they can do in the next few days. Now I know what to shoot for:)
Keep in mind that the wattage usage goes up exponentially when you overclock.  Unless you don't pay for your electricity, there's likely a point of reversed returns where you'll be losing more money in increased electrical costs than you would be gaining from the overclock.

I'd be interested to see some more detailed analysis on that though.

You're clueless as a door knob,

Do you know what the word "exponentially" means?

What detailed analysis do you need? Pull out a damn meter and do some test.

Yes its exponentially difficult to understand.

1) Thanks for making me laugh with your lame attempt at an insult.
2) Yes.
3) I don't have a meter, or I would.
4) It cannot be exponentially difficult to understand.  It's really rather simple, I just don't have the equipment to do it.

Base on your definition of exponentially, its correct to say so.
Yeah, you dont have a meter but somehow you can draw a conclusion of
Quote
Keep in mind that the wattage usage goes up exponentially when you overclock

Thanks for confirming my point.... which is... you're as smart as a door knob.

Tips gladly accepted: 1LPaxHPvpzN3FbaGBaZShov3EFafxJDG42
racerguy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 271


View Profile
December 04, 2011, 04:58:25 PM
 #19

fwiw I got up to 390mh/s without overvolting on my 5850, think I used 905 core and 300 mem.
P4man
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
December 04, 2011, 05:00:10 PM
 #20

sounds like a lot. Im getting 369 @900 Mhz using cgminer.

Pages: [1] 2 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!