Bitcoin Forum
May 06, 2024, 11:17:06 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Bitcoin-qt huge interface size, Linux Mint  (Read 227 times)
vv181
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932
Merit: 1273


View Profile
July 02, 2021, 07:14:03 PM
Last edit: July 02, 2021, 07:35:37 PM by vv181
 #21

Looks like i found a solution to make this permanent fix but since i am not familiar with Linux, dont know how to do it, will you please explain how to do it?
Try this:

Right-click on the icon, then click Properties.

On the command input box, fill it with:
Code:
env QT_AUTO_SCREEN_SCALE_FACTOR=0 ./bitcoin-qt
If that doesn't work try using this:
Code:
env QT_AUTO_SCREEN_SCALE_FACTOR=0 bitcoin-qt

1715037426
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715037426

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715037426
Reply with quote  #2

1715037426
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1715037426
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715037426

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715037426
Reply with quote  #2

1715037426
Report to moderator
1715037426
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715037426

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715037426
Reply with quote  #2

1715037426
Report to moderator
1715037426
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715037426

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715037426
Reply with quote  #2

1715037426
Report to moderator
curious droid (OP)
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 45
Merit: 17


View Profile
July 02, 2021, 08:22:12 PM
 #22

It worked !!!! Thanks A lot everyone for your help

To summarize and make it easier for  those newbies like me who bump in to similar issue with extra large Bitcoin_qt interface do the following:

Go to the folder wherever you have your bitcoin core`s bin folder, open up a terminal from there and launch the bitcoin-qt with this code
Code:
QT_AUTO_SCREEN_SCALE_FACTOR=0 ./bitcoin-qt

If you already have a bitcoin core icon you need to modify it to add this code and when you want to run bitcoin core next time, just click on the icon instead of launching from terminal.

Right-click on the icon, then click Properties.
On the command input box, fill it with:
Code:
Code:
env QT_AUTO_SCREEN_SCALE_FACTOR=0 ./bitcoin-qt
If that doesn't work try using this:
Code:
Code:
env QT_AUTO_SCREEN_SCALE_FACTOR=0 bitcoin-qt



curious droid (OP)
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 45
Merit: 17


View Profile
July 02, 2021, 08:33:14 PM
 #23


Last question if i may, while investigating this issue i found a fatal error by running /test_bitcoin command and it is still there even after fixing the initial issue, i just want to make sure this error doesn't compromise my privacy or security when i use bitcoin-qt

Below is my original post"

I also run a command /usr/local/bin$ ./test_bitcoin from bin folder of version 0.21.1 and received this error, maybe it has something to do with my initial issue? or i can ignore it

/usr/local/bin$
Code:
./test_bitcoin
Running 445 test cases...
unknown location(0): fatal error: in "streams_tests/streams_buffered_file": memory access violation at address: 0x00000000: no mapping at fault address
test/streams_tests.cpp(205): last checkpoint: "streams_buffered_file" test entry
*** 1 failure is detected in the test module "Bitcoin Core Test Suite"
vv181
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932
Merit: 1273


View Profile
July 02, 2021, 09:06:59 PM
Last edit: July 02, 2021, 09:44:00 PM by vv181
 #24

Last question if i may, while investigating this issue i found a fatal error by running /test_bitcoin command and it is still there even after fixing the initial issue, i just want to make sure this error doesn't compromise my privacy or security when i use bitcoin-qt
The error does not correlate with your initial issue. The ./test_bitcoin command is a unit test that only required/used by the devs, so I'm pretty sure it does not affect your privacy or security.

Regarding the error, it might be that Bitcoin's units test has a bug about it.
curious droid (OP)
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 45
Merit: 17


View Profile
July 02, 2021, 09:34:49 PM
 #25

Thanks a lot for your answer.
HCP
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2086
Merit: 4316

<insert witty quote here>


View Profile
July 02, 2021, 11:55:24 PM
 #26

The test_bitcoin binary should theoretically run without error. If something has failed, then it's possible that something in your setup/config might cause issues further down the track... it's difficult to say without further investigation.

you could try:
Code:
./test_bitcoin -p -r detailed > output.txt

And then check output.txt to see if it gives a more detailed report of where and possibly why it failed.

█████████████████████████
████▐██▄█████████████████
████▐██████▄▄▄███████████
████▐████▄█████▄▄████████
████▐█████▀▀▀▀▀███▄██████
████▐███▀████████████████
████▐█████████▄█████▌████
████▐██▌█████▀██████▌████
████▐██████████▀████▌████
█████▀███▄█████▄███▀█████
███████▀█████████▀███████
██████████▀███▀██████████
█████████████████████████
.
BC.GAME
▄▄░░░▄▀▀▄████████
▄▄▄
██████████████
█████░░▄▄▄▄████████
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄██▄██████▄▄▄▄████
▄███▄█▄▄██████████▄████▄████
███████████████████████████▀███
▀████▄██▄██▄░░░░▄████████████
▀▀▀█████▄▄▄███████████▀██
███████████████████▀██
███████████████████▄██
▄███████████████████▄██
█████████████████████▀██
██████████████████████▄
.
..CASINO....SPORTS....RACING..
█░░░░░░█░░░░░░█
▀███▀░░▀███▀░░▀███▀
▀░▀░░░░▀░▀░░░░▀░▀
░░░░░░░░░░░░
▀██████████
░░░░░███░░░░
░░█░░░███▄█░░░
░░██▌░░███░▀░░██▌
░█░██░░███░░░█░██
░█▀▀▀█▌░███░░█▀▀▀█▌
▄█▄░░░██▄███▄█▄░░▄██▄
▄███▄
░░░░▀██▄▀


▄▄████▄▄
▄███▀▀███▄
██████████
▀███▄░▄██▀
▄▄████▄▄░▀█▀▄██▀▄▄████▄▄
▄███▀▀▀████▄▄██▀▄███▀▀███▄
███████▄▄▀▀████▄▄▀▀███████
▀███▄▄███▀░░░▀▀████▄▄▄███▀
▀▀████▀▀████████▀▀████▀▀
curious droid (OP)
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 45
Merit: 17


View Profile
July 03, 2021, 08:29:53 AM
 #27


I tried to run the test with "sudo./test_bitcoin"  it gives me "*** No errors detected.
I receive this error when i run without sudo.   "./test_bitcoin"

./test_bitcoin -p -r detailed > output.txt  this code gave me a huge list, i copied it to a text file bellow
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1CerApu_2QxmFzMLa1ImgF-S02OouKD2P/view?usp=sharing
NotATether
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1596
Merit: 6728


bitcoincleanup.com / bitmixlist.org


View Profile WWW
July 03, 2021, 12:47:26 PM
Merited by ABCbits (1)
 #28

Add the line (QT_AUTO_SCREEN_SCALE_FACTOR=0) to ~/.bashrc file

If you stick it in a file as is it's not going to work because the environment variable is not forwarded to programs, you have to write it as export QT_AUTO_SCREEN_SCALE_FACTOR=0 in the .bashrc file.

.
.BLACKJACK ♠ FUN.
█████████
██████████████
████████████
█████████████████
████████████████▄▄
░█████████████▀░▀▀
██████████████████
░██████████████
████████████████
░██████████████
████████████
███████████████░██
██████████
CRYPTO CASINO &
SPORTS BETTING
▄▄███████▄▄
▄███████████████▄
███████████████████
█████████████████████
███████████████████████
█████████████████████████
█████████████████████████
█████████████████████████
███████████████████████
█████████████████████
███████████████████
▀███████████████▀
█████████
.
HCP
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2086
Merit: 4316

<insert witty quote here>


View Profile
July 03, 2021, 11:26:00 PM
 #29

I tried to run the test with "sudo./test_bitcoin"  it gives me "*** No errors detected.
I receive this error when i run without sudo.   "./test_bitcoin"
If it is working with sudo, but fails when run as the normal user account, then it's quite likely just a permissions error of some description causing problems with one of the test suites...

Although, that is not likely going to be a problem with the app itself... you should be fine.

█████████████████████████
████▐██▄█████████████████
████▐██████▄▄▄███████████
████▐████▄█████▄▄████████
████▐█████▀▀▀▀▀███▄██████
████▐███▀████████████████
████▐█████████▄█████▌████
████▐██▌█████▀██████▌████
████▐██████████▀████▌████
█████▀███▄█████▄███▀█████
███████▀█████████▀███████
██████████▀███▀██████████
█████████████████████████
.
BC.GAME
▄▄░░░▄▀▀▄████████
▄▄▄
██████████████
█████░░▄▄▄▄████████
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄██▄██████▄▄▄▄████
▄███▄█▄▄██████████▄████▄████
███████████████████████████▀███
▀████▄██▄██▄░░░░▄████████████
▀▀▀█████▄▄▄███████████▀██
███████████████████▀██
███████████████████▄██
▄███████████████████▄██
█████████████████████▀██
██████████████████████▄
.
..CASINO....SPORTS....RACING..
█░░░░░░█░░░░░░█
▀███▀░░▀███▀░░▀███▀
▀░▀░░░░▀░▀░░░░▀░▀
░░░░░░░░░░░░
▀██████████
░░░░░███░░░░
░░█░░░███▄█░░░
░░██▌░░███░▀░░██▌
░█░██░░███░░░█░██
░█▀▀▀█▌░███░░█▀▀▀█▌
▄█▄░░░██▄███▄█▄░░▄██▄
▄███▄
░░░░▀██▄▀


▄▄████▄▄
▄███▀▀███▄
██████████
▀███▄░▄██▀
▄▄████▄▄░▀█▀▄██▀▄▄████▄▄
▄███▀▀▀████▄▄██▀▄███▀▀███▄
███████▄▄▀▀████▄▄▀▀███████
▀███▄▄███▀░░░▀▀████▄▄▄███▀
▀▀████▀▀████████▀▀████▀▀
ABCbits
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2870
Merit: 7477


Crypto Swap Exchange


View Profile
July 04, 2021, 08:39:06 AM
Merited by curious droid (1)
 #30

Add the line (QT_AUTO_SCREEN_SCALE_FACTOR=0) to ~/.bashrc file

If you stick it in a file as is it's not going to work because the environment variable is not forwarded to programs, you have to write it as export QT_AUTO_SCREEN_SCALE_FACTOR=0 in the .bashrc file.

Thanks for the correction. Should've check my .bashrc file instead relying on memory.

I tried to run the test with "sudo./test_bitcoin"  it gives me "*** No errors detected.
I receive this error when i run without sudo.   "./test_bitcoin"

./test_bitcoin -p -r detailed > output.txt  this code gave me a huge list, i copied it to a text file bellow
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1CerApu_2QxmFzMLa1ImgF-S02OouKD2P/view?usp=sharing

Did you share wrong file? It's log of running the test as root, not as normal user.

P.S. I suggest to use pastebin if you want to share plain-text. It's lighter and easier to watch.

█▀▀▀











█▄▄▄
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
e
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
█████████████
████████████▄███
██▐███████▄█████▀
█████████▄████▀
███▐████▄███▀
████▐██████▀
█████▀█████
███████████▄
████████████▄
██▄█████▀█████▄
▄█████████▀█████▀
███████████▀██▀
████▀█████████
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
c.h.
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
▀▀▀█











▄▄▄█
▄██████▄▄▄
█████████████▄▄
███████████████
███████████████
███████████████
███████████████
███░░█████████
███▌▐█████████
█████████████
███████████▀
██████████▀
████████▀
▀██▀▀
curious droid (OP)
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 45
Merit: 17


View Profile
July 04, 2021, 11:50:28 AM
 #31


Did you share wrong file? It's log of running the test as root, not as normal user.



When running as a normal user with and without sudo i have this message: bash: output.txt: Permission denied
NotATether
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1596
Merit: 6728


bitcoincleanup.com / bitmixlist.org


View Profile WWW
July 04, 2021, 12:16:11 PM
 #32

When running as a normal user with and without sudo i have this message: bash: output.txt: Permission denied

Perhaps you previously ran that command with sudo, which made the output.txt file owned by root which is why you can't overwrite it as a normal user?

You should try doing sudo rm output.txt or chown YOUR_USERNAME:YOUR_USERNAME output.txt and then run the test script.

.
.BLACKJACK ♠ FUN.
█████████
██████████████
████████████
█████████████████
████████████████▄▄
░█████████████▀░▀▀
██████████████████
░██████████████
████████████████
░██████████████
████████████
███████████████░██
██████████
CRYPTO CASINO &
SPORTS BETTING
▄▄███████▄▄
▄███████████████▄
███████████████████
█████████████████████
███████████████████████
█████████████████████████
█████████████████████████
█████████████████████████
███████████████████████
█████████████████████
███████████████████
▀███████████████▀
█████████
.
curious droid (OP)
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 45
Merit: 17


View Profile
July 04, 2021, 01:56:17 PM
 #33

You should try doing sudo rm output.txt or chown YOUR_USERNAME:YOUR_USERNAME output.txt and then run the test script.

Doesnt work:( here are all command lines
Code:
mint@amint:/usr/local/bin$ ./test_bitcoin -p -r detailed > output.txt
bash: output.txt: Permission denied

mint@amint:/usr/local/bin$ sudo rm output.txt
[sudo] password for mint:       
mint@amint:/usr/local/bin$ ./test_bitcoin -p -r detailed > output.txt
bash: output.txt: Permission denied

mint@amint:/usr/local/bin$ chown mint:mint output.txt
chown: cannot access 'output.txt': No such file or directory

mint@amint:/usr/local/bin$ ./test_bitcoin -p -r detailed > output.txt
bash: output.txt: Permission denied

mint@amint:/usr/local/bin$ sudo ./test_bitcoin -p -r detailed > output.txt
bash: output.txt: Permission denied


Then i opened a bin folder as root, run ./test_bitcoin -p -r detailed > output.txt in order to create output.txt file. Then i exited from root, run a terminal as normal user and run
sudo chown mint:mint output.txt ( i added sudo because without it i get a message: changing ownership of 'output.txt': Operation not permitted)
after it i run ./test_bitcoin -p -r detailed > output.tx which gave me ouptut.txt file attached below

https://pastebin.com/apqzTm11

NotATether
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1596
Merit: 6728


bitcoincleanup.com / bitmixlist.org


View Profile WWW
July 04, 2021, 08:02:32 PM
 #34

Then i opened a bin folder as root, run ./test_bitcoin -p -r detailed > output.txt in order to create output.txt file. Then i exited from root, run a terminal as normal user and run
sudo chown mint:mint output.txt ( i added sudo because without it i get a message: changing ownership of 'output.txt': Operation not permitted)
after it i run ./test_bitcoin -p -r detailed > output.tx which gave me ouptut.txt file attached below

https://pastebin.com/apqzTm11

Yes, I forgot to type sudo in my above post.

Your pastebin shows a ton of errors about /tmp/test_common_Bitcoin/ files generating permission denied errors, can you try changing the ownership of that directory to your user too?

In general, this is why it's not a good idea to run any kind of tests with sudo or as root unless the root user is the only user, like on an SSH headless server.

.
.BLACKJACK ♠ FUN.
█████████
██████████████
████████████
█████████████████
████████████████▄▄
░█████████████▀░▀▀
██████████████████
░██████████████
████████████████
░██████████████
████████████
███████████████░██
██████████
CRYPTO CASINO &
SPORTS BETTING
▄▄███████▄▄
▄███████████████▄
███████████████████
█████████████████████
███████████████████████
█████████████████████████
█████████████████████████
█████████████████████████
███████████████████████
█████████████████████
███████████████████
▀███████████████▀
█████████
.
curious droid (OP)
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 45
Merit: 17


View Profile
July 04, 2021, 08:53:32 PM
 #35


Your pastebin shows a ton of errors about /tmp/test_common_Bitcoin/ files generating permission denied errors, can you try changing the ownership of that directory to your user too?
Please take a look is this what you are looking for?

This is a test result copied from terminal
https://pastebin.com/mueEPFdN

This is output.txt content (i deleted begging part of the text since it had a huge list of some sort of timestamp, juts lots of numbers [1;35;49m*...... etc.).
https://pastebin.com/raw/fUs0Kh2R
NotATether
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1596
Merit: 6728


bitcoincleanup.com / bitmixlist.org


View Profile WWW
July 05, 2021, 07:17:43 AM
Merited by curious droid (1)
 #36

~

Yep. Those funny numbers and characters in standard output are just escape characters for the terminal to change the text color or boldness. The other file shows the various unit tests of Core passing, so you're all set!

.
.BLACKJACK ♠ FUN.
█████████
██████████████
████████████
█████████████████
████████████████▄▄
░█████████████▀░▀▀
██████████████████
░██████████████
████████████████
░██████████████
████████████
███████████████░██
██████████
CRYPTO CASINO &
SPORTS BETTING
▄▄███████▄▄
▄███████████████▄
███████████████████
█████████████████████
███████████████████████
█████████████████████████
█████████████████████████
█████████████████████████
███████████████████████
█████████████████████
███████████████████
▀███████████████▀
█████████
.
ABCbits
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2870
Merit: 7477


Crypto Swap Exchange


View Profile
July 05, 2021, 08:16:17 AM
Merited by HCP (2)
 #37

You should try doing sudo rm output.txt or chown YOUR_USERNAME:YOUR_USERNAME output.txt and then run the test script.

Doesnt work:( here are all command lines
Code:
mint@amint:/usr/local/bin$ ./test_bitcoin -p -r detailed > output.txt
bash: output.txt: Permission denied

mint@amint:/usr/local/bin$ sudo rm output.txt
[sudo] password for mint:       
mint@amint:/usr/local/bin$ ./test_bitcoin -p -r detailed > output.txt
bash: output.txt: Permission denied

mint@amint:/usr/local/bin$ chown mint:mint output.txt
chown: cannot access 'output.txt': No such file or directory

mint@amint:/usr/local/bin$ ./test_bitcoin -p -r detailed > output.txt
bash: output.txt: Permission denied

mint@amint:/usr/local/bin$ sudo ./test_bitcoin -p -r detailed > output.txt
bash: output.txt: Permission denied


The problem is you're trying to create a file on /usr/local/bin, it's directory to store executable where only root/sudoers can modify it. Try to save the output on directory owned by you, an example,

Code:
mint@amint:/usr/local/bin$ ./test_bitcoin -p -r detailed > ~/output.txt

█▀▀▀











█▄▄▄
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
e
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
█████████████
████████████▄███
██▐███████▄█████▀
█████████▄████▀
███▐████▄███▀
████▐██████▀
█████▀█████
███████████▄
████████████▄
██▄█████▀█████▄
▄█████████▀█████▀
███████████▀██▀
████▀█████████
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
c.h.
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
▀▀▀█











▄▄▄█
▄██████▄▄▄
█████████████▄▄
███████████████
███████████████
███████████████
███████████████
███░░█████████
███▌▐█████████
█████████████
███████████▀
██████████▀
████████▀
▀██▀▀
curious droid (OP)
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 45
Merit: 17


View Profile
July 05, 2021, 04:18:42 PM
 #38

The other file shows the various unit tests of Core passing, so you're all set!

Thanks for your help @NotATether!!!

Try to save the output on directory owned by you, an example,

Code:
mint@amint:/usr/local/bin$ ./test_bitcoin -p -r detailed > ~/output.txt

Thanks @ETFbitcoin !
This code gave me the same output as in my previous post https://pastebin.com/raw/fUs0Kh2R
And it looks like all is ok, i assume that the error i get (Error: in "streams_tests/streams_buffered_file": memory access violation at address: 0x00000000: no mapping at fault address) is insignificant. Previous commentator said that i am all set.
Pages: « 1 [2]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!