Bitcoin Forum
September 25, 2016, 10:30:22 PM *
News: Due to DDoS attacks, there may be periodic downtime.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Feature Request: Splash Screen  (Read 1821 times)
knightmb
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308


Timekoin - Save Electricity, Don't Waste It!


View Profile WWW
July 22, 2010, 03:34:26 PM
 #1

Mainly for the average user. I've noticed sometimes Bit Coin can take a while to start before you even see the GUI, which I know it's just doing some disk I/O stuff, catching up with the network, etc.

I figured it would be helpful if the first thing that poped up was a BitCoin splash screen with "loading...." or something written on it so the average Bit Coin user won't start it twice or three times by accident.  Wink

1474842622
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1474842622

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1474842622
Reply with quote  #2

1474842622
Report to moderator
1474842622
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1474842622

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1474842622
Reply with quote  #2

1474842622
Report to moderator
1474842622
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1474842622

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1474842622
Reply with quote  #2

1474842622
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1474842622
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1474842622

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1474842622
Reply with quote  #2

1474842622
Report to moderator
1474842622
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1474842622

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1474842622
Reply with quote  #2

1474842622
Report to moderator
Quantumplation
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
July 22, 2010, 03:36:32 PM
 #2

:-S I always see the screen as SOON as I start it, and THEN it does all the disk i/o, connecting, etc stuff.

Against my better judgement... 1ADjszXMSRuAUjyy3ShFRy54SyRVrNDgDc
knightmb
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308


Timekoin - Save Electricity, Don't Waste It!


View Profile WWW
July 22, 2010, 04:07:58 PM
 #3

:-S I always see the screen as SOON as I start it, and THEN it does all the disk i/o, connecting, etc stuff.
I do as well, but some windows machines I've noticed that they sometimes seem to be doing the disk I/O first before the GUI comes up. Mainly if the program has been running for a while, you exit the client, then come back a few minutes/hours/etc later and start the client again, it does that.

Quantumplation
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
July 22, 2010, 04:08:44 PM
 #4

Hm, never noticed it here.  But yea, a splash screen wouldn't be too bad an idea for those people who are experiencing that issue.

Against my better judgement... 1ADjszXMSRuAUjyy3ShFRy54SyRVrNDgDc
lachesis
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
July 22, 2010, 05:53:36 PM
 #5

-1

Sorry, but splash screens are fairly annoying. My software starts fast and I don't want to see a flicker of a splash screen, or worse, wait for it to show itself and delay my programs' startup.

Bitcoin Calculator | Scallion | GPG Key | WoT Rating | 1QGacAtYA7E8V3BAiM7sgvLg7PZHk5WnYc
knightmb
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308


Timekoin - Save Electricity, Don't Waste It!


View Profile WWW
July 23, 2010, 12:43:08 AM
 #6

-1

Sorry, but splash screens are fairly annoying. My software starts fast and I don't want to see a flicker of a splash screen, or worse, wait for it to show itself and delay my programs' startup.
I'm not referring to an animated splash screen, it could be a simple "loading" box, just so I know not to click the icon again thinking that I missed, start up a second instance that will close because it detected another instance was still running.  Wink

dete
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22



View Profile
July 23, 2010, 04:34:38 AM
 #7

Seriously?  A splash screen?

The current BitCoin client is an awesome proof-of-concept, and a decent first pass to get the network "into beta".

However, I think that "fixing" the client with things like a splash screen is wasted effort.  Let's put our time and energy into a portable core BitCoin engine, and define a way of creating LOTS of different clients that interface into it.

But, you know... adding a splash screen is probably pretty easy... Tongue

Send me a tip!
1Benh27wZoszDjvGTSWTWD2CWPr4rWUoGk
knightmb
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308


Timekoin - Save Electricity, Don't Waste It!


View Profile WWW
July 23, 2010, 05:21:33 AM
 #8

The devs need not fret over this request, I'm sure someone could whip one up and submit it to them, but I figured I would throw it out there.

Deafboy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 484



View Profile WWW
November 25, 2011, 02:33:57 AM
 #9

So... Things has changed, and we have a splash screen in 0.5.X in unofficial PPA.
Not so well looking splash screen in my opinion.

I just leave this here:
http://deafboy.cicolina.org/igelitka/btc-logo/

Feel free to edit and use. (.xcf files inside 7z archive)
Therilith
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 62


100X100111XX10


View Profile
November 25, 2011, 06:49:04 AM
 #10

So... Things has changed, and we have a splash screen in 0.5.X in unofficial PPA.
Not so well looking splash screen in my opinion.

I just leave this here:
http://deafboy.cicolina.org/igelitka/btc-logo/

Feel free to edit and use. (.xcf files inside 7z archive)

I like splash2. Looks way better than the current one.

Money is power. If you would like to transfer some of your power to me (making yourself weaker and me stronger), use the following address: 1PoFSpghmpsebfwZwnu5PPmmv2u9uYgJKo
btc_artist
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


Bitcoin!


View Profile WWW
November 25, 2011, 05:57:01 PM
 #11

I actually don't like spash screens.  I don't like how they invariably obscure part of your desktop and cannot be moved/minimized.  This is a UI fail in my opinion.  Instead, the application should create and display the application window immediately (even if it's empty), and display a progress bar in it to show that things are being loaded/initialized.  The benefit of this is that the user can move/minimize the window if needed, and it's not unilaterally blocking part of the desktop or windows behind it.

TL;DR Splash screens are a UI fail because they unilaterally block what's behind them.

Edit: Note that this splash screen feature request is not really asking for a splash screen per se, it's asking for the client to show some kind of visual evidence that it has started, before all the loading/initializing is completed.  This can be accomplished by simply showing the app window instead of a splash screen.

BTC: 1CDCLDBHbAzHyYUkk1wYHPYmrtDZNhk8zf
LTC: LMS7SqZJnqzxo76iDSEua33WCyYZdjaQoE
jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


View Profile
November 26, 2011, 02:56:32 PM
 #12

On my Windows7 laptop, bitcoin begins with the disk IO housekeeping stuff and it's a few seconds before the window launches.
The last thing I want is for a splash screen to get in my way :<
If this feature gets implemented I kindly request it be user-configurable in the Options menu.
-1
P4man
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490



View Profile
November 26, 2011, 03:54:33 PM
 #13

+1 for a simple small splash screen. It often takes 5+ seconds on my machine before the UI shows up and Im never sure if its launching or not. Making it optional is fine by me, but set it on by default.

As for it getting in the way, it doesnt have to float on top of all other windows.

zellfaze
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 142


Security Enthusiast


View Profile WWW
November 27, 2011, 11:44:45 PM
 #14

I think I prefer the idea of opening up some sort of window instead of a splash screen.  The window could even look Splash screenish, but it needs to be able to be moved and minimized.

http://sharepointjavascript.files.wordpress.com/2009/10/sendmailwithjavascript_new_window_splash_error.jpg
A window of about this size would be fine. Just something to tell people what is going on.

A+, CCENT, CCNA
Security Enthusiast
PHP Coder

Not that I expect anyone to, but should you like my post, please donate:
Donate: 1BRbfqii6Sm9tEUE8A16H7QeDmYFjyBZ7V
MatthewLM
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile WWW
November 27, 2011, 11:53:26 PM
 #15

On Macs the bouncing icon is good enough to know the program is loading. No need for a splash screen at all. Luckily you can get off them by switching programs on Macs.

Bitcoin Extra Wallet | Peercoin Android Wallet
BTC: 1D5A1q5d192j5gYuWiP3CSE5fcaaZxe6E9  PPC: PH7fVn1Xs7nkUFmdwCX2ZRYfLPCSwGxAq9
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!