Bitcoin Forum
November 20, 2017, 07:22:05 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: First hand experience with Darkcoin mining and x11 algo  (Read 23990 times)
luke997
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


View Profile
March 27, 2014, 07:49:51 PM
 #21

I disagree with most of the temp findings.  I find it to be running cooler but the numbers people are throwing out there seem crazy.  My rig avg temp mining scrypt is 77C using engine:1000 mem:1375.  Mining Darkcoin im at 73C using engine:1050 mem:1400.  That is less then 2% cooler for my end result.  I think it's fair to compare the different OCs as I think many others will OC more on x11 because they can push further then scrypt,  I just don't get where people are coming up with this 30% cooler and such.  Many of the screen shots don't mention anything about uptime, did they even run long enough to get to full temp?  Overall I do find x11 favorable to scrypt and I havn't even been hit by any warm weather yet.

Something is off with your setup, perhaps there's no airflow and in scrypt the only thing keeping 77C is GPU throttling?

I have several rigs, fully open (no case), open case, and every single card is running more than 30C cooler.
I even don't need to open windows fully anymore  Grin
1511205725
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511205725

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511205725
Reply with quote  #2

1511205725
Report to moderator
Join ICO Now Coinlancer is Disrupting the Freelance marketplace!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
DemetriusAstroBlack
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 330


View Profile
March 27, 2014, 07:54:28 PM
 #22

Im running full open rig, risers and as much distance as they allow, about 3 inches between cards. No gpu throtteling, 700Khash per 7970 scrypt, 2.05Mhash running darkcoin.

Tip me BTC: 1MQ3JmX3xsnQqwEu7MB75GwxMtzKxJm4ha
luke997
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


View Profile
March 27, 2014, 08:03:38 PM
 #23

Im running full open rig, risers and as much distance as they allow, about 3 inches between cards. No gpu throtteling, 700Khash per 7970 scrypt, 2.05Mhash running darkcoin.

Something is wrong, haven't heard of anyone yet with so insignificant difference between X-11 and scrypt.
What version of sph-sgminer you have and what exact settings you run?
DemetriusAstroBlack
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 330


View Profile
March 27, 2014, 08:17:35 PM
 #24

sgminer 4.1.0-96-g983e

{
"pools" : [
   {
      "url" : "stratum+tcp://stratum1.suchpool.pw:3335",
      "user" : "EDITED",
      "pass" : "x"
   },
   {
      "url" : "stratum+tcp://stratum2.suchpool.pw:3335",
      "user" : "EDITED",
      "pass" : "x"
   }
]
,
"intensity" : "13,13,18",
"worksize" : "256,256,256",
"kernel" : "darkcoin,darkcoin,darkcoin",
"lookup-gap" : "2,2,2",
"thread-concurrency" : "8192,8192,15232",
"shaders" : "0,0,0",
"gpu-threads" : "2,2,1",
"gpu-engine" : "900-1050,900-1050,900-1100",
"gpu-fan" : "0-85,0-85,0-85",
"gpu-memclock" : "1400,1400,1500",
"temp-cutoff" : "95,95,95",
"temp-overheat" : "85,85,85",
"temp-target" : "75,75,75",
"api-mcast-port" : "4028",
"api-port" : "4028",
"expiry" : "1",
"failover-switch-delay" : "60",
"gpu-dyninterval" : "7",
"gpu-platform" : "0",
"log" : "5",
"no-pool-disable" : true,
"queue" : "1",
"scan-time" : "1",
"tcp-keepalive" : "30",
"temp-hysteresis" : "3",
"shares" : "0",
"auto-fan" : true,
"auto-gpu" : true,
"kernel-path" : "/usr/local/bin"
}

I have to leave for several hours but thanks for helping.  Could be the minor OC makes that big of a difference, dont get me wrong it is cooler, just not nearly as much as others are reporting.  When I return ill post some data with the same OC settings, maybe im comparing apples to oranges.

Tip me BTC: 1MQ3JmX3xsnQqwEu7MB75GwxMtzKxJm4ha
luke997
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238


View Profile
March 27, 2014, 08:31:03 PM
 #25

sgminer 4.1.0-96-g983e

{
"pools" : [
   {
      "url" : "stratum+tcp://stratum1.suchpool.pw:3335",
      "user" : "EDITED",
      "pass" : "x"
   },
   {
      "url" : "stratum+tcp://stratum2.suchpool.pw:3335",
      "user" : "EDITED",
      "pass" : "x"
   }
]
,
"intensity" : "13,13,18",
"worksize" : "256,256,256",
"kernel" : "darkcoin,darkcoin,darkcoin",
"lookup-gap" : "2,2,2",
"thread-concurrency" : "8192,8192,15232",
"shaders" : "0,0,0",
"gpu-threads" : "2,2,1",
"gpu-engine" : "900-1050,900-1050,900-1100",
"gpu-fan" : "0-85,0-85,0-85",
"gpu-memclock" : "1400,1400,1500",
"temp-cutoff" : "95,95,95",
"temp-overheat" : "85,85,85",
"temp-target" : "75,75,75",
"api-mcast-port" : "4028",
"api-port" : "4028",
"expiry" : "1",
"failover-switch-delay" : "60",
"gpu-dyninterval" : "7",
"gpu-platform" : "0",
"log" : "5",
"no-pool-disable" : true,
"queue" : "1",
"scan-time" : "1",
"tcp-keepalive" : "30",
"temp-hysteresis" : "3",
"shares" : "0",
"auto-fan" : true,
"auto-gpu" : true,
"kernel-path" : "/usr/local/bin"
}

I have to leave for several hours but thanks for helping.  Could be the minor OC makes that big of a difference, dont get me wrong it is cooler, just not nearly as much as others are reporting.  When I return ill post some data with the same OC settings, maybe im comparing apples to oranges.

I have a theory that temp-target is causing this, how about if you try to run only with the minimal settings and let the GPU manage itself?

Try set only:
intensity, worksize, threads, gpu-engine, gpu-memclock and pool config?
foodies123
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322


View Profile
March 27, 2014, 09:01:25 PM
 #26

sorry to say this guys but x11 is just groestl + quark it does 3 times better on gpu than on cpu (as groestl standolone does too) but considering cost and power it's pretty good ... just not the breakthrough it is hyped to be.

nope
stealth923
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022


View Profile
March 27, 2014, 09:17:06 PM
 #27

But these coins are not profitable. That's the main issue why I went back to mining regular scrypt.

It is very profitable. Especially where electricity is expensive such as Australia where it's 0.26 per kilowatt hour.
Hazard
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 994


Internet Celebrity


View Profile WWW
March 27, 2014, 09:41:50 PM
 #28

All this means is that the X11 miner is poorly coded and not taking full advantage of the GPU.

The public miner, anyway. No doubt there's a private miner out there that's 100-200% more efficient.

anyone is more than welcome to improve on the gpu miner
They have. And they're keeping it to themselves.

Amph
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1694



View Profile
March 27, 2014, 09:59:24 PM
 #29

But these coins are not profitable. That's the main issue why I went back to mining regular scrypt.

no coin is profitable at the moment, unless you are instamining new coin and  in that case the algo used mean nothing...
nagatlakshmi
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616



View Profile WWW
March 28, 2014, 04:54:51 AM
 #30

But these coins are not profitable. That's the main issue why I went back to mining regular scrypt.

no coin is profitable at the moment, unless you are instamining new coin and  in that case the algo used mean nothing...

I agree with you  Wink

bumblebee33
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
March 28, 2014, 05:17:34 AM
 #31

What are you using for mining? I used sph-sgminer https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=475795.0. Is this the one most of you use? Are there better ones out there?
DemetriusAstroBlack
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 330


View Profile
March 28, 2014, 06:15:14 AM
 #32

Chopped alot of crap out of my config and made huge difference.  I had sgminer write the config for me and made just a few adjustments to it, weird.  I dont have the time to mess around with which line did it exactly but I hacked my config down to this:

{
"pools" : [
   {
      "url" : "stratum+tcp://stratum1.suchpool.pw:3335",
      "user" : "EDITED",
      "pass" : "x"
   },
   {
      "url" : "stratum+tcp://stratum2.suchpool.pw:3335",
      "user" : "EDITED",
      "pass" : "x"
   }
]
,
"intensity" : "13,13,18",
"worksize" : "256,256,256",
"gpu-threads" : "2,2,1",
"thread-concurrency" : "8192,8192,15232",
"kernel" : "darkcoin,darkcoin,darkcoin",
"gpu-engine" : "500-1050,500-1050,500-1100",
"gpu-fan" : "0-85,0-85,0-85",
"gpu-memclock" : "1400,1400,1500",
"auto-gpu" : true,
"kernel-path" : "/usr/local/bin"
}

About the same hash, one 7970 at 50C the other at 52C. Scrypt was at 77C. Huge difference. About 8% cooler then mining scrypt.  Good suggestion Luke997. 


Playing with setting more I notice the following:
Auto-fan on and having the gpu-fan from 0-85 together causes the problem.  Without actually looking at my fans, I think its trying to turn my fans off.   I notice that randomly for a split second it reports fan speed of 9999RPM but then goes back to showing super low RPMs, in the 1000s.  Setting auto fan on and changing gpu-fan to "40-100" causes temps in the mid 60s and no more 9999RPM showing up.  Seems drivers or whatever controls fans normally works better then having sgminer control it.  No auto-fan puts fan at 3500RPM, which is a little loud, ill tune a quite fan speed to temp ratio I like later.  Changing the target temp might fix the problem as well so I think Luke997 was right on.

Tip me BTC: 1MQ3JmX3xsnQqwEu7MB75GwxMtzKxJm4ha
digitalindustry
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798


wubba lubba dub dub


View Profile WWW
March 28, 2014, 06:29:06 AM
 #33

All this means is that the X11 miner is poorly coded and not taking full advantage of the GPU.

The public miner, anyway. No doubt there's a private miner out there that's 100-200% more efficient.

anyone is more than welcome to improve on the gpu miner
They have. And they're keeping it to themselves.

no doubt - but i still think 100 or 200% is acceptable for cPoW which is what X11 come under SIF being the original which Quark followed on from. 

tiny rick !
- https://voat.co/v/Contact/
- Twitter @Kolin_Quark
reda
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 396


https://i.imgur.com/QaEKRMt.png


View Profile
March 28, 2014, 10:12:33 AM
 #34

All this means is that the X11 miner is poorly coded and not taking full advantage of the GPU.

The public miner, anyway. No doubt there's a private miner out there that's 100-200% more efficient.

hehe  you are right Wink around 3 times more efficient i can see 6.23mh per 280X
checkout the deep web

ZIGGER      ███
  ███ ███
█ ███ ███
█ ███ ███
     ███
███ ███
███ ███
  ███ ███
███ ███
███ ███
███     █
███ ███
███
A Decentralized Crypto Marketplace
____ for Localized Shopping ____
[|FACEBOOK
TWITTER
SLACK
|ICO  ▶  13th November 2017
GET YOUR 40% BONUS
IN FIRST 24 HOURS!
]      ███
  ███ ███
█ ███ ███
█ ███ ███
     ███
███ ███
███ ███
  ███ ███
███ ███
███ ███
███     █
███ ███
███
BitcoinTate
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224


DigiByte Founder


View Profile
March 28, 2014, 10:29:08 AM
 #35

All this means is that the X11 miner is poorly coded and not taking full advantage of the GPU.

The public miner, anyway. No doubt there's a private miner out there that's 100-200% more efficient.

anyone is more than welcome to improve on the gpu miner
They have. And they're keeping it to themselves.
I agree with Hazard. Someone out there is laughing at this thread right now. The GPU is simply not being fully utilized.

- aka The "DigiMan"
Watchy312
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 103


View Profile
March 28, 2014, 11:28:39 AM
 #36

Anyway i don't even understand why people mine this stuff as it's not profitable at all...it would cost me money to mine it & sell it

Haha you are so funny  Grin If this cost money for you then you are in the wrong way !!! If you often selling what you mine you are totally wrong... This game is not for such people and if continue to do that you will be dropped from the train by yourself !!!
Actually you are the funny one lol

There is no point to mine for a higher cost than the market price, you rather directly buy the coin.
If you cannot tell this is nonsense you should not be into cryptos, you may loose big.

It may be the case because of what Hazard said, some people with a better gpu miner can dump coins they mine way cheaper than you.
popshot
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 760


CEO Diamond Foundation


View Profile WWW
March 29, 2014, 02:33:14 AM
 #37

Is it current gen. ASIC resistant?

Coinmin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 468


View Profile
March 29, 2014, 08:12:20 AM
 #38

But these coins are not profitable. That's the main issue why I went back to mining regular scrypt.

I don't know how you came up to that conclusion. Right, now you're getting 0.0077bmg for Hirocoin, which is higher than middlecoin (0.006) and you're paying 2x less electricity. You were right to some extent, X11 is not more profitable than scrypt, it's MUCH more profitable Smiley

Yes, x11 is a very attractive algorithm... Smiley
smilecoin23
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
March 29, 2014, 08:17:04 AM
 #39

Great, thanks for the recommendation.

Sharecoin: STZRSHH9Tc93yhc5UoDjBwbyYvZLFvm21b
andruccho
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
March 29, 2014, 08:48:44 AM
 #40

hehe  you are right Wink around 3 times more efficient i can see 6.23mh per 280X
checkout the deep web

Could you share it? i tried to find anything like that, but i probably used not as deep web as you did
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!