Bitcoin Forum
May 09, 2024, 04:08:01 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: [Solved] Failed to run Electrum-4.2.2 on Linux Lite 6.0  (Read 182 times)
jack0m (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3626
Merit: 1988


View Profile
June 07, 2022, 04:53:53 PM
Last edit: June 08, 2022, 08:09:04 AM by jack0m
Merited by hugeblack (6), o_e_l_e_o (4)
 #1

Hi, I installed Electrum-4.2.2 on Linux Lite 6.0, but when I try to launch the app, it won't start and the console shows the following errors:

Code:
[...]
  File "/home/jack/.local/lib/python3.10/site-packages/electrum/paymentrequest_pb2.py", line 36, in <module>
    _descriptor.FieldDescriptor(
  File "/home/jack/.local/lib/python3.10/site-packages/google/protobuf/descriptor.py", line 560, in __new__
    _message.Message._CheckCalledFromGeneratedFile()
TypeError: Descriptors cannot not be created directly.
If this call came from a _pb2.py file, your generated code is out of date and must be regenerated with protoc >= 3.19.0.
If you cannot immediately regenerate your protos, some other possible workarounds are:
 1. Downgrade the protobuf package to 3.20.x or lower.
 2. Set PROTOCOL_BUFFERS_PYTHON_IMPLEMENTATION=python (but this will use pure-Python parsing and will be much slower).

Am I missing any library?

Money is a hoax. Debt is slavery. Consumerism is toxic.
1715270881
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715270881

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715270881
Reply with quote  #2

1715270881
Report to moderator
1715270881
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715270881

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715270881
Reply with quote  #2

1715270881
Report to moderator
1715270881
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715270881

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715270881
Reply with quote  #2

1715270881
Report to moderator
It is a common myth that Bitcoin is ruled by a majority of miners. This is not true. Bitcoin miners "vote" on the ordering of transactions, but that's all they do. They can't vote to change the network rules.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1715270881
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715270881

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715270881
Reply with quote  #2

1715270881
Report to moderator
vv181
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932
Merit: 1273


View Profile
June 07, 2022, 06:01:19 PM
Merited by hugeblack (4), o_e_l_e_o (4), jack0m (3), NeuroticFish (2), witcher_sense (2), Husna QA (2), NotATether (2), ABCbits (1), Pmalek (1), nc50lc (1), DdmrDdmr (1), DireWolfM14 (1)
 #2

It's likely because of #52b7388.

Try to solve it as the workaround suggest. You can downgrade the library using:

Code:
pip install protobuf==3.20.1
jack0m (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3626
Merit: 1988


View Profile
June 08, 2022, 07:46:38 AM
 #3

It's likely because of #52b7388.

Try to solve it as the workaround suggest. You can downgrade the library using:

Code:
pip install protobuf==3.20.1

Ok, that worked out. Many thanks!

Money is a hoax. Debt is slavery. Consumerism is toxic.
NotATether
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1596
Merit: 6732


bitcoincleanup.com / bitmixlist.org


View Profile WWW
June 09, 2022, 04:29:05 PM
Merited by hugeblack (4)
 #4

It's likely because of #52b7388.

Try to solve it as the workaround suggest. You can downgrade the library using:

Code:
pip install protobuf==3.20.1

Since this is a runtime error, you should probably create a virtualenv before/after doing this so that subsequent installs of completely unrelated packages don't alter the protobuf version that you installed manually. It can happen e.g. if you install a lot of python-based programs e.g. youtube-dl or you have a Python environment such as Anaconda.

Something like this, since you're installing & running Electrum from the command-line:
Code:
python3 -m venv electrum
source electrum/bin/activate
<install electrum & protobuf, and run electrum here>
deactivate # To get out of the virtualenv - just `deactivate` works.

.
.BLACKJACK ♠ FUN.
█████████
██████████████
████████████
█████████████████
████████████████▄▄
░█████████████▀░▀▀
██████████████████
░██████████████
████████████████
░██████████████
████████████
███████████████░██
██████████
CRYPTO CASINO &
SPORTS BETTING
▄▄███████▄▄
▄███████████████▄
███████████████████
█████████████████████
███████████████████████
█████████████████████████
█████████████████████████
█████████████████████████
███████████████████████
█████████████████████
███████████████████
▀███████████████▀
█████████
.
jack0m (OP)
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3626
Merit: 1988


View Profile
June 11, 2022, 03:55:20 PM
 #5

It's likely because of #52b7388.

Try to solve it as the workaround suggest. You can downgrade the library using:

Code:
pip install protobuf==3.20.1

Since this is a runtime error, you should probably create a virtualenv before/after doing this so that subsequent installs of completely unrelated packages don't alter the protobuf version that you installed manually. It can happen e.g. if you install a lot of python-based programs e.g. youtube-dl or you have a Python environment such as Anaconda.

Something like this, since you're installing & running Electrum from the command-line:
Code:
python3 -m venv electrum
source electrum/bin/activate
<install electrum & protobuf, and run electrum here>
deactivate # To get out of the virtualenv - just `deactivate` works.


Ok thanks, I'll give it a try.

Money is a hoax. Debt is slavery. Consumerism is toxic.
Pages: [1]
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!